Christopher’s Birthday!

Christopher turned 26 this past Friday! So we played both took the day off work and had a fabulous day. Highlights:

Why yes, yes he did get a Batman “pocket knife” from me. He was so excited. But not near as excited as he was about the leather tool belt I got him. What can I say? I married a very handy man, haha!

3 layer German Chocolate Birthday Cake on the “You are Special” place! ๐Ÿ˜€

Lunch was at Texas de Brazil. It is more or less an all-you-can-eat meat buffet where they bring each freshly grilled meat right to your table.ย ย They also have an incredible salad bar area. The whole thing is amazing. Expensive, but totally worth it for a special occasion. ๐Ÿ™‚

After lunch we went to the ย most retro movie theatre I’ve ever been to. We saw Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows. It was hilarious. I mean, it was good overall, but parts of it had us literally laughing out loud. If you’ve seen it then you know what I’m talking about when I say that the whole “pony”ย montageย had us rolling with laughter. And then later when we references the horrible dream about a “satanic pony”… oh gracious, we laughed so hard. ๐Ÿ™‚

After the movie we headed home so we could toss together some loaded potato salad (cooked potatoes + bacon + ranch packet + sour cream + cheese = delish!) and deviled eggs for a Christmas party with our friends.

Christmas party! ๐Ÿ™‚

Christopher and Matthew at the Christmas party. Matthew gave Christopher a hatchet for his birthday so they are showing me how one uses a hatchet here…

Showing off Melissa’s Christmas socks!

All in all it was such a great day. I am so grateful to have this man in my life! It’s crazy to think that we’ve been together since he was 18… time sure does fly when you’re having fun. ๐Ÿ™‚

27 responses to “Christopher’s Birthday!

  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Gah Texas de Brazil is so different from any other restaurant! Unfortunately for me, I don’t eat red meat so whenever I go with friends it’s not really worth it. Still love the ambiance though!

  2. So glad you guys had such a great time celebrating! That German chocolate cake looks legit, I can’t even remember the last time I had that stuff but I do remember that it sure was good! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I saw that movie with my boyfriend, his sister, his couisins, and his sister-in-law’s brother. Yes, I loved that movie so much, and thought it was funnier than the first, and had as much action as the first. I like both, but this was more funny ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. A very happy birthday to Christopher! I’m off to visit the fridge…this post has made me so hungry!

  5. Na na na na na na na na BATMAN! That’s such a funny gift!! I didn’t even know they made batman pocket knives!! Just don’t bring it with you on a plane… don’t wanna lose that!
    Looks like it was a fun birthday weekend! I’ve never tried german chocolate cake. That picture makes me want it!!

  6. HAPPY BIRTHDAY CHRISTOPHER!!! awww what a coooool gift Rach!! I know that Greg would LOVE the batman pocket knife too, he collects those things! And then….twirls them around and makes me nervous…lol. You guys are havin’ such a great time โค

  7. Wow, the cake looks amazing! Looks like you guys had a great time….you even had a santa at your Christmas party! That’s pretty wild!

  8. Those potatoes sound amazing! I’ve made ranch potatoes and I’ve made cheddar bacon potatoes but never together!

  9. Happy Birthday to Christopher! Getting to spend the whole day with your loved ones is the best gift ever.

    That place you guys went for lunch sounds like something my boyfriend would love!

  10. Happy belated birthday to Christopher! I am sooo excited to get around to seeing Sherlock Holmes! I absolutely loved the first one and am pumped to see the second!

  11. Happy birthday to your sweet hubby. All the happiness in the world for you guys:)

  12. Happy Birthday to your hubby! ๐Ÿ™‚ It looks like you had such a great birthday celebration/weekend! That 3 layer birthday cake looks heavenly!

  13. Happy birthday to your dear husband! What a fabulous cake!

  14. Happy birthday to him! I love Texas de Brazil! It’s like a party in your mouth!

  15. Wow, I love the Pirates shirt and the Batman pocket knife! You’re so sweet Rach. Sounds like he had a great birthday! ๐Ÿ˜€

    -Tia

  16. Yum that cake looks delicious! Happy birthday to your hubby!

  17. Happy Birthday to Christopher! Haha, my brother has the same knife and absolutely adores it. It looks like you all had a lot of fun!

  18. Ahhh it looks like you had so much fun!!! Congrats to him ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m 18; I can only imagine what it would be like to stay with the same person for so long! It must be wonderful. โค

  19. Oh my gosh- my boyfriend would think that pocket knife is SO cool. I’m definitely going to try to find one of those!

  20. This is so wonderful, Rachel! What a sweet wife you are!! Merry Christmas and Happy Birthday!!

  21. That knife..is by far…the COOLEST thing I have EVER seen!!! I must get one of those.!! AND that cake is droolworthy. Job well done!

  22. Oh! Happy birthday, Christopher. My hubs bday is the 18th. Looks like you had a great time!

    Happy holidays!

    Lots of yummy love,
    Alex aka Ma What’s for Dinner
    http://www.mawhats4dinner.com

  23. Happy Birthday to Christopher ~ looks like a fantastic day! It was Terry’s birthday today, and I had the same thought, I can’t believe that this 27 year old man is the 16 year old boy I started dating ๐Ÿ˜‰

  24. The cake looks SO YUMMY! I got a handy man with me too and he’s been giving me a hint he wanted a swiss knife =p But Im giving him a telescope. He told me how much he wanted it a few months back…

    Happy Birthday to Christopher!

  25. OMG. a batman pocket knife???
    that might be the most awesome thing i have ever seen.

  26. Pingback: Favorite Christmas Traditions |

  27. I made it in the blog!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

