A Day in Progreso, Yucatan, Mexico

For those who didn’t guess by the last post, we were on a cruise this past week! Another one of our ports was Progreso!

The beach in Progreso

In front of our cruise ship the Carnival Elation!

Veggie and fruit market in Progreso. There was a meat market right next to this, but I didn’t get a photo of it. Reminded me a lot of when I lived in China.

An outdoor kitchen in downtown Progreso

We saw these VW Bugs all over Progreso and Cozumel!

Getting a henna tattoo at the port in Progreso

This was my henna tattoo. It says “Grace” in Chinese 🙂

And of course… gotta have a jumpin’ picture for Progreso!

I’ll share more about the cruise itself next! It was such a great experience!

33 responses to “A Day in Progreso, Yucatan, Mexico

  1. SO jealous! But glad you are having a good time! Enjoy your vacation Rach!

  2. I love getting henna tattoos when I’m on vacation. It makes me feel badass 🙂 haha someone actually thought it was real once! I can’t wait to hear more about your vacay!

  3. we stopped in Progreso too and it was one of the most humbling experiences i’ve ever had. we traveled about 45 minutes away from port to a small town and visited the home of a local, who lived in what i would consider a hut. they had chickens running around out back for food and no running water. hammocks for beds. and every pot/pan displayed proudly in their home as prized possessions. kindest people i’ve ever experienced there. lovin’ the cruise recaps!

  4. Thats so much fun! I love cruises – Did you like Carnival?

    • We did like Carnival! It’s inexpensive which is a great, but that does mean that you “get what you pay for” (as some people put it) when it comes to entertainment. For adults it was great, but some of the stuff they said was “family friendly” was stuff that I wouldn’t let my kid attend, but then maybe I’m just overprotective with little ones. Anyway, everything else about it was fabulous. The staff was unbelievably helpful and friendly and pretty much served us hand and foot. The food was delicious and our room was really nice (which surprised us since we anticipated it being uber tiny). But yeah, we really enjoyed it! It was great. We will definitely sail with them again! 🙂

  5. Omg I am so jealous!!! How fun 😀

  6. Oh wow how awesome!! Looks like you all were having such a great time!! Look forward to seeing more pictures!!

  7. I can’t wait to hear about how the cruise was on the ship! We’ve been thinking about going on a cruise now or later.

  8. How fun!! I went on my first cruise in June and really enjoyed it. I love love henna tattoos but am actually allergic to it isnt that crazy odd?!?

  9. My name means “grace”! Therefore you just tattooed yourself with me. WIN!

  10. Looks absolutely beautiful! Can’t wait to hear more about your cruise! I’m a big chicken that has never flown or been on a cruise! I’ll live vicariously through you & Christopher 🙂

  11. Wow, so gorgeous, I want to travel somewhere hot!

  12. Sigh. I want to go back on a cruise! 🙂 I really hope the hubby and I can go next year. We went on one for our honeymoon and it was SUCH an amazing experience!! I can’t wait to see more pics!

  13. Looks awesome!! I wish I was close to mexico…maybe after the marathon in florida in Jan I will go on a little cruise of my own?

  14. I’ve never been on a cruise, but it seems like fun. Have a wonderful time! I love your henna btw 🙂

  15. Wow! Looks like you had a wonderful trip. I’ve never been on a cruise, but I have been to Mexico and it’s just gorgeous there.

  16. i’d have a blast in that market. you and your husband are ALWAYS SO CUTE!!

  17. Oh wow, I love your pictures! It looks like you two had an awesome anniversary celebration 🙂

  18. AWESOME pictures! Yay for Carnival cruises!

  19. JEALOUS!!! Looks like it was so much fun!

  20. That market looks awesome! And your pictures are adorable, as always! 🙂

  21. Ohh I love a good cruise! Alex and I are hoping to squeeze one in by or for our 5th anniversary. Love the jumping shot as usual!

  22. Hey Rach! That cruise looks AMAZING! HOW FUN!!!

  23. That beach! Sigh. What I would do to have a day at the beach right about now. Any beach. But that one looks particularly appealing. I’ve never been on a cruise. How did you like it as a way to see different places?

    • I know what you mean about loving the beach! I just came back from it and I’m already longing to return, haha! This was our first cruise and we absolutely loved it! It was a great way to see a couple of places in Mexico. I have a coworker who took a European cruise and they ported all over the place and said it was a fabulous way to travel and see the sites. I definitely recommend it! 🙂

  24. Hey, first time commenter alert! Wow, I am soo jealous but pleased you look so happy and living life to the fullest 🙂 Plus henna tattoos are so much better than the real thing haha. I’ve never been on a cruise, look forward to hearing what it’s like!

  25. oh the veggie market looks so cool! The best part about traveling is exploring new foods and culture, agreed?!

  26. I love that fresh fruit & veggie market! I wish every vacay spot had one 🙂

  27. YEAH! Progresso is so pretty!! I’m not positive, but I’m pretty sure our cruise in ’08 stopped at the same exact ports as yours! I’m beginning to think we’re living VERY similar lives, girl. 😉 Love the jump pic!!

Leave a Reply

