Skinny Taste’s Meatloaf Cupcakes with Mashed Potato Frosting

I love Pinterest. I know that you guys are well aware of this, but it’s just so true. Today, I have yet another recipe that I discovered on Pinterest to share with you. It comes from Skinny Taste and the original recipe can be found here. Ps. her pictures are way cuter than mine so go off of hers. I had to take my picture in poor lighting conditions hence the not-so-gorgeous photo. But trust me, if you like mashed potatoes and you like meatloaf… you will love this! 🙂

Meatloaf Cupcakes with Mashed Potato Frosting

Ingredients:

For Meat Loaves:
1lb 93% lean ground turkey
1 cup grated zucchini, all moisture squeezed out with a paper towel
2 tbsp onion, minced
1/2 cup seasoned breadcrumbs
1/4 cup ketchup
1 egg
1 tsp salt

For Mashed Potatoes:
1 lb (about 2 medium) Yukon gold potatoes, peeled and cubed
2 garlic cloves, peeled and halved
2 tbsp sour cream
2 tbsp chicken broth
1 tbsp milk
1/2 tbsp butter
salt and pepper to taste
2 tbsp fresh thyme

Directions:

1.  Put the potatoes and garlic in a large pot with salt and enough water to cover; bring to a boil. Cover and reduce heat; simmer for 20 minutes or until potatoes are tender. Drain and return potatoes and garlic to pan. Add sour cream and remaining ingredients. Using a masher or blender, mash until smooth. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

2. Meanwhile, preheat the oven to 350°. Line a muffin tin with foil liners.

3. In a large bowl, mix the turkey, zucchini, onion, breadcrumbs, ketchup, egg, and salt.Place meatloaf mixture into muffin tins filling them to the top, making sure they are flat at the top.

4. Bake uncovered for 18-20 minutes or until cooked through. Remove from tins and place onto a baking dish.

Gina has step by step photo instructions of this recipe on her blog if you are interested! This is an absolute winner in our household. Most definitely a make-again! 🙂

As a side note, for my vegetarian and vegan friends… here’s something for you!

Muffin Tops! Another idea I got from Pinterest thanks to Dinner with the Donnells. Everyone loves the top of the muffin best, right? So why not just have muffin tops?! Such a brilliant idea! I’m not sure why I didn’t think of it! Anyway, you just drop dollops of muffin batter on a greased cookie sheet and VIOLA! Muffin tops! 🙂

Muffin tops! I think next time I will use a little less liquid so they rise a little more, but truly, they were delicious! And a huge hit!

30 responses to “Skinny Taste’s Meatloaf Cupcakes with Mashed Potato Frosting

  1. Oh yum! Reading my subscribed-to blogs is a bad thing right now, as I am doing a juice fast/feast….but oh man, these look so good! I love making “faux crabcakes” using zucchini finely shredded, but I bet it could work in this recipe as well. Oh, and it would also be pretty if used mashed sweet potatoes I bet too! 🙂 Oh, and those muffin tops! *drool* OKay, I need to get away from all the pretty food pictures or I won’t stick to this…

  2. Both of these recipes look amazing, especially the muffin tops I can’t wait to try that! Thanks for sharing.

  3. The meat loaf cupcake idea is pretty fantastic! I have been meaning to make some meatloaf after having some amazing stuff at a restaurant recently… just reminded me to get crackin on that.

  4. omg, these look sort of disgusting and delicious at the same time, if you know what I mean! lol Never thought I would want to eat meat in cupcake form but I sort of really do now!

  5. OMG. Pinterest is one of the best things that has happened to mankind. 😉 I love that site.

    I really want to make this recipe and record the look on my boyfriend’s face when he realizes it’s meatloaf and not a cupcake. LOL. It’s such a great idea!

  6. Wow – both of those recipes look/sound like winners in my book.

  7. Meatloaf cupcakes! How cute!! I just pinned them myself 🙂

    They’re like shepherd’s pie in a muffin tin. Dying of cuteness, and tummy grumbling, over here!

  8. This is such a cute idea.. especially for a party! I am going to pin this now 🙂

  9. I don’t know, I’d say your pics are pretty darned good! I might have to skip these recipes though: I bet YOUR metabolism could kick mine to the curb, Rach. Mine “ain’t what it used to be!” and mashed potatoes are no longer a friend.

  10. those “cupcakes” are so unique! what a fun party food idea too!

  11. You know, I’ve never liked actual frosting but I do like mashed potato, so these are AWESOMEPANTS.

  12. I don’t like meatloaf, but these are so cute that I want to try again!

  13. ok so do you eat this for dinner or dessert? such a cool idea!

  14. I lovee the idea of savory cupcakes like this! I would make some kind of veggie cake and I love the mashed potato on top! They look soooo good!

  15. Looks delicious.
    I need to make special board on Pinterest only for cupcakes. Cupcakes are cute, and now I know it can be made from meatloaf & mashed potatoes 😀

  16. I am totally in love with this meatloaf cupcakes and can’t wait to try them!!! 🙂

  17. Those meatloaf cupcakes are so cute! I definitely want to try them. 🙂

  18. Well, it looks like you’ve officially covered my breakfast and dinner with one fell swoop. That all looks delicious!

  19. Woah! What a great unexpected twist to the otherwise, sweet cupcake. Looks delicious

  20. Yummy. I used to make meatloaf in a large pan and always had a problem with the middle not being as done as the edges. I started using muffin pans to make mini meatloafs a while ago and it is always perfectly cooked and my kids love the little servings. I don’t use wrappers, I just grease the pan and dish them right out of the pan….and I never thought about putting mashed potato’s on top. Great idea!

  21. These are adorable! In fact, they might be too cute to eat! I’d love to prepare these for a party and then serve something like a sweet pizza for dessert!

  22. ahhh omgsh!! I loove everything on here, and I’d love to make those sometime–particularly the meatloaf and mashed potato frosting~that’s genius.

  23. I LOVE this idea! Perfect party food.

  24. I’m falling in love with Pinterest too! Thanks to you. Haha.. My husband would love the meatloaf with potato frosting! Something to try next week. =D

  25. i’ve had a meatloaf cake before! pretty similar and so yummy. yours looks amazing and just like cupcakes! artwork.

  26. Meatloaf cupcakes!? I love it! Ha! 🙂

  27. I love this idea. How creative?! And I don’t have to worry about cavities. LOL

  28. I love Pinterest too! So many ideas out there that we would never have gotten to! And I love meatloaf meals like these where you can just devour these babies and be done with dinner…one dish meals! I made it pie-style 😀

  29. Wow! So, so creative… I love pinterest!

Leave a Reply

