For Such a Time as This

Remember that conference I spoke at last year? If not, you can read about my thoughts on speaking here, how the conference went here, and see a few photos here. Well, this year I got to go as a chaperone instead of as a speaker which is much more my style, haha! That meant I got to hang out with my girls all day which I absolutely loved!

The girls from our youth group that came to the conference! I love these smiling faces!!

And here are my girls! These are the ones that come over every Thursday for dinner and study night. I love them! πŸ™‚

Kayci was our speaker and she is one of the most gift speakers I’ve heard. This was the 4th time I’ve heard her speak at a conference or retreat and every time she blows me away. She retold the story of Esther by using massive cardboard cut outs of Elizabeth Swan (Esther), Jack Sparrow (Haman), John Wayne (Mordecai) and Thor (Xerxes).

The theme of the day was “For such a time as this” based on the moment when Mordecai suggested to Esther that she might have been brought to a position of royalty “for such a time as this” to save the Jews. I absolutely loved when Kayci spoke on how God brings us to certain things at just the right time and how you never know but that you might be in the place are you “for such a time as this.” πŸ™‚

There was a candy bar, delicious lunch, classes, crafts, quiet reflection time, journaling time, times of worship, and lots and lots of laughter. πŸ™‚

Β This is a clip from one of the times of worship. There is something so amazing about 500 girls joining together in praising God… loved every moment. πŸ™‚

And on a much lighter note… this a clip of my girls and I attempting to do a “hair flip.” This was supposed to be a photo but all 453 times we attempted it, we failed to get all of us flipping our hair at the same time, haha! So they took a video… but then somehow our hair still got cut off. But it makes me laugh so I’m sharing it with you guys anyway. πŸ™‚

It was a wonderful day! I absolutely love spending time with my girls. πŸ™‚

28 responses to “For Such a Time as This

  1. It looks like it was a great time in a wonderful setting! I’m impressed with the hair flips – that’s dedication. πŸ™‚

  2. What a wonderful event! I love the use of those life-size cut outs! Too funny!

  3. Looks like it was a great event! I’ve never been great at public speaking!

  4. I can feel the love in this post! What an awesome, AWESOME event!

  5. we had conferences like this at my church when i was in high school and i LOVED them. such a great time of learning and friendship!

  6. I love attending conferences. I feel that I grow closer to the Lord everytime! πŸ™‚

  7. Aw, looks like such a lovely day. I’m glad you had fun!!!

  8. Looks like a great event. So much fun πŸ˜€

  9. You’re such an inspiration!

  10. I tagged you on my blog today!

  11. You are amazing! I seriously wish that I had someone like you when I was the age of those girls. You once again have proven to me how incredible of a person you are and how much you truly care about those around you. And judging by your last post, God recognizes it, too! How blessed you are and those who have the privilege of being in your life!

  12. That’s a beautiful theme and so apt! You look like you had such a blast…camps and conferences like these are some of the best years of my life! πŸ˜€

  13. Oh that looks like so much fun! You are such a good influence on those girls!!! Great work darlin’!

  14. Your amazing…Truly leaving a mark on this world!!! πŸ™‚

  15. What a great idea to use life-size cutouts of pop culture icons to retell a story and make it relatable! Looks like a great event, not least because of that amazing hair flipping!

  16. Oh this looks like so much fun and all of the girls look like they are having such a great time!

  17. they truly are smiling with JOY! What a blessing you are to them

  18. Haha awww it sounds like you guys had a fun time!!! πŸ™‚ Your girls look like they had a blast!

  19. What a fun conference! I love the cutouts idea!

  20. That is GREAT! I can’t believe that has been a year ago already. WOW! The hair flip cracked me up! But you guys did it so well. πŸ™‚

  21. sigh…this sounds like a wonderful time of retreat!!!! Oh I miss my girls that I used to mentor from youth group who have now grown and gone to colleges far away!!! You may never realize the impact you have on their lives….GOD IS USING YOU in a MIGHTY WAY….never forget that! And nothing rings truer in my heart than the theme of this message “for such a time as this” ~ God truly is working on our behalf behind the scenes in ways we don’t even know about!

  22. That looks like a lot of fun!
    It’s nice that you got to enjoy it..speaking can be so scary!! I have gotten better over the years, but always get so nervous.

  23. So great….it looks like everyone is having so much fun. You rock!

  24. aww this was so sweet! haha, love the hair flip. It’s awesome to see young ladies love the Lord so much…really touches mah heart! ❀

  25. This sounds so wonderful! I’m glad you had fun.

  26. Pingback: Girls’ Conference! |

Leave a Reply

