Let’s start with a funny story…

Earlier this week while I was at work I got a text from Christopher:

You scared the willies out of me last night in  your sleep.

Oh?” I texted back.

Yes, you were talking in your sleep, then you sat up and were acting like you were petting something. So when I turned around I saw you sitting up and petting the blanket and heard you saying, “Pet pet. Pet pet” I had a scary horror movie moment. Then I realized this was normal for you so I went back to bed.

I have no idea what I was dreaming about, but I’m forever doing weird stuff in my sleep. Like he said, that wasn’t entirely unusual for me, haha! Little Girl used to always say “Pat pat. Pat pat” when she would pet Oreo so maybe I was mimicking her? I’ve mentioned on the blog before how I talk nearly every night in my sleep. I’ve been told that my younger sister and I used to have entire “conversations” in our sleep when we were kids. I’ve also been known to sing in my sleep or even on the rare occasion walk around the house. My personal favorite, (which creeped out more than one college roomie) was that I tend to sleep with my eyes half open… oh yeah, I’m special. 😉

And now it’s on to Recipe Friday!

It has been crazy hot here this week so you’d think I was craving salads and smoothies, right? Well, I was – except for one day. All I wanted was comfort food. So I whipped up some of my grandmother’s chicken ‘n dumplin’s! 🙂


Momma Billie’s Chicken ‘N Dumplin’s

Ingredients:

3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
10 cups of water
1 tsp sage or poultry seasoning
½ tsp salt
3 cups flour
½ tsp salt
2/3 cup shortening, melted
1/2 cup – 3/4 cup water
4 chicken bouillon cubes
3 drops yellow food coloring

Directions:

1. Stew chicken in the water. Season water with sage/poultry seasoning and salt while cooking

2. While chicken is cooking in large pot, mix together flour, salt, shortening and water until it forms a dough (consistency of pie crust). Divide dough in half; refrigerate second half

3. Roll dough out on a cutting board covered with a generous amount of flour. Cut dough into thin strips (about 1″). Place strips on a plate. Do the same with the refrigerated second half of dough

4. Remove chicken from broth. Add chicken bouillon cubes to broth and a few drops of yellow food coloring for eye appeal and bring to boil. Drop dough one piece at a time into boiling broth Press them down into broth if necessary. Reduce heat and simmer. Move dumplings around gently several times as they cook (about 25 minutes)

5. While dumplings are cooking, chop up or shred the chicken. When dumplings are done add chopped chicken back to pot and heat for a minute or two. Salt and Pepper to taste

Recipe by my grandmother, Billie T.

Don’t worry, though, the rest of the week was filled with grilled food, salads and quesadillas! See:

Sweet and Spicy Chicken (shown on salad here)


Sweet and Spicy Chicken
(on the grill!)

Ingredients:

1 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp chili powder
1 tbsp brown sugar
1 tsp oregano
3/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black pepper
2lbs chicken pieces (legs, breast, thighs, etc)

Directions:
1. Heat oven to 400 degrees. In a small bowl combine oil, chili powder, Splenda brown sugar, oregano, salt and black pepper.2. Rub spice mixture into chicken. Roast until cooked through about 45-50 minutes.
NOTE: This recipe is also fabulous on the grill or in the skillet.
Recipe from Real Simple


Chicken Quesadillas

Ingredients:

1 package taco seasoning
1/3 cup water
1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breast
8 whole wheat tortillas
2 cups cheese (Colby Jack for Christopher and Soy Cheese for me)

Directions:

1. Chop chicken breast into 1″ pieces. Sprinkle with Mexican Spice Mix. Heat skillet to medium-high heat and add chicken. When chicken is nearly down add water and let simmer for a few minutes. Remove skillet from heat when chicken is cooked through.

2. Place 1 tortilla on microwave safe dish and top with 1/2 cup cheese and 1/4 of the chicken. Top with a second tortilla and microwave for 30 seconds. Repeat with remaining tortillas until you have 4 quesadillas.

3. Heat large skillet to medium heat and spray with nonstick spray. Place quesadillas on skillet until crispy on both sides (about 1-2 minutes per side). Slice into fourths and enjoy!

I got super excited this week when I found a recipe for sugar free and dairy free blueberry muffins. Oh my gracious, they were so tasty too! Check ’em out!


(Dairy Free, Sugar Free) Blueberry Muffins

Ingredients:

1 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 cup Splenda
3 tbsp Splenda Brown Sugar, not packed
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup almond milk (I used Almond Breeze Unsweetened Vanilla)
1/4 cup sugar free pancake syrup (I used Mrs. Buttersworth SF Syrup)
1 egg
2 tbsp butter (Earth Balance Natural Buttery Spread)
2 tbsp no sugar added applesauce
1/2 tsp vanilla
1 cup blueberries
Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. In a mixing bowl, combine flour, Splenda, Splenda brown sugar, baking powder, and salt. Mix well.

2. In a separate, large mixing bowl, combine almond milk, syrup, egg, butter, applesauce, and vanilla extract. Using an electric mixer or a whisk, mix until thoroughly blended. (Don’t worry if butter bits do not break up completely.)

3. Add dry ingredients from the first mixing bowl to the mixture in the large one. Mix until completely blended. Then fold in the blueberries.

4. Line a 6-cup muffin pan (or half a 12-cup pan) with baking liners and/or spray with nonstick spray. Evenly distribute batter among the 6 cups.

5. Place in the oven and bake for about 22 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean. Enjoy!

Recipe slightly adapted from Slice of Southern at Tasty Kitchen

Mmm… just looking back at these photos from this week is making me hungry again, haha! Have a happy Friday, friends!

35 responses to “Let’s start with a funny story…

  1. My dad and I used to go to Cracker Barrel all the time and get their biscuits and gravy, I can’t wait to try yours! 🙂

  2. Ahahaha – my boyfriend always tells me about the weird things i do in my sleep – isn’t it so bizarre how you can have NO recollection of it!?

    All this food looks amazing – I can’t wait to try some of these recipes 🙂

  3. i can have an entire conversation in my sleep too! and i never remember in the morning, kind of scary! haha i wonder what i say! love your eats, that chicken looks sooo good!

  4. lol well I didn’t think you were crazy after the dog food thing… but now…??? lol 😉 j/k

    those chicken and dumplings look superb!!

  5. bahaha! so funny! My husband talks in his sleep every now and then. He coaches cheerleading/tumbling a couple nights a week, and one night he woke up, sat up and started “coaching” in his sleep telling I dont know, whoever he was talking to how to do their tumbling pass, then got angry and asked if they were serious about taking the class, HAHA. it was hilarious!

  6. I am going to check out those blue berry muffins!! I talk in my sleep nightly as well… my other family members who are awake talk to me and I never remember it!

  7. That is too funny about your sleep talking!
    I used to do that when I was younger, but not anymore. …at least not to my knowledge 😉
    I love the SF & Dairy recipe recipe!!! Can’t wait to check it out 😉

  8. Haha how funny! Really makes you wonder what you were dreaming about. Those blueberry muffins look delicious! *off to check out recipe*

  9. haha that is scary!! i don’t know if I sleep talk, but my sister does. If I’m still awake and I hear her talking I can never be sure if she is serious or just dreaming!

  10. yum @ the quesedillas!!

  11. Those muffins look amaaazing 🙂

    And my roommate last year was like you, talked and had conversations and laughed in her sleep and a couple times sat straight upright and would respond to something I said then have NO recollection of it in the morning. I talk in my sleep on occasion but not SUPER often 😉


    n

  12. So funny!!!!! I used to do things like that as a kid, but now that I have my own kids I don’t think I sleep sound enough to do those things anymore. lol

  13. Oh it all looks so good but I especially like the looks of that chicken salad! That is such a cute story! One thing about it there is never a dull moment even when you are sleeping!!!!

  14. hahaha, that’s hilarious! Creepy…but hilarious. It’s funny hearing some of the stories Michael tells me about when I’m sleeping. Haven’t had quite a story like that, though!

  15. haha! Sam (my bf) actually talks in his sleep all the time! Once he started singing a Michael Jackson song randomly. No joke. It was hilarious!! 🙂

  16. I talk in my sleep too! Only on occasion though, however my sister and I have actually been known to have a converstaion with each other (all gibberish of course) while asleep according to my mom lol! That grilled chicken with corn looks like the quintessential summer meal – yummmO. Hope you have a fantastic weekend 🙂

  17. looooooove the quesadilla!!!!!

  18. When I read the first part of your post, my mind went to Paranormal Activity…eek! At least your hubby knows you well enough not to freak out!

  19. Haha! That is pretty creepy.

    The recipes look awesome, as usual. 🙂

  20. WOW the chicken and dumplin’s is just WOW! ❤

  21. YUM that sweet & spicy chicken looks GOOD!!

    Oddly enough, I’ve never had chicken and dumplings. Earlier this evening I watched Guy Fieri eat some on Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives and thought how tasty it looks. It’s a dish I never think of and here it is again! Now I want to try some!

  22. yummm great post girl ;)!

  23. the recipes all look delicious! and speaking of doing funny/scary things in your sleep…when i was like 7, i fell asleep in the car, and my mom brought me into the mudroom and went back into the garage. when she came back, i had vanished, she assumed i’d wandered to bed. the next morning, she went to check on me, and i was mia. i was mia for about 45 minutes, before she discovered me in the front hall closet, on a bag of jackets…snoozing away. i slept-walked into the closet. whoops!

  24. Omg hahahaha! I actually just laughed out loud when I read that about talking in your sleep! It must’ve been so creepy for your husband 😄 I have been known to talk in my sleep too though, so don’t worry. You are definitely not alone, haha!
    And om the recipes sound delicious…lovin’ the chicken!

  25. That chicken looks super delicious!!

    LOL to that story, ahaha.

  26. hahah I used to talk in my sleep and I was always freaking out my parents or my friends. Oops! I didn’t mean to! 🙂

    Those muffins look tasty!

  27. Pingback: “SHE LIKES THE PIGS!!” « Tinkerbelle86's Blog

  28. Haha, I love it when people talk in their sleep – I always try to get them to have a convo with me, but it never really works out! And check out those muffins – I’m dying to try those out!

  29. My sister and I share(d) our room all through school, and we both are horrendous sleep talkers. She always scares me because she moves arounds and murmurs weird things. The other night it was “blue sand” over and over.
    Oh, and apparently I sleep with my eyes half open too, but I’m going to pretend that’s false 🙂

  30. Man talks in her sleep and it would scare me so bad when we used to share a room!!

  31. Pingback: Welcoming November with Recipes! |

  32. Pingback: Tuesday Night In |

  33. Pingback: Tuesday Night In |

  34. Pingback: 20 Questions |

Leave a Reply

