Recipe Friday!

Today is Recipe Friday and I am so excited about it! First up, I have a recipe to share with you guys that Christopher claims is his new favorite dessert! But I mean, who can blame him? It has bananas + PB + chocolate + brown sugar + butter… c’mon, you know your mouth is watering. 😉 Seriously, it’s crazy delicious! Check ’em out:


Banana Peanut Butter Chocolate Squares

Ingredients:

3/4 cup butter
2/3 cup Splenda
2/3 cup Splenda Brown Sugar
1 egg, beaten
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup mashed banana
1 3/4 cup all purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup sugar free chocolate chips
1/2 cup peanut butter chips

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray 10 x 15″ pan with nonstick cooking spray.

2. In a large bowl cream butter, Splenda, and Splenda Brown Sugar until fluffy. Beat in egg and vanilla. Fold in mashed banana. In a separate bowl mix flour, baking powder and salt. Fold flour mixture into butter mixture. Stir in chocolate chips and peanut butter chips. Spread in prepared pan.
3. Bake 20 minutes, until set. Cool before cutting into squares.
Recipe adapted  from AllRecipes.com

And just so you can see how amazing it looks after it’s cut into squares:

You know you want to try this. 😉

I eat strawberries, blueberries and bananas like it’s my job during the summer time. Mostly in cereal, frequently straight up and occasionally in smoothies. This week I went to make “banana soft serve” when I had a moment of inspiration… why not add strawberries and blueberries too?? So I did. Ah-mazing!

Banana Berry Smoothie 

Ingredients:

1 frozen banana
3 strawberries, sliced with tops removed
palm full blueberries

Directions:

Pulse banana in blender until creamy in texture. Add  strawberries and blueberries and blend until combined. Pour into a pretty glass and enjoy!

Last week we were at Kroger browsing the meat on sale when we came across ground chicken for $1.69/lb. Winner winner chicken dinner! (hahaha! Oh the irony. I crack myself up sometimes, hehe). Anyway, we bought some ground chicken having no idea what we’d do with it until I was flipping through a friend’s Weight Watcher’s magazine and came across a recipe for Buffalo Chicken Sliders. Um, yes please!

Buffalo Chicken Sliders 

This is an old recipe, but we had it again this week and oh my goodness, I just flip for Cincinnati Chili!

Cincinnati Chili

Note: I recognize that this is not the traditional way to make Cincinnati Chili, but I’m not a huge fan of the traditional version so I adapted it for us. It’s still too similar to Cincinnati Chili to call it anything else, though, so I’m leaving the name. For a more traditional recipe, check out What’s Cooking America.

Ingredients:

1 lb extra lean ground turkey
1 large onion, diced
1 clove garlic, minced
1 tbsp chili powder
1 (15oz) can red kidney beans, drained and rinsed
1 tsp allspice
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp ground red pepper
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/2 tbsp unsweetend cocoa
2 (7 oz) cans tomato sauce
1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
1 tbsp cider vinegar
1/2 cup water
1 lb whole wheat spaghetti noodles, cooked al dente

Toppings: Oyster crackers, shredded cheddar cheese, chopped onion and more kidney beans if desired.

Directions:

1. In a large pot over medium high heat, saute onion, ground turkey, garlic and chili powder until turkey is browned.

2. Add allspice, cinnamon, cumin, red pepper, salt, cocoa, tomato sauce, Worcestershire sauce, cider vinegar and water. Reduce heat to low and simmer uncovered for an hour and a half. Remove from heat.

3. Serve chili over cooked spaghetti and top with toppings of your choice.

Traditional Cincinnati Chili is served in the following ways: 

Two-Way Chili: Chili served on Spaghetti
Three-Way Chili: Additionally topped with shredded cheddar cheese
Four-Way Chili: Additionally topped with chopped onions
Five-Way Chili: Additionally topped with kidney beans

Since we add kidney beans to the chili itself, we only make it to three-way chili in this house (no thank you raw onions). But hey, it’s our kitchen, we call the shots! ;)

Have a GREAT 4th of July weekend! Any big plans??

26 responses to “Recipe Friday!

  1. Those buffalo chicken sliders look amazing!!! I have fallen in love with that flavor combo lately. It’s just so good!!

  2. Banana peanut butter chocolate squares sound delicious. That flavor never fails. I know my family would absolutely adore those!

  3. OH MY GOSH. I need to try making that nana pb chocolate dessert!

  4. Oh my goodness, your food looks SO good (especially the chili) and I’m now SO hungry! Ha, ha.

  5. Those sliders sound yum!! I lol’d at the Winner Winner comment!!

  6. Mmmmmm, I DO want to try that 😀

  7. The first recipe looks amaaaazing! The one time I’m out of bananas… I need to get some more so I can make this!

  8. Gosh! all your cooking are mouthwatering and make my stomach rumble. LOL.

  9. Wow! Some yummy looking food there….bananas, chocolate, peanut butter–no way that can go wrong!

  10. Wow, that dessert recipe left my mouth watering!! Looks like you have been cooking some amazing food, as usual!! Have a good 4th!

  11. I have GOT to try those bars!! They sound so amazing!

  12. Cincinnati chili is one of my favorites. 🙂 But I do live in Cincinnati.
    I can’t wait to try the banana peanut butter squares!

  13. moveovercelery

    Everything looks incredible! I want those bars ASAP!

  14. any chilli with a regional name must be good!

  15. WOAH those banana peanut butter chocolate squares look AMAZING!! Best flavour combo in the WORLD!! And that berry smoothie looks so yummy and refreshing too mmmm 🙂

  16. Mmmm, I have always wanted to try cinncinati chili!

  17. YUMMMMMM!! I will definitely be making those banana peanut butter bars!! They look delicious!!!!!

  18. I love bananas!!! This must be delicious!! How are you?!?!? I’ve been away for a VERY long time. haha… I definitely miss your posts!

  19. Oh gooooodnessssss!! I LOVE the looks of the bell pepper in that chicken patty! I am all for shoving as many vegetables as humanly possible into a burger, especially the actual patty. My future children might hate me for it, but there’s no stopping opportunities like that 🙂

    And CHILI atop SPAGHETTI? I think I am in love. I never, ever imagined that, but it makes so much sense! Thank you, girl!

    Have a beautiful, blessed weekend with your hubby and familia, girl! take care!

  20. That recipe sounds delicious!! I am going to have to make this one…have a great weekend 🙂

  21. Banana peanut butter chocolate squares combine three of my very favorite ingredients into one delicious treat! Ahh, I’m drooling!

    Hope you’re having a lovely weekend, Rach! Happy 4th of July!

    (p.s. I just moved my blog to WordPress, so my posts are no longer showing up in google reader…just wanted to let you know!)

  22. Girl, you have the best recipes!! That dessert seriously looks like one of the most delicious things I’ve ever seen! Have a happy 4th!!

  23. You are so creative, Rach!! I’m inspired. 😀 Those banana bars look Heavenly. 😉

    -Tia

  24. Oooh those squares look delicious! Chili on spaghetti?? I’ve never heard of that but it looks so good! Big time craving now lol 😀

  25. OH MAN, those dessert squares look SO good….drooool.

  26. Pingback: Bambi Chili |

Leave a Reply

