St. Jude Give Thanks. Walk.

Yesterday, Christopher and I joined thousands of others all across the USA who walked to support St. Jude. For those of you who don’t know, St. Jude is a children’s hospital located in Memphis, Tennessee. Part of what makes them so special is found in their mission statement:

St. Jude is the only pediatric cancer research center whereΒ families never pay for treatment not covered by insurance. No child is ever denied treatment because of the family’s inability to pay. – from the St. Jude website.

^ that’s the promo for this year’s walk πŸ™‚

Us just before the walk!

Breakfast on the go!

Turkey Sausage, Egg, and Cheese on an English Muffin!

Ingredients:

1 English Muffins, split and toasted
4 sprays I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter Spray
1 turkey sausage patty, cooked
1 egg
1 slice cheese

Directions:

1. Spritz each half of toasted English muffin with 2 sprays of I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter Spray.

2. Spray microwave safe bowl with nonstick cooking spray. Crack egg into bowl and whisk for 20 seconds until bubbles appear on surface. Microwave 45 seconds or until done.

3. Top toasted English muffin with slice of cheese, egg, turkey sausage and then other half of English muffin. Serve hot!

Recipe by my husband, Christopher V.

Lots of people getting registered and warmed up!

Elvis helped get us warmed up for the walk with a little bit of dancing πŸ™‚

I got to meet Duane and Abby! They are the DJs from KIX 106. I listen to them every morning while I’m at work so it was super cool to meet them. They were seriously so nice. We chatted for a few minutes and actually got to know them some. Abby was pretty teary eyed about all the kids present who were walking to support other kids and she nearly made me cry just talking about it. She has a sweet spirit for sure. πŸ™‚

Flirting with a reindeer just before we took off walking!

Like my shoelaces? They gave these out to all the walkers which was pretty cool because now every time I put on my sneakers, I have a great reminder to pray for all the precious children at St. Jude.

I wish I had pictures of the walk, but sadly my camera went flying out of my pocket during the warm up dance/exercise. It hit the concrete and I got the dreaded “lens error”… yeah, it was pretty sad. But honestly, surrounded by so many other people who were walking in support of specific children they know with cancer… well, a damaged camera just doesn’t come close to comparison. I am grateful we had a chance to be part of this day! πŸ™‚

28 responses to “St. Jude Give Thanks. Walk.

  1. Awesome! St. Jude is such a great organization πŸ™‚

  2. What an amazing cause to walk for! πŸ˜€

    I love your shoe laces! I need to get me some fun shoe laces.

  3. I love the St. Jude organization. And sidenote: I also love Christopher’s sweatshirt. I think I comment on his clothes anytime he rocks an ILLINI anything haha.

  4. Such a great cause! It looks like everyone had a lot of fun. πŸ™‚

  5. Love St. Jude! It is an awesome place. I did lots of fundraising for them in college because they are my sorority’s philantropy. Thanks for supporting them today πŸ™‚

  6. Wow, what an amazing organization!! I love doing walks like that – they make me so happy. The environment and energy just can’t be beat. That one looks like it was so much fun – I love the Elvis!!

  7. I love St. Jude. They are such a wonderful non-profit.

  8. So I’ve been MIA for a very long time but I had to give up blog reading for awhile because of school and interviews :/ But I’m so glad you participated in the walk! A bunch of people from Rhodes did also. I couldn’t because I had an interview-fortunate but unfortunate πŸ™‚ Anyways, one of my roommates had the same issue because she dropped her camera while dancing at a party. My other roommate (who is a genius) fixed it by slightly dropping the camera on the other side. What has happened is the lens isn’t symmetrical so it can’t pop out of the camera! Hope this helps!

  9. Wow, good to hear that there are so nice organizations out there πŸ™‚

  10. What a great event and for all the amazing things St. Judes does!

  11. What a great cause! I definitely want to run or walk to benefit something like that next year! It’s so good to support those who need our help! πŸ™‚

  12. I think that is so wonderful that you participated in the walk. St. Jude is an amazing organization for doing all of the things they do for kids! πŸ™‚

  13. What a wonderful cause! St. Jude’s is a fantastic organization!

  14. So awesome! There is no greater feeling than helping in such a wonderful cause. When I volunteered at the children’s hospital here, I was part of a team that saved the hospital a million dollars in paid workers.

  15. Love the shoelaces Rach, and St. Jude’s sounds like a wonderful hospital to do that. How nice for you two to walk for that cause!

  16. Love the laces! So awesome that you guys participated in this! You two lovebirds you! πŸ™‚

  17. I love St. Jude’s! What a wonderful way to spend time together, and for such a great cause!
    The more I read your blog, the more I am touched by your caring of others – one reason I’m awarding you the “Tell Me about Yourself” award. You can find out more at: http://theresjustonemommy.com/?p=1741

  18. Luv it!! Life it truly such a gift and a blessing. It’s during these moments and sad times that we begin to find gratitude for each day.

  19. My nephew hasn’t had to go to St. Jude (and we certainly hope he won’t), but as someone who knows from the bottom of my heart how wretched pediatric cancer is, thank you for doing this walk.

  20. What a beautiful reason to walk and celebrate the good others are doing!

  21. I love St. Jude and what they do for kids and their families. We’ve been donating to them for years! Glad you got out to support them. You guys are awesome.

    Happy Thanksgiving! Hope you have a great one.

    Lots of yummy love,
    Alex aka Ma What’s For Dinner
    http://www.mawhats4dinner.com

  22. What a great thing! It looks like it was fun as well!!! πŸ™‚

  23. What a wonderful cause! It’s so nice to support organizations like that- especially around the holidays. Just thinking of what those families and poor children go through breaks my heart.

  24. What a wonderful thing for a wonderful cause…no better way to start off THANKSGIVING. St. Jude is my favorite charity.

  25. So awesome of you to do this! I did some work with St. Jude’s for a little when I was doing pediatric cancer education programs and it is one of the most awesome places on earth. AND Danny Thomas and my great grandmother were cousins! For our wedding favors, we used their personalized wedding bookmarks and donated money to them. Such a great organization.

  26. I am so happy this walk exists. In 7th grade, I had a friend diagnosed with cancer who passed away after about 3 months and it has stuck with me ever since. To know that these places out there will treat children with cancer no matter what truly means a lot to me. Happy Thanksgiving.

  27. we had a st jude walk in our neigborhood in conjunction with the YMCA grand opening! we didnt walk but we watched from our front porch πŸ™‚ such a great cause!

  28. Pingback: Catch up time! |

Leave a Reply

