I Got a New Toy!

Back in July I made some delicious dairy free, no-sugar-added Chunky Monkey ice cream and it was fabulous. So good in fact that I decided that I needed an ice cream maker so I can make it regularly! I finally got around to ordering it and it arrived this week. πŸ˜€ So first up… Oreo made himself comfortable in the cardboard box it arrived in:

We put a pillow and blanket in the box to make it more comfy. He loves it!

My new ice cream maker! Isn’t it cute? I just love this shade of blue!

Sorry for the bad lighting, but this is a shot of the Chunky Monkey just after it finished churning!

Oooh golly it was delicious! Creamy and perfectly delicious!

In other news, you guys know how I’m always talking about the teen girls I work with and how much I love ’em, right? Well, a couple of the girls mentioned having trouble motivating themselves to do homework (Facebook is awfully distracting, haha) so I offered my house as a media-free-zone on Thursday nights. So last night the girls all came over and we ate spaghetti together thenΒ they spread out in the living room and worked on homework. πŸ™‚

I was so happy with how well the night went! Dinner and chit-chat was fabulous and the girls got all their homework done. I was so proud. πŸ˜€

LOVE my small group girls! πŸ˜€

Have a fabulous weekend, you guys!

48 responses to “I Got a New Toy!

  1. That ice cream looks fantastic, I might pull down our ice cream maker to try it. I’ve only used it once.

    I love the idea of Th night homework night at your house, you have a such a sweet heart for those girls and Im sure they love you!

  2. Can I come over? I think I need that!!! That is such a good idea. Maybe I should arrange one of those for my friends? Though we always end up chatting WAY too much. We’ve tried to do it before… we allot 1 hour for fun and the rest of the time for studying and it usually works.
    I have an ice cream maker but rarely use it. I also have a can of coconut milk that needs to be used. Bookmarking this now!!! I love chunky monkey!

  3. what a good idea to do for you girls. you are really awesome – they’re lucky to have you as a role model!

    my husband and i just got an ice cream maker as a wedding gift and made our first ice cream on wednesday night – i’m officially hooked!!

    and finally, i got picnick after seeing your post about it recently. i love it! check out my post tomorrow morning – i had waaaay too many photos from our honeymoon, so i made collages and it was so perfect! πŸ™‚ thanks for the great tip!

  4. Oh that ice cream maker is really nice, Rach! the ice cream also looks fab. πŸ˜€ I loooove making ice cream, and basically homemade ice cream in general! I’m so glad you got your maker.

    -Tia

  5. I love my ice cream maker! It’s pretty old, so I may splurge on a new one. Once you start, you can’t stop πŸ™‚

  6. Your small group girls look lovely…and how lucky they are to have you!

    Your ice cream sounds beyond good. Such a quaint ice cream maker though!

  7. i agree with sophia, they are lucky to have you! a great environment for them plus free homemade ice cream!

  8. That’s so kind that you invited the girls to your home! And whee, the ice-cream maker is really fancy! πŸ˜€

  9. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    I’ve honestly always wanted to make ice cream, but have no ice cream maker to do it with 😦

    And that is so sweet of you to offer your own home for your girls to use as a homework area! They are lucky to have such a caring role model to look up to!

  10. Love the shade of blue! I have an old ice cream maker I need to pull out, dust off, and try making some with the kids one day…
    And as a former middle school teacher, I love that you are giving these girls a place to get homework done!

  11. Your ice cream maker looks like lots of fun πŸ™‚
    annnnd, the bowl you served it in looks absolutely adorable!

  12. How fun to make your own ice cream Rach! I bet it tastes even better than what you can buy at the store. I’d be in trouble for sure, trying it out all the time:)

    Oreo looks adorable napping in the box on his blanket!

    That’s great all the girls got their homework done. It was nice of you to offer your house up as a media free zone for them:)

    Rach, do you have an RSS feed so that I can get your post updates?

  13. Aww Oreo is so freakin cute!!!
    and thank you Rach!!
    <3u
    Anne

  14. I LOVE my ice cream maker. Homemade is so much better!

  15. I am in love with my ice cream maker; I’m so happy you got one – it’s the beginning of a beautiful relationship πŸ™‚

    PS – it’s super awesome you care about those girls and are making a positive influence in their lives!!

  16. That ice cream looks great! The media free zone is such a great/sweet idea! I’m glad it worked out so well!

  17. That’s such an awesome idea. Way to go!

    Recipe for the ice cream??

  18. Ooooh! How fun is that?! I want an ice cream maker now!!! πŸ™‚ Also, I LOVE the idea of you having the homework night at your house! You are one smart cookie chickadee . πŸ™‚

  19. Oreo is such a cute doggy name! Aww that is so lush, the girlies are lucky to have you. I’ve never seen an ice cream maker before, looks like a bucket! A genius bucket though! hope your weekends been good πŸ™‚

  20. I am craving homemade ice cream now! Yum! I know it will get lots of great use. Oreo is so cute in that box. Awe!

    And love what you are doing with the girls. They are so lucky. πŸ™‚

  21. you are the best small group leader EVER! spaghetti and ice cream? can i transform back into a teenager and come over too?!

  22. That ice cream looks so good! Nothing like homemade ice cream either, haven’t had it in foreverrrrrr! Hope you’re having a wonderful holiday weekend πŸ™‚

  23. That ice cream looks delicious! I would love to get one but I am sure I’d gain ten pounds. ha.
    That was so sweet of you to offer up your place. It is way too easy to get distracted now a days.

  24. An Ice Cream Maker?! πŸ˜€ I am so jealous. πŸ™‚

  25. That ice cream maker is SO cute!!! I just rely on my vitamix, but that looks cool!!!

  26. That’s so generous of you! I’d definitely dedicate several hours to homework (if I had any) if ice cream by you was on the horizon πŸ˜€

  27. That’s great what you do for those girls, they are luck to have you as a positive role model in their life!
    I want an icecream maker πŸ™‚

  28. Mmmm ice cream maker good buy!

  29. You know I love my ice cream! Chunky monkey flavor sounds yum.

  30. I am loving the looks of that ice cream! πŸ™‚ you are beautiful btw!!! πŸ™‚

  31. Pingback: My Life Is Full Of Butterflies! « KatsHealthCorner

  32. WOW girl that is such a great idea about a media free zone night! AWESOME! you are prob the best small group leader ever!!!! ahhh so encouraging!!!

  33. The Teenage Taste

    AHHHH! I am totally jealous of your ice cream maker! The ice cream looks amazing! πŸ™‚

  34. Love the ice cream maker. I wanted one this summer, but we have hardly had any sun this summer and now we are well in to autumn, but there is always next year! πŸ™‚

  35. Hey Rach, love catching up on your blog after a long pause from the blogging world! πŸ™‚ The cruise looks like it was so amazing!
    So sweet of you to offer your house as a media free zone, facebook can be dangerous πŸ˜‰ And that ice cream looks good!

  36. I love how you make your own stuff! Dog food, ice cream…LOVE IT!

  37. I love the pic of your dog in the box! Too cute!! My dog likes to eat cardboard boxes. πŸ™‚

  38. awwww such an inspiring post! Loved it Rach!!!

  39. Oh what a wonderful thing for you to do. Looks like they all had a great time and what a blessing that they got all of their homework done!!

  40. What a wonderful thing to have everyone over for homework. You are such a positive role model for these girls I absolutely adore you! And PS – so jealous you have an ice cream maker!

  41. That really does look creamy and so delicious!! Looks like such a fun time! πŸ™‚

  42. That is an awesome idea! What a motivating way for those girls to get inspired to do work! You’re definitely making a difference in their lives! And that ice cream looks great, too!!!

  43. That’s so sweet of you to open up your home for them to do their homework. =)

    And the ice cream maker looks awesome! mmm… makes me want a new ‘toy’ too haha

  44. YUMMY….Let me know what time ice cream is being served and I am there!

    Looks sooooo good. πŸ™‚

  45. I love the idea of a media-free Thursday evening. I’m so easily distracted! And homemade ice cream to boot? Sounds glorious!

  46. Pingback: Home Work and Home Grown |

Leave a Reply

