Dairy Free, Sugar Free (and yet still delicious) Chunky Monkey “Ice Cream!”

Ice cream without dairy or sugar – impossible! Well, unless of course you count banana soft serve which is pretty delicious, but distinctly banana-y. Well thanks to Jenni @ The Urban Poser, my dreams are coming true! I found her recipe on Tasty Kitchen while browsing recipes without dairy. When I realized I could make it without adding sugar as well, I nearly flipped in excitement! We don’t have an ice cream maker so I made this in the freezer, but you better believe we are looking into buying an ice cream maker now so we can have this deliciousness more often! Thanks, Jenni! :)


Chunky Monkey “Ice Cream” 

Ingredients:

For The Ice Cream Base:
2 cans full fat coconut milk
4 bananas
3 tbsp sugar free honey
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp lime juice

Mix- in’s
1 cubed banana
1/2 to 1 cup sugar free chocolate chips
2 tbsp peanut butter

Directions:

1. Blend the first 5 ingredients in a blender till smooth.

2. Pour the mixture into your ice cream maker* (I recommend the old school rock salt and ice kind)

3. Add the mixings

4. Follow the instructions on your ice cream maker. (It will take about 30 min. to get thick, then change the salt /ice ratio as per ice cream makers instruction, cover with a towel and leave it sit(not turning) for another 30 minuets to an hour.

Makes about 2 quarts.  Recipe doubles well.

This recipe is just slightly adapted from Jenni @ The Urban Poser.

—-

Ever since I made Jessica’s Bacon and Shrimp Risotto, I have been wanting to try my hand at another risotto recipe. I found  Erica’s recipe at Tasty Kitchen (and here on her blog) and I loved that it was so simple! I had nearly all the ingredients on hand already which always makes for a promising start. :) It turned out to be delicious! However, I made the mistake of just serving this risotto with corn on the side and a few hours later we were hungry again. So note to self: serve with protein! ;) Other than that, though, delicious! And worth making!

Risotto with Peas 

Ingredients:

4 cups chicken broth
1 tbsp butter
1/2 Vidalia onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 1/2 cup Arborio rice
3/4 pound frozen peas

Directions:

1. Melt the butter and add onions over medium-low heat. Cook the onions for about 4 minutes, then add the garlic and continue to cook for one more minute. Next, add the uncooked rice and toss to coat in the butter.

2. Now add 1/2 cup of broth, stirring constantly until it is absorbed. Then add the frozen peas. Continue to add 1/2 cup broth at a time, waiting for it to be absorbed before each additional 1/2 cup of broth. Continue to stir constantly.

3. If the rice is not tender after you’ve used all of the broth, begin adding water and continue until the rice is tender.

This week has flown by since I had Monday off – definitely wonderful to get through the work week so quickly. I am super excited about this weekend! I’d tell you all about it, but then what would I have to recap on Monday? 😛 Tonight I’m excited about pizza and movie date night in! One of my favorite traditions we have. 🙂

32 responses to “Dairy Free, Sugar Free (and yet still delicious) Chunky Monkey “Ice Cream!”

  1. Yay for pizza and movie date night! That’s usually our Friday night special as well 🙂 We’re traveling tomorrow so we didn’t do it tonight so I’ll have to live vicariously through you 🙂

  2. So wish I had an ice cream maker! This looks delish 😀

  3. CHUNKY MONKEY mmmmmm… extra chunky, hold the monkey hehe ❤

  4. YES! I have been loving the coconut milk ice cream! I just made some last weekend — it’s amazing. I’ve also been loving peas lately… I will go so far as to eat them straight from the freezer!

    Have a wonderful weekend!

  5. Ayyy that ice cream looks DELICIOUS! And risotto with peas?! My mother would DIE! She loooooves Italian cuisine! As do I 😉
    PS- I love that lovely tradition you guys have! It must be so romantic 😀

  6. Oh goodness me! I am head over heels in love with Chunky Monkey! Peanut butter, banana and coconut milk?! Yes please! Question though: where do you buy sugar free honey? I’ve never heard of it!

    Risotto is one of my favorite comfort foods. Mmm. Hope your pizza and movie date night was fun!

    (p.s. I recently moved to WordPress, so my new posts probably aren’t showing up in your google reader! Just wanted to let you know!)

    • Walmart and Kroger both carry it, but you can use regular honey as well! It would be better for you even though it does have sugar in it. I just have to use the SF stuff because of my heart. 🙂

      And you’re right – your new posts weren’t showing up in Google Reader! Glad you let me know. I just subscribed to your new blog! 🙂

  7. Mmmmm! I NEED to look at that ice cream recipe RIGHT NOW! 🙂

  8. We do movie date night too! I look forward to it all week long. 🙂 Both of these recipes look wonderful. I’ll take a bowl of that ice cream any day of the week.

  9. LOVE that ice cream…dairy free weeee

  10. Oh I love this ice cream. I found the recipe a few months ago and we have made it several times but the recipe I found didn’t call for chocolate chips so now I am excited to make it using them!!

  11. That ice cream looks so delicious!

  12. have an amazing weekend my love! thank you for always being SO ENCOURAGING to me!!!

  13. i love ice cream and i love peas…this is the best post ever!

  14. I’ve never made such an exotic version of bananarama (my name for banana soft serve) before. This looks really good, and nice and rich with the coconut milk. Sounds like a good treat for a hot hot hot day like today.
    Cheers!
    Meri

  15. I love that ice cream!! I will have to try it soon!
    Have an awesome weekend! 🙂

  16. whoooaaaaa that ice cream looks delicious Rach!! Ahhhhh looks like the real deal. 😀 Have a blessed Sunday and take care!

  17. I have a Cuisinart ice cream maker and love it! Banana soft serve is amazing and even better that it is healthy 🙂

  18. How did you know I’ve been craving risotto?! 🙂 I use to make banana soft serve and stir through shopped peanut butter cups, which was delicious, but haven’t in month’s because bananas keep increasing in price… they now cost at least $3.50 EACH!

  19. Oh my that chunky monkey ice cream sounds incredible! I’ll have to try this. Have fun with your movie + pizza night.

  20. Since I have my issues with dairy and sugar, the ice cream recipe totally appeals to me! Thank you for providing it! 😀

    I know the problem of getting hungry again after a meal without much protein. It takes less than a few hours with me though. 😉

  21. pawsitivelife

    i have some ben and jers chunky monkey in the freezer..almost all gone…time to MAKE some

  22. I think E and I need to adapt the pizza and movie night in tradition. What could be better?!?

  23. I think the risotto looks delish! AND I am all about pizza and movie nights!! 🙂

  24. I need an ice cream machine!! That risotto looks quite tasty too 😀

  25. it looks fabulous! i love making a new twist on comfort food.

  26. DELICIOUS!! Chunky monkey sounds amazing.

  27. The chunky monkey ice cream sounds amazing!
    Enjoy your date night. What a cute idea!

  28. Wow, that ‘ice cream’ looks amazing. I really wish we had an ice cream maker. My friend put one on her wedding registry, and now I’m totally wishing we did, too. Drat!:)

  29. Pingback: I Got a New Toy! |

  30. Pingback: Finally in town!! |

Leave a Reply

