A Weekend in LA…

Lower Alabama, that is. πŸ˜‰

So this is officially the last anniversary-trip-recap-post. It was a fabulous 10 days and we were so grateful for the chance to go! πŸ™‚

After we finished up in NOLA, we decided we needed to fit in one last beach trip so we headed to Gulf Shores!

And of course we had to stop at the Shrimp Basket to get our fried pickles and mahi tacos just like the last time! Oh wow was it delicious! We also got to swim with the dolphins at Gulf Shores! Well sorta… they were swimming a couple hundred feet away from us, but we could see them and we were in the water so we decided that it counts. πŸ˜›
Shrimp Basket on Urbanspoon

And after Gulf Shores we headed up to Mobile to spend some time with my family which was pretty fabulous!

Photos at the beginning are of Fort Conde and the Cathedral Square in downtown Mobile and the others were taken while playing with my niece and nephew at Bass Pro.

After Mobile, it was finally time for us to come home on Sunday. We were sad to leave our vacation behind, but there were a couple of things we were excited about at home…

The third anniversary is “leather” so Christopher got a leather tool belt and I got a leather journal. πŸ™‚ And then while we were in Mexico we bought some Mexican vanilla (yay!) and an ornament for our Christmas tree for the two places we visited (Yukatan and Cozumel).

And the other thing we were really excited about… seeing this guy again:

These 10 days were the longest we’ve been away from him since we adopted him in July 2010! We missed him so much, but he had a great time hanging out with a family we’re close to here in town. πŸ™‚

26 responses to “A Weekend in LA…

  1. fried pickles, cha ching!

  2. we always buy ornaments from the places we visit! I love that yall do the traditional gifts!

  3. What a fun trip! Fried pickles and Mahi tacos sound amazing!

  4. Aww, a new journal! How awesome πŸ™‚

  5. I love that you guys go the traditional route for anniversary gifts … so thoughtful! Glad you had a great time away, but in the end, there’s no place like home!

  6. I know the hardest thing about vacationing from now on will definitely be leaving my cat! I feel bad when I’m away from her for a night!! πŸ™‚

  7. Your little niece is sooooo cute! Swimming with dolphins sounds incredible, wowowowow you are so lucky! Bt pup was excited when you got back! Take care πŸ™‚

  8. Awwww, you were so close to me!!!! It looks like lots of fun…and lots of delicious southern food! YUM!!

  9. Such a fun trip!! I really need to get down to Gulf Shores some day! You’d think I would have since we’re so close..but nope. Maybe it’s in store for Spring break πŸ™‚

  10. That was definitely a lovely anniversary celebration.

    L.A. hahaha… =p you got me there =p

  11. Ha lovin the title of the post!
    Looks like so much fun πŸ™‚

  12. Oreo!! Aww I missed seeing pictures of him, but I can’t imagine how much you guys must miss him. At least you had an awesome trip! I love how you guys gave each other leather goods. I wonder if my parents tried to follow it at one point.. I know they don’t any more because it would have been silver this year!

  13. How fun!! We like to get Christmas ornaments too…it’s fun to bring back the memories when decorating.

  14. What a wonderful 10 day vacation – 3rd anniversary trip it was Rch. Between New Orleans and the Gulf Shores, you saw and did so many fun things, with good things to eat as well:)

    I bet your little furry guy was thrilled to have you two back home – Babysitters just aren’t the same as the real parents.

    The Collages are a neat way to share your pictures. Very clever!

  15. Ah I really want to swim with dolphins! Like the leather gifts, nice and traditional!

  16. Fried pickles!! ahhh I’ve never had them before!! look awesome. so glad you guys had such a wonderful trip πŸ™‚

  17. I’m loving these wrap-ups! It looks like SO much fun. Excited for you to be reunited with your little guy again πŸ™‚

  18. Mmm I love mahi tacos! And Mexican vanilla is amazing. I like using it in baked goods because the flavor is much more complex and rich.

    So glad you had such a wonderful anniversary celebration! xoxo

  19. What a GREAT vacation and way to celebrate your anniversary!

    Okay are you making those collage using Picnic? I think that’s what you told me before but I got in to try it and for the life of me just can’t figure it out. Do you have any tips?

  20. Ahhh I am sure that your cutie pie puppy missed you!!! Awesome pictures, looks like a great time!

  21. I love that you had lunch while watching the dolphins- how cool is that???
    & your pictures are so cute- love how you put them into a collage! πŸ™‚
    OREO!!!! I bet he missed you guys SO much too πŸ˜€

  22. Sigh. I’ve yet to try fried pickles… I think I’m missing out. πŸ™‚

  23. omg – what a sweetie!!!
    We went away this summer and I missed my two dogs SO much!

  24. Great pictures! I also love that you two follow the traditional anniversary gift guidelines! I definitely want to do that whenever I get married- it seems like so much fun and that it would lead to quite a bit of creativity with gifts.

Leave a Reply

