Happy New Year!

Today is the Chinese New Year! Well, technically… for those in China it was yesterday because of the time difference, but we didn’t have time to celebrate yesterday so today it was! ๐Ÿ™‚ Just in case anyone doesn’t know,ย I lived in Chinaย when I was a teen. And know you know. ๐Ÿ™‚

ย We went to one of our favorite foreign foods stores, “The Winchester Farmer’s Market” and got lotsa good stuff!

They have such a HUGE selection of fruits and veggies (many we’ve never heard of!). This is only part of the fresh produce section – it wraps around the other side of the store too. Absolutely love it!

This sign cracks us up every time we see it. I posted a picture of it the first time we went to The Farmer’s Market as well. We still haven’t figured out what this sign is referring to since there aren’t any pots or pans on this aisle!

The goods! We got a little over excited in the produce section where we kept finding things we’ve never had (Pumalo & Tangelos!). Plus aย pomegranate which is something I haven’t had since college!

I was the MOST excited to find black vinegar & xiao bai cai (“little cabbage”) so I could make chao fen (the noodle dish in the center). Oh my gracious it was delicious! This was one of my favorites from when we lived in China.

Another favorite of mine! I was super excited to find it in frozen form so I didn’t have to spend hours making it from scratch. Funny story about “man tou” (steamed bread): When I was a teen, I was telling one of my Chinese friends just how much I loved this bread and going on and on about it when my friend suddenly burst into laughter. She explained to me that I had accidentally said that I loved “ma tong” (the toilet) instead of “man tou” (steamed bread)… ah, gotta love moments like that.

Jiao zi (dumplings) & stirfry! Plus, some “luscious” soy sauce that we found at the Farmers Market today. The name cracked us up so we just couldn’t pass up on it, haha!

It was a GREAT new year! Reminds me a very special Chinese New Year nearly 4 years ago when my best friend proposed to me. But that new year happened to fall onย Februaryย 7th so I talk more about that in a few weeks. ๐Ÿ™‚ I will leave you with my favorite Chinese New Year song!

Xin nian hao ya (happy new year)
Xin nian hao ya (happy new year)
Zhu he da ja xin nian hao! (happy new year to you all!)
Wo men chang ge (we are singing)
Wo men tiao wu (we are dancing)
Zhu he da jia xin nian hao! (happy new year to you all!)

34 responses to “Happy New Year!

  1. One of my best friends is Chinese so today I got a few Chinese treats for the new year! I love all the pictures you’ve taken, makes me hungry! Xin nian hao ya!

  2. That’s so cool that you lived in China! All the food looks delicious!! ๐Ÿ˜›

    -Tia

  3. I loved reading that back post about your China experience. Living overseas is such a life-changing experience!! I spent the last 3 years teaching in the Dominican Republic, and that definitely changed me forever. I’d love to give my kids that kind of experience. Happy Chinese New Year!!!

  4. I love Chinese food, especially the stir fried vegetables and ducks.
    Happy Chinese New Year, I hope you more prosperous in this Dragon year ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. You are brave! Those foods look crazy…
    Happy Chinese New Year!

  6. So glad you got to celebrate it back in the States! My mother-in-law lives near Philadelphia, and she told me she attended the parade they have in Chinatown for the New Year. I was excited to celebrate my first Chinese New Year yesterday in Hong Kong–blog post soon to come! ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. Happy belated new year! It sounds as though you had a great day, and I am happy that you still were able to celebrate even though you are no longer in China! What a great experience that must have been for you!

  8. I love markets like this that have items from other countries! YUM!

  9. What a fun store and celebration! That noodle dish looks so yummy and pretty in the glass. Wow has it almost been a year(another year I guess)?!

  10. HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!! It looks so yummy.

  11. Great minds think alike. ๐Ÿ™‚ I posted about the Chinese New Year today too. I lived in Shenzhen for a year right out of college. Your homemade Chinese food looks delicious. Xin nian hao ya!

  12. oh Man Tou is soo amazingly scrumptious!! And that sign is hilarious!! I just love how foreign places have English words that don’t always make sense to me~:P

  13. What year is it supposed to be? Is it Dragon?
    Happy New Years to you! ๐Ÿ™‚ I love (vegan) Chinese food, and Soy Sauce is SOOOOOO GOOOOOOD! And Tangelos are divine! You’ll love ’em! They’re very sweet!

  14. I love discovering new foods at the market and food shops. I get so inspired.

  15. Mmm the food looks really interesting and delicious!
    Happy new Chinese year Rach! ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. How fun! The food looks so good! I would happily eat a toilet ๐Ÿ˜‰

  17. caloricandcrazy

    mmm, I love dumplings! ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. Love this post! I’ve been so into making Asian food at home lately and can’t get enough of the Asian supermarket. I’ve never heard of black vinegar but now am definitely going to pick it up on my next visit. I also spotted that steamed bread on my last trip there but had no clue what it was — now I do! This post is most definitely bookmarked, thanks girl ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. Happy New Year! This post made me hungry for chinese food! Yum! and happy (almost) anniversary!

  20. Oh, you celebrated so well and so perfectly! Love black vinegar ๐Ÿ™‚

  21. That is so awesome that you lived in China! I love Asian food! I think everything you made looks great ๐Ÿ™‚

  22. I didn’t know you lived in China! How cool!

  23. I love steamed buns too! Now I definitely need to find out where I can get them…. Happy New Year ๐Ÿ˜‰

  24. Thanks for sharing!
    The food you made looks amazing! I love dumplings!
    There is a word in Spanish that if said wrong is dirty. I try to make sure I really pronounce that one correctly to patients! ๐Ÿ™‚

  25. Okay, that pot sign cracks me up!
    Haven’t been to a farmer’s market in years and years…

  26. Happy Chinese New Year! Over here in my university they’re celebrating it next Monday, so I’ll definitely see if I can drop by! All the food you got looks delicious- I love it all!

  27. What a fun market! I love places like that.

  28. How fun! Looks like quite the adventure! ๐Ÿ™‚

  29. Pingback: A Little Cajun Inspiration for your Mardi Gras |

  30. Pingback: Chinese New Year! |

Leave a Reply

