Perhaps the World’s Best Lasagna

There is a recipe on AllRecipes.com that I saw several years ago for the “World’s Best Lasagna.” For some reason I just never got around to making it. Until Christmas, that is. You see, my husband’s family is Italian. So in honor of that (and because we really love Italian food), we try to always have an Italian meal at Christmas time. Sadly we have none of his family recipes (long story), so instead we find our own favorites! πŸ™‚ This lasagna recipe certainly does not disappoint especially with a few minor adaptions. πŸ™‚

Homemade Lasagna

Ingredients:

1 lb sweet Italian sausage
1lb lean ground beef
1/2 cup onion, minced
2 cloves garlic, crushed
1 (28 oz) can crushed tomatoes
2 (6 oz) cans tomato paste
2 (6.5 oz) cans tomato sauce
1/2 cup water
1 tsp white sugar
1 1/2 tsp dried basil
1/2 tsp fennel seeds
1 tsp Italian seasoning
1 tsp salt
1/4 tsp ground black pepper
4 tbsp fresh parsley, chopped
12 oven-ready lasagna noodles
16 oz ricotta cheese
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1 egg
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 lb mozzarella cheese, shredded
3/4 cup fresh Parmesan cheese, grated

Directions:

1.Β In a Dutch oven, cook sausage, ground beef, onion, and garlic over medium heat until well browned. Stir in crushed tomatoes, tomato paste, tomato sauce, and water. Season with sugar, basil, fennel seeds, Italian seasoning, 1 tsp salt, pepper, and 2 tsbp parsley. Simmer, covered, for about 1 1/2 hours, stirring occasionally.

2. In a mixing bowl, combine ricotta cheese with nutmeg, egg, remaining parsley, and 1/2 tsp salt.

3. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).

4. To assemble, spread 1 1/2 cups of meat sauce in the bottom of a 9×13 inch baking dish. Arrange 6 noodles lengthwise over meat sauce. Spread with one half of the ricotta cheese mixture. Top with a third of mozzarella cheese. Spoon 1 1/2 cups meat sauce over mozzarella, and sprinkle with 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese. Repeat layers, and top with remaining mozzarella and Parmesan cheese. Cover with foil: to prevent sticking, either spray foil with cooking spray, or make sure the foil does not touch the cheese.

5. Bake in preheated oven for 25 minutes. Remove foil, and bake an additional 25 minutes. Cool for 15 minutes before serving.

I know all of those ingredients can look overwhelming, but it’s really not near as difficult as it may seem at first glance. And believe me, it is so worth it! Happy cooking!

33 responses to “Perhaps the World’s Best Lasagna

  1. WHAT a coincidence! I just made lasagna for my mom the other night! πŸ™‚ I will be posting about that tomorrow πŸ™‚

  2. Looks and sounds very delicious! There’s nothing quite like homemade lasagna! If you think you might want to try another variation, I’ve been making Paula Deen’s Meaty Lasagna for my husband for years…we LOVE it. yum.

  3. Thank you so much for this! That is so thoughtful of you to take the time to post!

  4. I love a good lasagna! The perfect festive meal for any occasion !

  5. Some interesting ingredients….I’ve never tried putting sugar or nutmeg into my lasagna! It looks amazing….I ALMSOT licked my computer screen.

  6. It sounds delicious!! I haven’t had a really good lasagna in a long time. I love that there are fennel seeds in it!! I always add that to my pasta sauce because it has such a good flavor!

  7. I love lasagne! Yum, I’m hungry now!

  8. Oh gosh do I love lasagna…. I am going to share this recipe with my grandparents, I know they would enjoy it!

  9. That is some pretty lasagna!! I tried to make lasagna roll ups that were a total fail the other day, my boyfriend was upset because he was really looking forward to it! Maybe i’ll give this a shot.

  10. This looks super-yummy, Rach. Definitely going to try it!

  11. This isn’t vegetarian, so I wouldn’t actually eat it but I’ve been looking for a solid lasagna recipe to make for friends!!! I’ll have to bookmark this one πŸ™‚

  12. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Haha I’ve seen that recipe on Allrecipes and have always thought to myself “Is it really THE BEST?!”. I’m glad to see that the rumors are true πŸ˜‰

    And you lucky lucky lady! Italian food is the greatest πŸ˜€

  13. I am totally going to try this…I think my family will love it!

  14. gosh this really looks incredible – it sounds like you had such a wonderful celebration with family!!! And I’m so proud of you guys for accomplishing so much financially and really staying disciplined with that. It took my husband 14 years to get debt free and now that we are, I can’t tell you what freedom it is…..it’s wonderful. Our life has been so simplified, the best thing we ever did. Soooo many people are struggling with debt in today’s day, and it is such a burden. Prayers that more people will be will to make the necessary changes in their lifestyles, and commit to becoming debt free and experience the joy and freedom that comes with it!!!!! Happy New Year Sweet Bella!

  15. Who doesn’t love lasagna?

  16. This looks delicious! I love lasagna and think my mom makes it the best! πŸ™‚ She makes it every year on Christmas Day. Now I have to wait another year to eat it! lol

  17. Oh yum! Homemade lasagna is the best! I bet it tastes delicious! πŸ™‚

  18. I absolutely love lasagna. It’s one of the few things that I think is exponentially better with meat. My husband is half Italian, and his dad’s side of the family always has the best Italian feasts.

  19. That looks and sounds really good! I love italian food, and I agree with Christine about it being exponentially better with meat (lasagna that is)

  20. The recipe looks delish! I love me some lasagna πŸ™‚

  21. there isn’t much better than a pan of homemade lasagna IMO, this looks fabulous!

  22. you totally put my canned tomatoe soup to shame…SHAME. there i said it! πŸ˜‰

  23. Oh my goodness this Lasagna looks amazing. Since it looks so delicious I bet it doesn’t last long at all!!

  24. Oh my gah! LOVE ITALIAN! This has so much more ingredients than the one my mom showed me how to make. Love that it has Italian sausage. πŸ™‚

  25. I love italian. I haven’t had Lasagne in a long, long time!!

  26. My in-laws do an Italian Christmas dinner every year. Complete with antipasto, tortellini soup, chicken parmesan, and crostui.

  27. wow. I believe you when you say that this is possibly the best lasagna! Looks amazing~And sugar is a unique addition! (at least to my knowledge) πŸ™‚

  28. I love when you celebrate family traditions for Christmas. Especially when they’re so nice for everybody. πŸ™‚

  29. WOW! That looks so yummy. It’s almost 9 a.m. here in Toronto and I’m craving lasagna. Thanks for sharing this recipe Rach.

  30. Pingback: Christmas Day Recap! |

  31. Pingback: 13 of the Best Freezer Meals |

  32. drooling* omg this is really great! im so gonna try this with my friends!

Leave a Reply

