Chicago!

This past Saturday, Christopher and I spent the day in Chicago with some of our best friends from college!

Us with Ian and Christina in CHICAGO! πŸ™‚

Chicago Sites!

I was so excited to check out HomeGoods! I’ve heard so many good things about them! We found lots of fun stuff in this store including a massive platter that Christopher carried all around Chicago just for me, haha! πŸ™‚ As for the photo on the right bottom corner, that’s me putting my boots back on after buying a pair of socks to layer over my other 2 pairs because my toes were so cold!

Ian and I went “ice skating” πŸ˜‰

I got to meet Allie while we were in town! I was SO excited about this! She is super sweet (especially to put up with me telling like 5 stories about Oreo, haha!). If you don’t know this lady, you should. Seriously. You will love her. πŸ™‚

We had Giordano’s for lunch. Unbelievably good. I am all about this stuffed pizza business. Seriously. I was a little surprised that the crust was so sweet, but it was still so delicious. Really. So. Delicious. πŸ˜€
Giordano's Pizza on Urbanspoon

The BEAN! And us with the Bean and then us making kissy faces by the glass bricks! πŸ˜€ Also, please note the massive platter Christopher is holding. That’s the one that we bought at HomeGoods that I mentioned earlier.

While we were atΒ Millenium park we got to see a proposal! It was so sweet! Christina and I were practically bouncing up and down. πŸ™‚ The song “Hold Me” by Jamie Grace came on over the loud speakers while the ice skating rink was cleared. Then this daring fellow got down on one knee and proposed. She said yes! πŸ˜€

Okay, so I got crazy excited about finding something I could drink at Starbucks! Christopher laughed at my cup because it was so marked up, but I certainly enjoyed my decaf sugar free mocha with soy milk. πŸ˜‰

Oh, and the Maggiano’s mints… Ian took a HUGE handful of them when we walked out of the restaurant so Christina and Christopher ate those like nobody’s business over the weekend. I’ll update about Maggiano’s in my next post. πŸ™‚

The blue/silver platter is the one that we found for $7 at HomeGoods (originally $30). I found it rummaging through their clearance and Christopher really liked it (obviously enough to carry it all around downtown Chicago with us, haha!) so we bought it! πŸ™‚

And of course a Christmas ornament for our tree. πŸ™‚

Jumping shot in Chicago! πŸ˜€

I am already excited about going back to visit again! πŸ™‚

31 responses to “Chicago!

  1. Yay! I live in Chicago (well, the ‘burbs) and it’s so much fun to hear about people visiting. Did you go to the Christkindlmarket? I think I see it in the background of one of your pictures. I was there yesterday, eating bratwurst and drinking spiced wine out of a boot-shaped mug πŸ™‚

  2. There is so much I love about this post!! Maggianos is one of my favorite places in Chicago. Such great food. I wish I knew you were coming here–I would have totally hit you up for some sightseeing or something! I always miss the bloggers when they’re in Chicago 😦

    • Girl! I had no idea you lived in Chicago! Or if I knew at some point, I totally forgot. It makes me so sad that I missed out on meeting you! But I will definitely be back so I’ll let you know when I am coming next time so we can get together! πŸ™‚

  3. Chicago is such a fun city! Your pictures look like you had a great time!

  4. what a blast! I love looking at all of your photos, so much fun!! I’ve always wanted to visit Chicago, I have a friend there I am hoping to visit someday soon….I’ll have to remember Maggiano’s!

  5. I LOVE MAGGIANOS!!!!!! IT’S SOOOOO GOOD!!! πŸ™‚ glad you had a fun time. I am jealous, I’ve always wanted to go to Chicago!!!

  6. I LOVE going to Chicago ~ Terry and I try to go once or twice a year, although this year we didn’t make it down at all 😦 Sounds like you guys had a wonderful time!

  7. Looks like you guys had a blast despite the *very* cold weather! πŸ˜€ The food looks SOOOOO good!

  8. Ooh looks fun, love how wrapped up you all are! That proposal is so sweet, I love ice skating!

  9. Chicago is such a great city…I love it, too. Love the pics!

    And that was your first trip to HomeGoods!?! I WISH I lived far away from it…gets a few bucks from me at least every week {it’s next door to our supermarket and I can’t resist the temptation}.

  10. I’ve always wanted to go to Chicago!! I just lived vicariously through all your pictures. it’s something I definitely want to do someday. I absolutely LOVE homegoods. Sometimes I just go when I’m bored and wander around and try not to buy the whole store!!

  11. Chicago looks like such a great city! It’s definitely on my places to visit. Looks like you had a wonderful time πŸ™‚

  12. How fun! Chicago is such a cool city. I LOVE Giordanos! SOOO much cheese, it’s heaven πŸ™‚

  13. OMG love your pics!!! COME BACK!!

  14. Awh! It’s just like I remember it, cold and beautiful! Great pics! I am so happy you guys had fun and had some awesome food. πŸ™‚

    I gave you a blog award the other day. I don’t usually participate so I flubbed on all the things I had to do – like notify the awardee. Oops.
    http://youthinkyoucanblog.wordpress.com/2011/12/07/ceremony-treasure/

  15. looks like you had so much fun! the bean is so cool πŸ™‚

  16. The Coffee Crazed Teacher

    It looks like you had a ton of fun in Chi-town! Jealous you got to be there, I cannot wait to go one day!

  17. Looks like fun. How did you get to Chicago for a day? Sounds like a far drive, but looks worth it!

  18. Glad you had such a nice trip!!! That deep dish pizza looks LEGIT. I may need to go to Chicago just for that πŸ˜‰

  19. Those masks are sweet! And that pizza looks amazing. If I ever make it to Chicago (which I would love to) I need to try some real deep dish!

  20. You guys are getting so good at those jump shots! And omgsh I just had some amazing pizza today too! But I bet Chicago’s is better. And I love Allie even though I haven’t met her!! When I saw her pic, I thought she looked so familiar! haha.

  21. I love Chicago! My BFF lives there and I’ll be heading that way for NYE! I love all your photos! Looks like you had a great time.

  22. The jumping shot is good enough for High School Musical!

  23. Looks like you had a GREAT time in Chicago!! So sad that we couldn’t meet up. We will one day though I hope! πŸ™‚

  24. Pingback: A little more Illinois |

  25. I love, love, love Homegoods!! πŸ™‚

  26. You sure had a nice time! It looks freezing! Im sure I will not survive that! Haha..

    And what a beautiful proposal!

  27. Pingback: Wiseguys Chicago Style Pizza (or is it?) |

Leave a Reply

