It’s that time of year again…

when I wake up before the sun…

when I don’t want to get out of bed because I’m so warm and cozy…

when I dread that moment I turn off the hot water in the shower and I step out into the cold air…

when I have to start my car 10 minutes before I leave in the morning just so I don’t turn into an icicle on the way to work…

when I accept that I won’t be warm again until next April…

For those who don’t know, I adore summer. I define summer as that time between March and September when the weather is 70+ and sunny. πŸ˜€ Though to be totally honest, it’s still in the 70s during the day here. It’s just these lows of 40 that get me. And the waking up before the sun thing, haha! However! There are some great perks to this time of year…

Picnics! We went on two picnics with two different groups of friends over the weekend. It was brilliant fun. πŸ™‚

Holiday decorating! A group of my girlfriends and I are all getting together to make fall wreaths (we’re all slight Pinterest addicts, haha!). Our husbands are grilling out for us while we decorate!

Soup! We’ve made several soups over the past couple of weeks and tonight was no exception! There has been this lasagna soup all over Pinterest lately and I decided that I just had to make it. Β I was not disappointed! It was delicious. And Christopher loved it so much that heΒ requested that we make it again later this week. So clearly a winner! πŸ™‚

Lasagna Soup

Lasagna Soup

Ingredients:

1 lb sweet Italian sausage
1 onion, chopped
1 green bell pepper, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 (32 oz) container chicken broth
1 (15 oz) can tomato sauce
1 (14 1/2 oz) can petite diced tomatoes
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp crushed red pepper
6 ounces broken lasagna noodles (about 6 noodles)

Directions:

1. Add the sausage, onion, bell pepper, and garlic to large nonstick soup pot (or Dutch Oven). Cook over medium-high heat, stirring occasionally, until the sausage is crumbled and browned, 8 – 10 minutes.

2. Add the broth, tomato sauce, diced tomatoes, salt, and crushed red pepper. Bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and simmer, stirring occasionally, until the flavors are blended, about 20 minutes. Add the noodles; bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and simmer, uncovered, stirring occasionally, until the soup thickens slightly and the noodles are tender, 10 – 12 minutes.

Recipe fromΒ The Deen Bros

And you can’t have soup without bread… so I tried my hand at beer bread! It was delish!

Can I just say how unbelievably simple this bread is? I mean, c’mon, 4 ingredients and done! Very tasty too. I actually made two batches of it – one with sugar and the other with Splenda. There wasn’t much of a taste difference, but the texture of the bread itself was very different. You can kind of see it in this photo:


So unless you have issues with sugar, I’d recommend you just go ahead and make it as the original recipe calls (with sugar). But know that if you want to make it with Splenda, it is still pretty good. πŸ™‚

Beer Bread

Ingredients:

3 cups self rising flour
1/4 cup sugar
1 (12 ounce) can beer
1/2 cup melted butter

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Spray loaf pan with nonstick cooking spray.

2. Whisk together flour and sugar. Then add beer and stir with spoon until combined.

3. Add a small amount of melted butter to bottom of pan. Pour batter into loaf pan.Β Pour remaining melted butter over mixture.

4. Bake 1 hour. Remove from pan and cool for at least 15 minutes.

Recipe fromΒ Jam Hands

All this is to say… I am already missing summer, but at least Fall brings some pretty great perks along with it! πŸ™‚

42 responses to “It’s that time of year again…

  1. haha it’s so funny how opposite we are in regards to weather/season preference!! I’m a tooootallll Fall person πŸ˜› And I’ve been mourning for the real fall weather here–it’s still warm most of the time haha. Wanna trade? πŸ˜‰ That beer bread looks and sounds so good! Never tried something like that before.

  2. oh bella that lasagna soup sounds wonderful!!!!!! Fall is my favorite time of year, and I am craving all the coziness it brings…too bad it’s still 80 degrees here consistently, but hoping for cooler weather soon…..much love to you tonight!

  3. I have such similar sentiments about winter (but you already know this, heh heh). Someone said today that Spring was only 4 months away and it made me instantly feel better. All I know is that the Holidays are going to be here before we know it and I am SO EXCITED!!!

  4. I’ve never made beer bread but it sounds so comforting!

  5. I’m so excited for Fall, but I know I will miss the summer. It’s just been so long since I’ve had any sort of cool/cold weather, I’m so excited!

  6. I’m definitely a fall person, but as soon as it starts getting down in the 30s, I start wishing for warm weather again.
    I’m pretty sure I made a vegan version of that soup last winter. Lasagna soup and beer bread sound like perfect cold weather food!

  7. guh, I always feel like splenda never works as well for baking. it frustrates me every stinkin’ time!

  8. Just nominated you for the Versitle Blogger Award! See my site at http://countoncross.wordpress.com/2011/10/04/my-first-blog-award-ya-me/
    to accept your award! Congrats!

  9. Summer and I go together like oil and water. Not friends. At all. Give me cool/cold weather any day. Ahhh…. but I live in Texas, so that’s not really an option. πŸ˜‰

  10. I just made beer bread this weekend too!

    The recipe I use has only 3 ingredients, so simple and oh so tasty!

  11. That bread looks delicious! Fall decorating is a great way to fight the cold-weather blues. πŸ™‚ Yay!

  12. Whoa who would have thought the texture would be soo different! Sounds groovy. I’m a complete summer girl so autumn is always comes as a right old bummer to me but then again everybody else’s excitment has been rubbing off on me lately. I’m going to miss the running shoes and high waisted short shorts look ;p Glad you’ve got lots to be looking forward to though, the wreath making sounds like a really fun day!

  13. I’m not ready for cold weather either, at least the cinnamon spice and all things pumpkin make up for it kinda :/ I really want to try this beer bread too, looks really good (and I love how easy it is, I am NOT a baker lol)!

  14. I LOVE beer bread! I haven’t had it in ages. I need to make it again! Thanks for sharing it and reminding me of it’s deliciousness.

  15. See, I love fall, but I hate winter. Fall for us is 80, so I’m ok. πŸ™‚

  16. I adore fall, but I’m with you on the cold mornings… and icy windows on the car… and not wanting to crawl out of bed. When it comes to those things, summer is just tons better!

  17. I like this weather. It rained all day today, and it was great because I got a free car wash, hee hee. Summer produce is waaaay better though, and I hate cold mornings!

  18. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    I’m just like you– I have a soft spot for the chill
    (Being a Florida girl, by “chill” I mean 60 degrees πŸ˜‰ )

  19. Ok…need to make that soup!! Thats why I love fall…its soup weather.

  20. This year I’m welcoming Fall with open arms. I usually mourn the loss of Summer, but this year I’m not too sad. Hmmmmm maybe I’m just getting old. πŸ˜‰

  21. Fall is definitely starting. Every season has something nice about it, thank goodness!

    The lasagna sounds great Rach!

    And if you want good baking, you always have to use the real thing. The artificial sweeteners just don’t cut it. Although I do love ‘Truvia’ the best of all four of them on the market.

  22. girlfriend i am WITH YOU! i love summer – so sad it’s over!

    however your recipe looks awesome!!

  23. I’ve lived in a tropical country all my life and I must admit I love it =D Although I fancy winter.. mmm I doubt I’d survive!

  24. i need some GF beer bread. How good would that be with pumpkin butter! nice eats lady.

  25. yummm i haven’t tried beer bread before. sounds good! i want to try it!

  26. I heart beer bread, though haven’t made it in years! I have a recipe for an olive beer bread… oh, and I totally don’t feel bad for you, because I’m so grateful it’s finally warming up down under πŸ˜›

  27. Lasagna soup sounds like a perfect fall/winter dish! I find the waking before the sun thing depressing, too. Especially when I work late and drive home in the dark, too. Blech. But great antidotes in the way of yummy food!

  28. I LOVE lasagna and I love soup so I am sure I would love that soup. Yum!
    This looks delicious!
    And I am loving the 4 ingredient bread. Yum!

  29. I have a post lined up for tomorrow on perks of fall lol!
    I too hate the cold, BUT the 100+ degree days were really starting to get to me!

  30. Oh that soup looks so delicious and so does the bread!! Sounds like you have a great weekend planned!

  31. Today in south FL it’s 72 degrees, so that counts as fall to us! πŸ™‚ I’m excited for fall and winter, since it’s a break from the FL heat. Also, that beer bread looks so good! I’m definitely going to make that some time.

  32. THAT sounds very lovely.
    do you find it the case where it usually works out so well where your hubby also gets along well with your gfs’ hubbies? that’s quite convenient

  33. HEY RACH! I miss ya tons, I’m starting to make some arts and crafts for the holiday’s Id love to make you a little gift and send it your way what’s your address! πŸ™‚ I’m back on the blog scene again!

  34. Ohh I know what you speakkk of about the cold mornings, stepping out of the shower into cold air. I had that this morning and it was rough!

  35. Pingback: Delicious Dinner and Late Night Conversations |

  36. yummy beer bread!! Did you make it with sugar or splenda a couple weeks ago?

  37. Pingback: Strawberry Beer Bread |

  38. Pingback: 13 of the Best Freezer Meals |

  39. Pingback: The Nesting… |

Leave a Reply

