Apparently I like doughnuts…

If you like Southern cooking and that homestyle feeling then you need to know about Christy’s blog, Southern Plate. I love her recipes. They remind me of the stuff my mom cooked when I was growing up… real food. Delicious food. And sometimes… fried food.Β Christopher and I live by the principle that we eat generally healthy at home so we can eat whatever we want when we go out. This means that in the 3.5 years we’ve been married, we’ve only fried something in our kitchen once… until this weekend.

You see, Christy has this recipe on her blog for the most simple doughnuts ever. Seriously. She calls them “Melt In Your Mouth Doughnuts“. When I realized how incredibly simple they were, I just had to make them. Especially when I realized that I could make them sugar free by using Splenda instead of sugar! πŸ˜€

Christy’s Melt in your Mouth Doughnuts

Ingredients:

1 ten count can home-style biscuits (or your preference, just not flaky layers)
1/2 cup sugar (or Splenda!)
1 1/2 tbsp cinnamon
1 stick margarine, melted
vegetable oil for frying

Instructions

1. Pour oil into skillet to the depth of a little less than 1/2 an inch and heat on medium to medium high for about five minutes. In a bowl, melt margarine. In a separate bowl, combine cinnamon and sugar (or Splenda).

2. Using a plastic bottle cap, cut the center out of each biscuit. Drop dough into hot oil, watching carefully and turning when golden. Once doughnuts are golden on both sides, remove to paper towel lined plate. Repeat until all dough is cooked, including doughnut holes.

3. Dip both sides of each doughnut into melted margarine, then press both sides into cinnamon sugar/Splenda mixture. Serve warm.

Β —

I haven’t had a doughnut in over 6 years. I had forgotten just how much I love them. I seriously ate 3 and at least 6 doughnut holes, haha! They were so good that Christopher asked if we could make them again the next day. πŸ˜‰ Plus they are crazy fast the make. The longest part of it is waiting on the oil to heat up, because after that the oil cooks the dough super fast! If you aren’t opposed to frying food at home – I vote you try this. And even if you are normally not a big fry-foods-at-home-kinda-person… I still vote you try it. Believe me, they are delicious. Christy is a genius! Also, she has step-by-step instructions on this process on her blog, so check it out! πŸ™‚

In other news… today is my brother’s 30th birthday! However, as he said on Facebook:

Happy birthday, bubba. Love you always.

 

42 responses to “Apparently I like doughnuts…

  1. Wow. And Wow. Those doughnuts look gorgeous. I’m thinking they need to be made here on Sunday, because I, unfortunately, am not opposed to frying food. If it’s worth it, of course! YuM!!!!

    Happy Birthday to your bro, a fellow Cap!

  2. Happy Birthday to your brother! You’ve made me hungry for doughnuts now!!

  3. Homemade doughnuts! They look amazing; I have never made doughnuts before in my LIFE. My mind is blown πŸ™‚ Happy Birthday to your bro!

  4. Ugh. I’m drooling already! And I agree, your brother doesn’t look 30 at all! Lucky guy!

  5. ok girl, I’m totally in….I will make these!!! I can’t believe how easy the recipe is – I’m pumped!! I haven’t had doughnuts in foreverrrrr, will let you know when I make them πŸ™‚

  6. Yum, Yum on the doughnuts!!! and thank you so much girl, for your sweet comment as always..

  7. Holy cow must try ASAP I KNOW I love donuts especially homemade right outta the oil, my husband’s grandma makes them!

  8. OMG–those look fantastic!!! And happy birthday to your brother πŸ˜€

  9. oh dear god those doughnuts… sugar doughnuts used to be my favorite when I was younger… like I could put away half a dozen. Might need to recreate these in the future and actually indulge in them once again πŸ™‚

  10. Wow, those look amazing! I’m so trying them! Thanks for the recipe, Rach. πŸ˜€

    -Tia

  11. 1. Yum!!!
    2. Happy birthday to Matt!

  12. We started making these years ago and you are so right they are absolutely delicious!!

  13. “I haven’t had a doughnut in over 6 years. “

    There’s no way I could go that long without a doughnut, and when finding one that’s really good—ooh! A good doughnut tastes just like heaven.

    Those doughnuts look really good. I need to make them sometime. And happy birthday to your brother!

  14. Happy birthday to your brother!

    These doughnuts look amazing…and oh, so easy! YUM!

  15. I love doughnuts too! I hardly ever have them (i’ve never made them and am too lazy to stop for one) but when I do I can’t get enough! Happy Birthday to your brother too!

  16. My man friend would LOVE this. And it’s simple enough that I could probably make it without messing it up πŸ˜‰ YAY! Doughnuts are in my near future!

  17. Aw, happy birthday to your brother! I must admit I’ve never liked doughnuts much, but these definitely look pretty!

  18. Oh my goodness, what a brilliant idea!! I LOVE shortcut recipes like this! Your doughnuts look absolutely delicious–I would have gobbled up three (or more) too! Now I just need to find a gluten-free biscuit…hmm. But if I can’t, I’m sure my housemates would love me forever if I made a batch and left them out on the kitchen counter. Thanks for sharing the recipe, Rach! ❀

  19. I like doughnuts too!
    Happy birthday to your brother πŸ™‚

  20. I love doughnuts too πŸ˜‰

  21. Oh my – those doughnuts look AMAZING!

    Annie
    The Other Side of Gray

  22. Those doughnuts look just like my Memere’s and bring back so many memories!! πŸ™‚ There’s nothing like homemade doughnuts, let me tell you!

  23. A very happy birthday to your brother! Those doughnuts do look pretty darn delicious. Christy does have a pretty great blog. I’ve stopped by there a few times before and never been disappointed.

  24. I used to fry all the time, but when Ben lost 60 lbs, that went out the window!

  25. Ohh donut! These look amazing. Happy birthday to brother!

  26. Happy Birthday to your brother!! πŸ™‚
    Those donuts look amazing! I’m made donuts once over a year ago, so maybe I need to make them again!

    On a side note, just wanted to tell you to try and avoid splenda. It’s said to be not be good for you and that there are no long-term studies of the side effects of Splenda in humans. Just looking out for you girl πŸ˜‰

    • Oh girl, I know… it’s awful. I really do avoid Splenda as much as I can, but since I can’t have sugar there are times when Splenda is my only granulated option. =\ But at least I have it much less than I used to! Progress, right? πŸ˜‰

  27. Homemade doughnuts are dangerous…but oh soooo yummy! Happy birthday to your brother! πŸ™‚

  28. I’d die for one of those doughnuts right now! YUM!!

  29. You made some perfect looking doughnuts!!! YUM! Happy birthday to your bro bro! πŸ™‚

  30. Oh my my my….those doughnuts look delish. And really fried carbs rolled in sweet goodness aren’t THAT bad, right? I think not.

    New follower of your blog. πŸ™‚

  31. Those doughnuts look so awesome! They look better than the pre packaged ones in the store if you ask me! πŸ™‚

  32. I haven’t had a doughnut in forever either! Just don’t really crave them usually but your homemade version sounds extremely tempting & delicious! Happy bday to your bro too, I’m hitting the 3-0 mark in just 7 days (ahhhh howwww?!?!? haha) πŸ˜‰

  33. Happy bday to your bro!

    The doughnuts look amazing! and so simple…i need to make them!

  34. YUM!! Those look SO SO amazing!!!! We have only fried doughnuts together twice!!

  35. My mouth is literally watering just looking at the picture of those doughnuts! I’m generally not a big doughnut lover but I just may have to try this recipe out…. πŸ™‚

  36. I love doughnuts and it’s my goal to make them one day! I’ve ordered a baking tray for them so I can try baking them instead of deep-frying πŸ™‚

  37. I love doughnuts. Of course, I rarely eat. But I love them nonetheless. LOL Hope your brother had a great birthday.

  38. My kids love these, we make them every once in a while. So yummy.

    Happy Birthday to your brother!

  39. Hey Rach, I just made those doughnuts, and, they are fantastic!! I couldn’t believe how easy and yummy they were. I’m still amazed that they didn’t taste like biscuits. wow. thanks so much for the recipe!! I’m thinking that I might just post this recipe on my blog if you don’t mind….of course. I’ll link it to yours. πŸ˜‰

    -Tia

Leave a Reply

