Thanksgiving Fun

How about a quick Thanksgiving recap? Sounds delightful, eh?

Wednesday we went over to Harding’s campus and took photos for our (yes, you guessed it!) Christmas cards, then spent the day with my dad’s family. We went to an area-wide-church service that night and saw several of our friends from college which was so much fun! Always great to catch up with people we haven’t seen in such a long time. My family teased me for knowing everyone, but I mean c’mon, I went to school there for 4 years, all my professors are still in town, lots of our friends stuck around after graduation and I worked there all 4 summers so I know plenty of the local kids who are now local adults. ๐Ÿ™‚ Anyway, it was great fun.

Thursday was full of delicious food and wonderful down time (something we have been severely lacking lately).

Christopher carving the turkey!

The delicious pumpkin parfaits that we made. 1 package sugar free vanilla instant pudding and 1 1/2 cups unsweetened almond milk mixed together. Add in 1/3 cup pumpkin puree plus 1 tsp of pumpkin pie spice for that pumpkiny flavor. Then layer with crushed graham crackers, sugar free cool whip and pecans!

Friday was lots of wonderful black Friday shopping. Definitely got a bit of Christmas shopping done! ๐Ÿ™‚ Then Friday night was Christmas with Christopher’s brother, Michael and his wife, Katy!

Katy is decorating Michael’s head with her wrapping paper. ๐Ÿ˜‰

ย One of many great things about Christopher’s family is that they all own dogs which means Oreo has plenty of friendly fur-cousins to play with! ๐Ÿ™‚

From L to R: Jerzee, Christopher, Loco, me and Oreo. ๐Ÿ™‚ Tara (Christopher’s parents’s dog) was snuggling on the other couch when Christopher’s dad snapped this shot. ๐Ÿ™‚

This was Oreo and Tara at the doggie park over Thanksgiving. Sad that this is the only shot I took while we were there, haha!

Saturday we spent most of the day in the ER and then hospital. Christopher’s cousin has a kidney stone and a kidney infection to boot. She was in pretty bad condition when we took her to the ER that morning (very dehydrated). Anyway, it was sad to see her so unwell, but we ladies had some good bonding time sitting around with her at the ER/hospital. I even told her a story about a unicorn named Fred (or maybe it was Frank, I can’t remember) to keep her mind off the pain. ๐Ÿ™‚ Then that night we hung out with Megan and Brian (our friends who recently announced their pregnancy) which was a great way to end the week!

Sunday we came home and unpacked and cleaned and spent some time hanging out with our teens. Then Monday was back to the grind, haha! It’s amazing how quickly work-days arrive even after a 5 day vacation. ๐Ÿ˜‰

19 responses to “Thanksgiving Fun

  1. The vacation days go by way too fast! I love how Oreo gets to visit and play too. So fun!

  2. Sounds like a wonderful week (except, of course, the cousin’s ER visit…I hope she’s okay!)

  3. Those pumpkin parfaits look super delicious. I’ll have to give that a go sometime!

  4. Love those long weekends!! Sounds like yours was a blast!

  5. What fun! I have to say it’s not surprising that you know tons of people, from reading the blog I imagined you being outgoing and friendly!

  6. How fun! Those parfaits look great…and I like that they are so simple and even healthy too ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Sounds like you had a great Thanksgiving! Those pumpkin parfaits look incredible! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. I would love to try one of those parfaits! All the doggies are adorable ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. I hope Christopher’s cousin starts feeling better soon. Those parfaits look wonderful, and I love your Christmas picture with Oreo!

  10. It sounds like you had a great thanksgiving break, except for the whole trip to the hospital. I hope everything is okay! The pumpkin dessert you had on thanksgiving sounds really good – I love how it’s served in glasses!

  11. YUM! Sounds like a delicious holiday!! Love the pumpkin parfaits!! Can’t wait to see the Christmas card pictures!

  12. It’s lovely how well you all cared for Christopher’s cousin at the hospital! I hope she’ll recover quickly and will be well and happy again soon! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Otherwise, it seems you had the most wonderful holiday! ๐Ÿ˜€

  13. Sounds like a great weekend! I hope your cousin is okay! Those pumpkin parfaits look yummy! ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Sounds like perfection!

  15. Why do long weekends go so fast? I’m glad you had a nice weekend minus the ER trip. The pumpkin parfaits look awesome & delicious!

  16. I love that shot of you, Christopher, and the doggies! I hope that Christopher’s cousin is healing well! You guys are awesome relatives ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. the parfaits looks amazing! so fancy fancy !

  18. I need to take Christmas Card pictures this week, but I’m all out of ideas and I know my little guy won’t pose or sit still for photos either.

    Those pumpkin parfaits look really yummy!

  19. Your little family is so cute! I’m glad you had a good thanksgiving, and I’m totally loving your little unicorn story! I do silly stuff like that too! They’re totally true stories, ya know! ๐Ÿ˜‰ haha

Leave a Reply

