7 Links And Tasty Food!

Hiya friends! Elise over at PhD Strides tagged me in the 7 links post so today I’m sharing! 🙂

Most Beautiful Post: I Love… was a post full of those I love the most – the ones most beautiful to my heart. 🙂

Most Popular Post: In actual views (though not in number of comments), it would be a close tie between Say What?! (which is where I talk about my heart condition) and Have I Mentioned I Grew Up In China (which is where I talk about… well, obviously, how I grew up in China, haha!).

Most Controversial Post: I don’t know that I really touch many controversial matters on this blog. However, I think a post that might have given many people a bit of a pause would probably be my view-point on my own fitness. In my post I Like To Play I talk about how I am a strong believer in play which means I don’t spend a ton of time doing traditional “exercise.” Instead, I focus on dancing, cleaning, playing with Oreo, chasing my nieces and nephews, running around the playground, swimming, etc.

Most Helpful Post: I don’t know that this post was most helpful to my readers, but it was a bit of a breakthrough for me. In My Story Isn’t About Me I talk about my fear of public speaking and how I chose to speak anyway because my story isn’t about me… it’s about how God rescued me because He loves me so desperately. 🙂

Surprise Success: Probably my post titled Fairy Tale. It was just a big ol’ mushy gushy post with lots of words and few pictures so I didn’t anticipate much feedback. I was surprised at how many views that particular post got. 🙂

Not Enough Attention: Okay so this was one of the first posts on this blog so it was before I had any regular readers, but it’s still pretty funny to me. This is one of those stories that has to do with silly things my husband says or does and those are usually some of my favorites. So I give you: 5:45am.

Most Proud Of: I was proud of myself for coming to the realization that I really need to be more careful when it comes to comparing myself to other people. I wrote about that in a post called Comparing Myself To Me.

Okies, now on to some tasty food!

Lisa over at Dishes of Mrs. Fish inspired me this week to make an old favorite in a new way. I love fried okra. Seriously. And when I saw that Lisa had made this amazing cornmeal crusted okra that looked just like fried okra… well, I just knew I had to try it. It was delicious! Thanks for sharing this recipe, Lisa!

Side note: using yellow cornmeal instead of white would’ve made these look more like normal ‘fried okra’, but they still tasted the same! Delicious!

Cornmeal Crusted Okra

Ingredients:

1 lb okra, sliced into 1″ pieces
2 egg whites
1 cup yellow corn meal
Cajun seasoning to taste

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Line baking sheet with aluminum foil and spray with non stick cook spray, set aside.

2. Place egg whites in a small bowl and corn meal in a shallow dish or pie pan.  Sprinkle corn meal with desired amount of cajun seasoning.

3. Dip okra pieces in egg whites and then dredge in corn meal.

4. Place coated okra on baking sheet and spray tops with non stick cooking spray.

5. Bake for 20-25 minutes, until okra pieces are crispy.

I found some ground chicken on sale at Kroger and wanted to use it so I Googled “ground chicken recipes” which led me to the Cookbook Junkie’s blog. She had a Rachael Ray recipe for Buffalo Chicken Meatballs that sounded and looked delicious. So I made them and they were fabulous!


Buffalo Chicken Meatballs

Ingredients:

1 pound ground white meat chicken
1/2 small onion, grated
2 cloves garlic, grated
1/2 cup parsley, chopped
Salt and freshly ground black pepper
Extra-virgin olive oil, for drizzling
2 tablespoons butter
1/2 cup Franks hot sauce

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400ºF.

2. In a large mixing bowl, combine the ground chicken with the onion, garlic and parsley, and season with salt and freshly ground black pepper. Flatten out the meat in the bowl and score it into four portions using the side of your hand. Shape each portion into four balls – you should have sixteen meatballs in total.

3. Arrange the meatballs on a nonstick sheet pan and drizzle them with EVOO. Place in the oven and bake until the meatballs are cooked through and golden brown, about 10-12 minutes.

4. While the meatballs are baking, melt the butter in a large skillet over medium heat. Add the hot sauce and whisk to combine. Toss the baked meatballs in the hot sauce to coat.

While browsing the Cookbook Junkie’s blog I came across her recipe for Russian-Style Chicken Cutlets. I made a few changes (based on what I had on hand) and they were super yummy! Christopher had the leftovers as a sammie today and he loved it. 🙂


Russian-Style Turkey Cutlets

Ingredients:

2 slices bread, crusts removed
¼ cup almond milk
1 pound ground turkey
1 egg
½ tsp salt
¼ tsp fresh-ground black pepper
½ tsp dried dill
5 tbsp butter, 3 of them at room temperature
1 cup dry breadcrumbs
2 tbsp cooking oil

1. Break the bread into pieces. In a large bowl, soak the bread in the milk until the liquid is absorbed, about 2 minutes. Mix in the chicken, egg, salt, pepper, dill and the 3 tablespoons room-temperature butter. Put in the freezer for about 10 minutes to firm up.

2. Remove the chicken mixture from the freezer; it will still be very soft. Form the mixture into four oval cutlets and coat them with the bread crumbs.

3. In a large, nonstick frying pan, heat the remaining 2 tablespoons butter and the oil over moderate heat. Cook the cutlets until golden brown and just done, 4 to 5 minutes per side or until internal temperature reaches 165 F.

This weekend is going to be so brilliantly exciting! I can’t wait to tell you all about it! 😀

18 responses to “7 Links And Tasty Food!

  1. I can’t wait to check out the 5:45 post!

  2. I loved your Like To Play post! Amen to that! 😀

  3. i gotta go check out the 5:45am post too. And whats going on this weekend/?????????????????????

  4. Happy Birthday in advance! After I leave this comment I’m off to check out that a.m post too 🙂

  5. YUMMMM I am so hungry . Happy Happy Birthday!!!! I cannot wait to hear all about it.

  6. Everytime I see okra I think of how much my mom can’t stand the stuff. I absolutely love it, but she hates the texture. Actually, yesterday we saw the BIGGEST okra ever (probably over a foot) and she winced in disgust. 😛

  7. happy bday!
    Im going tocheck out the link i havent read yet. 🙂

  8. Buffalo chicken meatballs— booo yahhh, now we’re talkin’ ❤

  9. DUDE, i almost forgot, HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!! ❤

  10. I can’t wait to hear about your weekend!! 🙂

  11. Oh I will have to try that okra recipe! We love fried okra but I am not much on frying it! This sounds like just the recipe I need, crispy okra without frying!!

  12. Buffalo chicken meatballs sounds great! I love new dinner ideas. What did you serve it with?

  13. I love this whole link thing, it totally let’s me check out all the posts I’ve missed!! :):)

  14. What I really love about these 7 links posts is what they show about what bloggers value in themselves and others – kinda by reading between the lines, if that makes sense?

  15. okay this is too cool! Love this post

Leave a Reply

