Do You Hear the People Sing?

I love musicals. I was in Oliver Twist and Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat when I was a kiddo and I grew up loving several other musicals (really there aren’t many that I don’t like, haha!). However, I do have a favorite musical that rises a wee bit above the others…

Les Miserables

Love it. I can’t even tell you why I love it so much, but I do. I grew up watching the 10th anniversary edition which I just adore. My senior year of high school I literally listened to the entire sound track every day while doing my homework, haha! Just love it. πŸ™‚

So with that said… my husband took me on a hot date last night!

All dressed up and ready to go!!

We stopped at one of our favorite BBQ joints for dinner! Three Little Pigs BBQ is SO good! We’ve never been disappointed by their food or service. The BBQ is sweet and tangy and just like we like it! The baked beans are smokey and bold. And I actually even like the coleslaw which is saying a lotΒ coming from me.Β Nothing says classy like being all dressed up at a local dive. πŸ˜‰

Three Little Pigs on Urbanspoon
Three Little Pigs Bar-B-Q on Foodio54

After dinner we headed downtown to the river walk to watch the sun set. πŸ™‚

Then we went to the Orpheum to see LES MISERABLES!!!! :D!!

It was a fabulous date! Les Mis was fabulous live just like I knew it would be. I had to make a conscious decision not to sing along to every song, haha! Just loved it. Took me back to my childhood/teen years. πŸ™‚

Do you hear the people sing?
Singing a song of angry men?
It is the music of a people who will not be slaves again!
When the beating of your heart echoes the beating of the drums, there is a life about to start when tomorrow comes!

Tomorrow we’ll discoverΒ what our God in Heaven has in store!
One more dawn
One more day
One day more!

38 responses to “Do You Hear the People Sing?

  1. I LOVE musicals, especially Les Mis!! I went to see it last year in the West End and it was AMAZING!! I definitely struggled with restraining myself from joining in with all the words though! πŸ˜›

    P.S. You look BEAUTIFUL there πŸ™‚

  2. How fun, and what a great date that was, Rach! Barbecue, pretty sunsets and ypur favorite musical. Your hubs does it right:)

  3. Looks like a fun date! πŸ™‚ I love crazy little dives with awesome food. My husband and I go to a pizza place that looks so dirty from the outside (okay, from the inside too) but man oh man they make the best pizza around!!

  4. Aww, what a FUN date night!

  5. I’m going to see it Saturday night with my mom and aunt!!! I have loved Les Mis ever since I saw it in London, and I told my mom that she HAD to see it when it came to the US again, so we’re going! I hope they love it as much as I do. Now I have to go listen to the soundtrack a few times before Saturday.

  6. I have always wanted to see that show! What a great night Rach πŸ™‚

  7. Oh my gosh, you are adorable!!! Love your hair! Glad y’all had a fun little date night!

  8. Oh, you look stunning! What a great date night!

  9. I love musicals, too! For my birthday next month, I bought myself a subscription to the musical theatre in Seattle for the season. The first show? Les Mis!! My husband and I got a babysitter and had an absolute blast. Glad you got to see it, too!

  10. Sounds like a lovely evening! You both look so nice, and the sunset is so beautiful… I love musicals too πŸ™‚

  11. Oh my Gosh, that sounds like the best night ever! I am in love with Les Mis and all the great songs. Glad you had such a wonderful time. Your hair looks lovely too!!

  12. I adore musicals. I recently saw Phantom of the Opera and it was out of this world! πŸ™‚

  13. I am OBSESSED with that musical. LOVE IT. I have the sound track. DId you just want to sing all night after that?
    hehe, cute couple and wonderful night Rach!

  14. I love musicals too, haven’t seen Les Mis live but I have the soundtrack album. Great date!

  15. Musicals are my favorite too! I grew up watching Rogers and Hammerstein movies like Sound of Music, The King and I, Carousel and Oklahoma! I literally know every word to The Sound of Music, but ANY musical makes my heart sing (and my mouth too! hehe). I haven’t seen Les Mis, but have heard from so many people that it’s fabulous.

    What a fun date! And I love that you went to a dive BBQ joint beforehand! xoxo

  16. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    A girl after my own heart ❀ I'm a musical theater JUNKIE!
    I performed a lot at a local theater when I was growing up and was in more musicals than I can count– Chicago, Grease, Anything Goes, Footloose, Seussical, Bye Bye Birdie, just to name a few. And that's awesome that you were in Oliver Twist!!

  17. I just love that you guys looked THAT fantastic and ate at a place called “Three Little Pigs.” Something tells me that if you two lived in my neighborhood, I’d be knocking on your door to hang out a LOT. Love how you keep it real, and I’m tickled that you had such a great night! Yay, for date night!

  18. Aww thats an awesome date! Glad you had a good time. I remember when Mr.Man took me to see Beauty and the Beast…I was on cloud nine. I cant wait to see another play

  19. what a blast! you two look dashing I love musicals! My first musical I saw was on Broadway, and it was Annie….LOVE! I was just a small child, and I loved it so much they took me to see A Christmas Carol after that. Thus my love for musicals was instilled. Phantom is a favorite of mine, and Aida, but of course Chicago and Evita are fabulous.

    Cats is playing here now, I’ve never seen it! and the Lion King is also coming to the southwest…haven’t seen that either!!

    We have an amazing opera here in Santa Fe, so enchanting!

  20. Oh, I LOVE that musical, too! I have the tape cassette from way back in high school… I still listen to it in the car.
    What a wonderful date!

  21. You two look lovely. What a perfect date night idea. So glad you enjoyed yourselves.

  22. I grew up performing in/seeing/loving musicals! That is definitely a perk to living so close to NYC. I listen to the Les Mis soundtrack ALL THE TIME! So glad you had a nice date night πŸ™‚

  23. I LOVE MUSICALS and starred in all my high school musicals. 42nd street, Pippin, Annie, West Side Story… oh, the memories. πŸ™‚

    aaand now you have les mis running through my head.

    YOU LOOK SO PRETTY!

  24. WHat a fun date! πŸ™‚ you two sure know how to pick em πŸ˜‰ dives are my favorite, too!

  25. That sounds like a perfect date! I love it. I want to go to a Broadway show so badly, more specifically, The Phantom of the Opera broadway. I wouldn’t even know where to begin as to what my favorite musical is…. I love Phantom, Rocky Horror (oh yes. so much.), and so many more. I’d probably have to go with Rocky Horror, though. When they did a Glee Rocky Horror episode I about peed my pants!

  26. I am so jealous! I am alllll about musicals and have seen so many of them live. My sister and I go to NYC once a year to see a show. Looks like a fabulous date to me!

  27. Amazing!! My mom LOVES that show! I remember her telling me about it when I was younger then we learned about it in French class a little. I’ve been wanting to see it!

  28. Love that I don’t have to feel silly about singing that song in my head when I read your post title!! I totally understand how you felt seeing that. Spring Awakening is my absolute favorite musical and I had the privilege of seeing it from the fifth row this past year. I was literally in tears I was so happy. Definitely one of the best nights of my life so far.

  29. Ya’ll are just so stinking cute! Looks like a great date night!

  30. You guys both look so great! I think it is awesome that you went to your favorite “dive.” What a great time….Thank you for sharing

  31. omg i saw les miserables! it was so amazing!!

  32. Yay for date nights! I love it – also a lover of musicals my favourite was always guys and dolls.

  33. How wonderful! I love Les Mis, myself, so it’s hard for me not to sing along whenever I hear the music! But kudos to you and your husband for not letting your fancy duds keep you from good eating! LOL!

  34. What a sweet date night!! How fun!

  35. Wow! You look great in that dress!

  36. I’ve never been to the Three Little Pigs….I think that needs to happen

  37. Pingback: Central BBQ |

  38. Pingback: My FAVORITE part of our NYC trip! |

Leave a Reply

