Pasta e Fagioli

Maybe because it’s dark outside. Maybe because it’s chilly in the wee hours of the morning. Maybe because the leaves are starting to change. Or maybe it’s just because I really like soup. 🙂

Pasta e Fagioli (in the crock pot!)

Ingredients:

1 lb lean ground turkey
1/2 large red onion, chopped
1 cup carrots, chopped
2 (14.5 oz) cans diced tomatoes, undrained
1 can dark red kidney beans, drained and rinsed
1 can cannellini beans, drained and rinsed
4 cups beef broth
1 (16.5 oz) jar pasta sauce
2 tsp oregano
1 tbsp Franks Red Hot Sauce
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black pepper
1/2 cup dry whole wheat fusilli

Directions:

1. Brown the meat on the stovetop, and drain well. Let it cool a bit.

2. Chop up carrots and onion. Add to empty crock pot. Drain and rinse the beans and add them. Add the whole cans of tomatoes, pasta sauce, beef broth, salt, pepper, oregano, and Franks. Stir in meat.

3. Cover and cook on low for 8 hours, or high for 4. When the vegetables are tender, stir in the 1/2 cup of dry pasta. Cover and cook for another hour on low, or until the pasta is tender.

Recipe slight adapted from A Year of Slow Cooking

While completely delicious and simple to make, this recipe is a bit of an adaptation of the original pasta e fagioli. You see, traditional pasta e fagioli is made with ditalini pasta and no meat. It started out as a peasant soup in Italy. Hence the name “pasta and beans.” However, my husband is a carnivore and likes to sneak extra meat into anything he can. And I think fusilli pasta (the spiral kind shown here) is just so cute. 😉

In other news, you know it’s time to do dishes when…

…you are using a tablespoon as a spoon and a mug for a bowl.

But my goodness gracious, the leftovers of this soup were even better than the first night. I just love how soup manages to do that. 🙂

32 responses to “Pasta e Fagioli

  1. oh bella this looks scrumptious…it’s been so long since i’ve had pasta e fagioli!!!! I have been craving soup these last few weeks too and I must confess that I LOVE to eat soup from huge oversized mugs and big spoons haha!!!!

  2. That looks SO good! I am really loving crockpot recipes right now — they are just so easy! 😀

  3. stew has that same magic… I have a wee one person crock pot and eat the stew over a couple of days. pinto beans are my faves in stew… tho my last effort had marroccan style sausage so threw in chickpeas too… wow do they absorb flavour. ps no matter how I spell marrocan it looks wrong…

  4. Looks so delish! Can’t wait to check out the recipe and give it a try (my husband would like meat in it, too…)

  5. I love having soup out of a mug! Not sure I’ve ever used a measuring spoon as a utensil though – you beat me there 🙂

  6. I absolutely love soup. I am that person who will order a steaming hot cup in the summer. I love it that much–and this looks delicious!!

  7. A staple in italian cuisine and I should know, I’m of italian decent. LOL I love this.

  8. nothing beats a hot bowl of soup on a cool day… mmmmmm!!!

  9. How yum is that… I think I do want to try it without meat. I’m not trying to be vegetarian but I’m trying to cut down on meat and sweets. And it’s pretty hard!

  10. Yummmyyyy! I know people who refuse to eat leftovers, but they are amazing! There are some foods that I prefer cold out of the fridge!

  11. How amazing are soups/stews/chilis in the crockpot!? Leftovers are even better!

  12. I love leftovers that are better than the actual meal!!! This looks good!

  13. I love pasta e fagioli! I’ll have to make it sometime. Soups are the absolute best during the fall and winter!

  14. How lovely and nourishing! I need to cook with pasta more often.

  15. Looks delicious!
    Definitely just in time for fall!

    Check out our blog:

    http://brookeandmckenzie.wordpress.com

    Brooke and Mckenzie

  16. I never try it. But I love pasta… 🙂

  17. Can’t wait to try this!! 🙂 I want to start trying a new soup recipe a week this fall / winter. Nothing beats soup at the end of a cold day!

  18. This soup looks delicious! I love that you made it in the crockpot. I am always looking for new crockpot recipes. I bet the leftovers are amazing 🙂

  19. SOO making this! I love love love using my crockpot 🙂

  20. Pasta fagioli is one of my favorite soups ever! My ex’s grandmother gave me her family recipe (she’s Italian) and it is so good, at least that’s one positive thing I gained from that situation, right? 😉

  21. YUM! I am *so* making this soup! It’s a rainy day here and I have no doubt that your Pasta e Fagioli will brighten it up in no time. 🙂 Time to pull out the crockpot!

  22. Oh that soup looks so good, especially on this cold, rainy Chicago day!

  23. Pasta fagioli is one of my favorite soups! My grandma is full Italian (I am only a 1/4) and she busts out recipes like this all of the time…your version looks great!

  24. LOL! well at least you know how many tablespoons of soup on mug makes now, eh?
    I love that dish, i use the GF noodles and yes, extra meat for the hubs.

  25. This sounds really yummy! I have been craving a soup with pasta in it 🙂

  26. Okay just broke out the crock pot and definitely need to try this recipe asap!!

  27. Ooooh, yummy! Love simmering soups when the weather turns colder…nothin’ like that cozy feeling. Love it, Rach!

  28. oh man I wish we were in soup weather over here. I have been dying to make some, but it hit 100 here today. not soup weather!!

  29. Ohhh. I have a recipe I make many times a year but it takes quite some time, making this soup in a crockpot would be so helpful! Love it!

  30. Oooh! I can’t wait to make this and I love that it is in the crock pot. Score!
    P.S. At least you’re not eating out of mixing bowls or pots and pans…before we got married my hubs did that! LOL

  31. Soup the next day is the best I agree, i think the flavours have time to intensify or something! Looks lovely and loving the table spoon! I’m so lazy when it comes to presentation unless I’m photographing food for my blog, its usually eaten out of a saucepan or something!

  32. i really like your food pictures and want to invite you to try out tastingspot.com. it’s for anyone that just wants another place to submit photos and share it will other foodies. It’s still in beta version, but would love for you to start adding some photos and help get it going.

Leave a Reply

