Taking a Break

Things have been so busy for so long that this weekend was marked on the calendar to be a FUN weekend. But why tell you about it when I can show it to you instead?! πŸ˜€

Friday night we went out with a group of friends to this Vietnamese restaurant called The Green Bamboo. This was Christopher’s curry.

My soft noodles. Oh my gracious, this may not look like much, but it was AH-MAZING! So incredibly delicious. I am definitely recreating this one at home!

Green Bamboo on Urbanspoon
Green Bamboo on Foodio54

Also, side note: you know you have good friends when they don’t even flinch when you pull your camera out in restaurants and start taking photos of the food. πŸ˜€

After dinner we went to Melissa’s place and died Megan’s hair while the boys played Wii. Megan is now a brunette! (in our luau pictures she was the blonde!)

Saturday morning Christopher put the gates up on the fence so Oreo could finally go into our backyard without a leash for the first time since April! πŸ˜€ Aren’t they cute playing tug-of-war? πŸ™‚

And yes, this means the fence isΒ practicallyΒ done! We have a few finishing touches to do and then I’ll show you guys just how big and amazing our backyard is now! πŸ˜€

Oreo loved exploring his new much bigger backyard, but his favorite spot was where all the monkey grass grows. He loves that stuff. Sometimes we joke that he’s like a cow ’cause he’s black and white and loves to graze on the monkey grass. πŸ˜‰

Then it was time for the much needed POOL TIME! We splashed in the water, raced each other to the other end and even dunked each other. Then we just laid down and soaked up the sun. All the good stuff. It was beyond wonderful.

And of course, what “fun day” is complete without a trip to Sonic? Mmm… so fun!

This weekend was a much needed rest for us. After church on Sunday, we just hung out at the house. I baked some and read a book in the backyard while Christopher napped. Then it was small group time which was also great. I know I’ve said this before, but I just really love my girls. πŸ™‚ And then the two of us caught up on Perfect Couples on Hulu just before bedtime. Such a fun and restful weekend and so nice. πŸ™‚

37 responses to “Taking a Break

  1. haha love this and your pics as always πŸ™‚ and a trip to sonic to end the day..you bet!

  2. I had some pool time too and it was fabulous. Amazing what a little vitamin D and relaxation can do for you.

  3. I love that show Perfect Couples! I thought it went off the air ?!- oh I would be so happy if not though!! Looks like you had a wonderful and relaxing weekend, that back yard is magnificent – Lucy Dog would have a ball running aroudn there πŸ™‚

  4. I love your pictures! You guys have the best life EVER! πŸ™‚

  5. What a great weekend! Sometimes the weekends with NO plans end up being the best! πŸ™‚

  6. Sounds like such a good weekend! We had 2 birthday parties and a bridal shower this weekend so there wasn’t much time to lounge around at home, but it was great spending time with friends & family! πŸ™‚

  7. Your weekend sounds so fun! I love spending time outside with my dog. He is so strong and drags me across the yard when we play tug of war. I also love going to sonic with my friends! Late night trips there are the definition of summer!

  8. Cute pics! Lots of summer fun!

  9. Sounds like a very nice and relaxing weekend! Glad y’all had such a fun time!

  10. Looks like such a fun weekend! A perfect summery ,relaxing, break πŸ™‚

  11. So glad you had such a refreshing, relaxing weekend!

  12. Have you tried Indian food Rach? If not, i suggest you give it a try.. πŸ™‚

  13. Yay for relaxing weekends like that, you surely deserve it πŸ™‚
    And you look so pretty in your pictures, love the side braid!

  14. My Nala loves monkey grass too! I wonder what makes it taste so good?

  15. What a fun time and I’m so jealous of your trip to Sonics!! The closest one to me is like an hour and half away 😦

  16. I’m so happy you were able to enjoy your weekend! I feel your love for Sonic.. YUM!

    P.S. the fence looks GREAT πŸ™‚

  17. Sounds like such a relaxing weekend! I miss those with Shane, and I can’t wait to move to North Carolina so I can have them again!! πŸ™‚ I love your braided hair. You’re so gorgeous!!

  18. You look gorgeous!! Love the hair πŸ™‚

  19. Cute braid in your hair!! Looks like ya’ll had a fun weekend : ) xo

  20. I’ve never had Vietnamese food! It looks really good though πŸ™‚ Hope you enjoyed the weekend!

  21. Sounds like a *perfect* weekend! I love Vietnamese food! Especially the noodle soups and refreshing salads (peanut dressing, mmm). Both of your dishes look incredible! Oh, and Sonic was my high school stomping ground, so it’s very near and dear to my heart. πŸ™‚

  22. This post made me feel happy and restful just reading it!!! πŸ™‚

  23. oh you are making me crave sonic it is only 6:21am..I need a burger!

  24. Number 1 that braid in your hair looks awesome! number 2 I’ve never had sonic because we dont have one here near me but I wanna try it so badly! Number three, I miss you very much hope all is well with you two… Pete and I are getting along better again, things were bumpy for a while but I think they are starting to really turn around all due to positive changes i’ve made in my own life. The perspective I’ve taken toward our relationship has evolved into something better than before and I’m simply thankful each day for being able to show love to someone I care for every morning. Even if things are not going to go out as planned for him and I I will always bring my heart to show love toward him because love is the only thing out there that can make us feel whole

  25. I have never had Vietnamese food before…I need to try some! Yours looks great πŸ™‚

  26. Looks like a beyond perfect weekend! So summery and happy. πŸ™‚ Nothing’s better than relaxing at the pool.

  27. Lucky! I would have killed to sit by a pool! I was sick with a cold all weekend….yes in the middle of summer, go figure! haha Glad you had a great weekend!

  28. Ahhh…that truly does sound like the best summer weekend!!

  29. Love this! My family all knows now not to touch their food until it’s been photographed πŸ™‚ Looks yum!!

  30. I really do think that the weekends in which you do nothing at all are really the best weekends πŸ™‚

  31. I hope you got a slush at Sonic. πŸ™‚

  32. Oooh – how is Perfect Couples? I’ve always wondered if I should start watching it.

    That looks like a perfect day (especially the laying by the pool and the Sonic trip! haha)

    • Perfect Couples is beyond hilarious! Seriously! We crack up watching it every single time! That along with Better With You and Modern Family are probably our three favorite shows. The Office used to be up there too, but it hasn’t struck us quite as funny lately as it used to.

      • I’m definitely going to have to add it to my list then. I LOVE Modern Family. My boyfriend and I die laughing over it. Agreed on the Office, it kind of went downhill – still has it’s funny moments though. Do you watch 30 Rock? That’s another one of my favorites…love that Liz Lemon.

      • I haven’t seen 30 Rock, but I’ve heard it’s pretty funny too. Totally need to check it out. Love that you guys love Modern Family! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

