Winter Luau

Back in the Fall a couple of my girlfriends and I decided that we needed to have a luau this winter. Just a little something to hold us over until Summer comes back. 🙂 Last night we made it a reality!

We even had a photo booth! This was all Melissa’s brilliant plan. She did a great job hosting the party at her place and setting up the photo booth. 🙂

The shot at the top is Christopher and I in all our luau get up! This is our 8th luau together (one every year of college, one for our rehearsal dinner, one while I was in grad school, and a goodbye luau for some of our friends last summer – you might say that we’ve had some practice, haha!). On the bottom, L to R is me with Courtney (she braved Graceland Too with us!), me with Susan and then me with Julie.

Up top is Christopher and I with Tony & Abigail then L to R on the bottom: Megan, Susan, Melissa, Nolan and me, Susan and me, and Whitney and me (Whitney is the magical one!)

Matthew, Matt, Christopher and Tony goofing off in the photo booth! Then the boys photo-bombing a shot of Abigail, Julie and me. 🙂

So I’m really glad that we had the photo booth because I’m so bad about remembering to take pictures when we’re hanging out with friends lately. So bad in fact that last night the only shot I got was one Christopher took of me drinking my lava flow!

With my sugar free, dairy free lava flow! Pineapple juice, strawberry puree, coconut milk and almond milk – delicious! 🙂

Speaking of food… we brought huli huli chicken and cake balls!

Huli huli shredded chicken on rolls! I used this recipe (except that I used chicken tenderloins and shredded them) and they were a hit!

Look! I made a sunshine out of cake balls! I was so proud of myself, haha! I just used white chocolate and food coloring, not so difficult, but it was fun. 🙂

And now I’m ready for summer to come back!

30 responses to “Winter Luau

  1. You’re absolutely GORGEOUS! 🙂

  2. Hi sweety:) missed to read your blog so much! i am happy ur doing great and ur life is continuously fun, btw u inspire me so much to use some food coloring for a chance, to make something surprising haha:)

  3. What a fun idea to beat the winter blahs!

  4. How fun! I love this idea. Your cake balls look soooo good and you all are adorable.

  5. YUM! This is such a fun idea 🙂

    Annie
    The Other Side of Gray

  6. What a great idea… and you look fabulous lady!

  7. Looks like so much fun! Having a luau in the middle of winter is a brilliant idea!
    Tagged you in a game of Pass It One today…http://theresjustonemommy.com/2012/02/04/pass-it-on/

  8. This looks like so much fun!!!! What a cute idea to do in the winter time!

  9. Oh man. You’re killing me. When I’m here with all the snow!! But those sandwiches look so amazing!

  10. Genius! I’ve never thought about having a winter luau, but I think I might have to throw a luau now 🙂

  11. Aww, that looks like so much fun! It is such a good idea to have a luau in the winter!

  12. Looks like a lot of fun! IN LOVE with your big sunglasses haha! The chicken rolls look so good btw, and the cake bells are GORGEOUS. White chocolate sounds heavenly ❤

  13. what a great chicken recipe, love that huli huli chicken! what a fun winter party idea with the hula theme 🙂

  14. What a fun idea and the home photobooth looks great!

  15. Your food looks awesome! I want all of it 🙂

  16. Ahh I am soo ready for summer! Love the little photobooth 🙂

  17. Looks like all of you were having so much fun. What an awesome idea!

  18. That looks like so much fun! I am so ready for summer 🙂

  19. You guys have so much energy…what fun!!!

  20. your drink free of all horrible things looks and sounds awesome! please share this recipe! and i love the idea of a winter laua! so creative!

  21. Hehe love this, those sunglasses are hilarious 🙂

  22. I haven’t been or had a luau party for years! What a great idea and I love the photos of you!

  23. That is such a fun idea for a party! It definitely takes away the winter blues 🙂

  24. You are a luau pro! How fun. Great way to remind yourself that summer will come. Eventually. Love the sunshine cake pops!

  25. What a fun idea! Wish it was summer already too!

  26. Great idea! This definitely beats the winter blues! I hope you had a blast!

  27. Love the idea of your winter luau and the photobooth! I love pictures and invariably forget when we’re having too much fun…the photobooth is an amazing idea to fix that! 😀

  28. What a fun idea! Those photos made me smile and the cake balls had me drooling.

Leave a Reply

