An afternoon in NOLA!

When we got back from the cruise we decided to head over to NOLA (New Orleans, LA). But first, we met up with Heather for the morning. We met at Starbucks and had such a great time chatting. Anyone who reads her blog won’t be surprised to hear that she is just as sweet in person! πŸ™‚ I already knew we had a lot in common just from reading her blog, but after a few hours of chatting, I realized just how much we have in common – especially in this season of our lives. Such a blessing to get to know her a little more! πŸ™‚

The two of us!

After spending some quality time with Heather, Christopher and I headed to New Orleans for the day!

As we were driving up to New Orleans!

Our first stop when we arrived in NOLA was Parkway! We went to New Orleans for our anniversary last year and we loved Parkway so much that we went twice in one week, haha! The chef, Justin Kennedy, is really a great guy. We chatted with him for a bit a year ago and he even brought us free catfish and dessert on the house! Well, here we are, a year later… and he remembered us! We walked in the door and he said “Hey! Back in town again? It’s been what… a year?” Oh yeah, he’s a good man (who apparently has a brilliant memory, haha!) πŸ™‚

This is us with Chef Justin Kennedy last year! I still can’t believe he remembered us!

Okay, I know this looks gross, but I am telling you – it is absolutely ah-mazing! The Surf and Turf Po’Boy piled high with roast beef and fried shrimp… um… wow good!

In fact their food is so great that they were featured on Food Wars! Check this out:

This place is so great that even President Obama and the first lady came by for a po’boy!

See! Justin with the Obamas!

Okay okay… I’m done talking about Parkway now, haha! But if you are ever in the area, you need to check this place out!
Parkway Bakery & Tavern on Urbanspoon

After lunch we headed to the sculpture gardens at the art museum!

And of course, no trip to New Orleans is complete without a stop at Cafe du Monde! They have the best cafe au lait (decaf for me, regular for Christopher) and beignets (without powdered sugar for me and with for him)… delightful!
CafΓ© Du Monde on Urbanspoon

We had a GREAT afternoon in New Orleans. Such fabulous food as always! πŸ™‚

31 responses to “An afternoon in NOLA!

  1. That’s so exciting that you met up with a blog world friend and I can think of no better place πŸ˜‰ Your photos make me want to go to New Orleans, sculpture gardens, art AND president approved food?!!! Glad you enjoyed so much!

  2. Cafe Du Monde is soooo good! It’s been awhile since I’ve been to new Orleans. It’s such a fun place! Great pics! πŸ™‚

  3. Nola is absolutely on my list of places to visit. Jealous!

  4. I would love to visit there, definitely on my to go list!

  5. Thanks for visiting my blog. πŸ™‚ You are so pretty! Love the name of your blog. πŸ™‚

  6. NOLA sounds awesome!! How cool that the chef remembered you πŸ™‚

  7. awww that was so cool he remembered yall!! you’re famous πŸ˜‰

  8. Officially the coolest chef ever! That’s so awesome that he remembered you!! It’s because you two are so darn cute, isn’t it? I’ve never been to NOLA, but I’ve always wanted to go there!

  9. I would love to visit New Orleans! My friend is stationed in Mississippi and visits frequently πŸ™‚ That’s so cool that the chef remembers you!

  10. Ahh I wish I could meet up with blogger friends! How cool! Also, good thing no one got powdered sugared in the face! haha I have seen people on food shows do it all the time! πŸ™‚

  11. My eyes flicked to the photo first and I thought you and Heather were sisters! Also, I have a photo with a (bigger) LOVE sign like that, in Tokyo πŸ™‚

  12. Yay! So nice to Finally meet y’all! Had a blast chatting, can’t wait to do it again! Glad you had a great day in NOLA!

  13. What a fun anniversary y’all have had! Loved all the pictures!

  14. Love love love New Orleans! Look like you all had such a fabulous time…and hit up some of the best spots!

  15. NOLA looks amazing! I want to go so badly!
    I will definitely have to check out Parkway when I go.

  16. Aw I love meeting up with other bloggers! So cool that the chef remembered you!

  17. Wowww what an awesome day Rach!! :DD And I guess cafe du monde IS delicious?!! πŸ˜› I see it at the market all the time, but never was sure it it’d be good….I’m kind of picky with coffee! haha. Have a great dayyyyy

  18. It’s funny, the least photogenic food tends to taste the best. And then you have to convince people it did in fact taste wonderful;) #Blogger problems

  19. I love trying new restaurants and foods, almost as much as I love seeing new places. I’ve really been enjoying your ‘travel posts’!!

  20. That is so cool that Justin remembered you Rach!
    I liked the ‘love’ in the sculpture gardens.
    Oh beignets – powdered sugar on mine, please!

    Glad you had such a good time in New Orleans:)

  21. i love connecting with people!!
    i’m living vicariously through your travels right now!! πŸ™‚

  22. never been to NOLA but everyone i know who has been has LOVED it! and po boys? mmmm get in my belly!

  23. Ook – try #2 – i commented but it dissappeared! so i’ll get to the point – i’ve HEARD nola is amazeballs but have never been and i KNOW po boys are amazeballs because i’ve had so many πŸ˜‰

  24. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Looks like you had a great time πŸ™‚
    I’ve never been to New Orleans– but whenever I think about it I think “Mardi Gras” haha

  25. Oww owww, roast beef and fried shrimp?! Sign me UP! Love blogger meetups too, so fun! Have a great start to the week πŸ™‚

  26. New Orleans looks like so much fun! Im glad you had a good time!! πŸ™‚

  27. What a fun trip! I’ve only been to NO once, but I really do want to go back. And since my hubs has been a life-long Saints fan, I’m sure it wont be long before we do! Cafe Du Monde is scrumptious! Also, what does your necklace say in the first pic – just curious!

  28. Great pictures. I can always count on you to make me hungry. Usually it is the food you make, but that greesy sandwich looks sooooo good…..Yummy! I bet it was cool to meet up with someone you follow on-line, great idea.

  29. Need to visit the west part of USA soon! I’ve always wanted to visit LA. Glamorous πŸ˜‰

    BTW, Rach, you have to post about the photobook you won on my giveaway. I am just curious to know what you’ve done with it πŸ˜€

  30. Ohhhh I sooo want to visit that city!!! I can’t believe the chef remembered you, I’m going to have to write that place down for safe keeping!

    And so neat you got to meet Heather!!! I LOVE that girl — just met her two weeks ago at HLS and she’s adoooorable! If only you had been there too (but alas, cruise > HLS every time)

Leave a Reply

