Christmas Dinner with Friends!

Last night we had Christmas dinner with a group of friends. Whitney (remember, the magical one?) was hosting so there was no question it was going to be fabulous! ๐Ÿ™‚ The 12 of us gathered around this feast:

Christmas dinner! The turkey, mashed potatoes, sweet potato casserole, rolls, gravy, and green beans all made by Whitney! And a delicious Caesar salad from Lindsey.

The “ice cream” cake I made thanks to my inspiration from Pinterest. I’ve made it before, but it was back tonight by popular demand. Believe me, this is crazy simple. Box of cake mix, 2 cups ice cream, 3 eggs and 1 cup water. Mix together and bake in bundt pan on 350 for 45 minutes. Topped with icing or cool whip. It is our friend Matthew’s favorite cake of all time. ๐Ÿ™‚

Peanut butter cup pie that I made! I will share the recipe as soon as I get it typed up. ๐Ÿ™‚

Some of us before dinner. Matthew is stylin’ in the suit in the back with Melissa and Carrie while Whitney and I are enjoying our comfy spot on the couch. Not pictured (but also present last night), Tony and Abigail, Lindsey and Ben, Jonathan, Cadence, and Christopher. ๐Ÿ™‚

After we ate, a few of us girls stuck around to work on Pinterest-inspired projects while the boys went to play basketball. We had such a great time! Melissa made a reindeer shirt, I cut out snowflakes, Whitney made an ornament wreath and Carrie worked on a scarf. ๐Ÿ™‚

Mmm… just writing this post is making me hungry again, haha! It was a fabulous night. We are so blessed to be surrounded with such great friends. ๐Ÿ™‚

16 responses to “Christmas Dinner with Friends!

  1. Friends are such a blessing. And yum, that cake!

    I love your posts, Rachel: your cheerfulness and how you really embrace every day. They’re a treat for my “in” box!

  2. Looks like so much fun! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m so grateful for good friends!

    It’s amazing all the wonderful ideas pinterest inspires!

  3. Gotta love pinterest. My co-worker is working on a project right now too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Gorgeous yummy dinner, what a great time and good idea to do with friends. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Ohhhh cake..yes..please…nom..so good.

  5. Aw I love dinner parties!! Have you ever tried to make the ice cream cake sugar free? I know someone who needs sugar free recipes and I would love to make that for them. Otherwise I’ll just make one of your other awesome recipes ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I haven’t tried making it sugar free yet. I wanted to, but I couldn’t find just regular ol’ sugar free chocolate. There were a million different varieties (rocky road, peanut butter cup, etc), but not plain chocolate. So once I find the sugar free chocolate ice cream, you better believe I will make this recipe so I can have it! Pillsbury sells sugar free chocolate cake mix so that’s easy peasy. I might even just try making it with one of the specialty sugar free ice creams. It surely won’t be bad! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. It looks like you had a great time with your friends! ๐Ÿ™‚ That cake looks heavenly! Yum!

  7. Oooo I want a slice of that peanut butter cup pie, reese’s are one of my fave holiday indulgences!!!

  8. We are having a friend’s feast next week as well! Looking forward to enjoying great food like that:)

  9. Peanut butter pie sounds delicious! Can’t wait for the recipe!

  10. I want some of that ice cream cake!!! Oh my gosh that’s such a good idea!

  11. That pie looks amazing! What a good lookin’ group!

  12. Dessert looks SO delicious! I love chocolate cake ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Oh my gosh, you have GOT to share that peanut butter cup pie recipe! ๐Ÿ˜€

  14. Pingback: Peanut Butter Cup Pie |

Leave a Reply

