Apple Cinnamon Doggie Treats

We had Jasper again this weekend. It rained all day Saturday so we had a lazy day indoors snuggling on the couch, watching movies and baking treats!

Jasper!! And Oreo in the background. πŸ™‚

A friend of mine had pinned a couple of dog treat recipes on her Pinterest and I got pretty excited about Apple Cinnamon Drops in particular. I made them in cookie format (instead of drops), but they still turned out great. Oreo and Jasper both LOVED these!


Apple Cinnamon Doggie Treats

Ingredients:

1 large apple
2 tbsp honey
1/2 cup water
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 cup dry oatmeal
1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350. Core, slice and mince apple (I used the Magic Bullet and it worked like a pro). In a large bowl, combine apple bits/puree, honey, water, cinnamon and oatmeal. Gradually blend in the flour, adding enough to form a stiff dough.

2. Roll dough out to about 1/4″ thickness and use cookie cutter of choice. Place on baking sheet covered with parchment paper and bake for 30 minutes. Remove from oven, flip each cookie so they brown evenly on both sides. Reduce oven to 325 then return cookies and bake an additional 15-20 minutes. Let cool overnight.

Makes about 30 cookies

——–

And now you know what I look like on a lazy Saturday at home. Sweats, teeshirt, and messy hair, but surrounded with precious puppies. πŸ™‚ Ps. notice how they have the same eye markings?? Isn’t that crazy?! A small patch over the left eye and a bigger patch over the right – weird!

Oreo and Jasper looking out the car window. So cute next to each other!

Β Went to a Superbowl party last night. Watched all of 30 seconds of the actual game, haha! A group of us had a smaller party in the kitchen close to all the food and played Apples to Apples! πŸ˜‰ Caught a few of the commercials, but not many. Any favorites??

25 responses to “Apple Cinnamon Doggie Treats

  1. Aww, I love the pictures! These seem pretty easy and much better than “regular” dog treats. Thanks for the recipe!

  2. I actually haven’t seen any of the Super Bowl commercials! I feel silly being so out of the loop now!

  3. No wonder your pooches look so content, you actually MAKE dog treats for them. Apple cinnamon no less!

    Speaking of apples, isn’t Apples to Apples the greatest party game since charades?

  4. Awwww that’s so cute! I should make some of these for my brothers pooch!

  5. Sooo…would it be wrong of my to say that these doggy treats look delicious for me?

  6. Oh. I really love that!! I’m usually serious grossed out about touching doggy treats! I would love to make them myself so I would know what’s in them!!

  7. Oreo and Jasper are adorable, and TOTALLY deserving of those homemade doggie treats! Is it weird that I think they sound good? I mean what’s not to like in honey, apples, cinnamon and oatmeal? :-p

  8. Those homemade doggie treats actually sound good! I like that they are a lot healthier for dogs to eat. Oreo and Jasper and adorable together! πŸ™‚

  9. lucy dog would love these treats!!! i need to make her some, it is her birthday next tuesday after all πŸ˜›

  10. My dog just read this post and got SUPER jealous. I might just have to try this recipe out!

  11. The Babies are gonna love me…

  12. The Chevy commercial was the best.
    And those doggie treats? People can have ’em, too! πŸ™‚

  13. You’re doggies are adorable. There so lucky that they get their own homemade treats!

  14. Oh my goodness, Jasper and Oreo are so cute together!! πŸ˜€

    -Tia

  15. I see another pup in your future πŸ˜‰ !!!!!!!! They look wayyy to flippin cute!

  16. AH DOGGIES!!! I miss mine!

  17. They look so cute together!! Awwwww

  18. Aww!! Doggie recipes!! Your pups look so happy (and flippin’ adorable!)!

  19. I have a whole book of dog treat recipes but have yet to make any! This is good inspiration πŸ™‚

  20. He-he, your doggie treats look good enough to eat (aka, as people treats)! πŸ˜‰

    Apples to Apples is one of my FAVORITES!

  21. Oh they are so cute. I really love their names.

  22. I need to make these treats for my roommate’s dog and then ship some off to my parents and sister for their pups! P.S. – If I were you I think I would have accidently just permanently adopted Jasper by now. I don’t know how you can handle being his “foster mom” and knowing he will be leaving you, but it is so sweet of you to do for him!

Leave a Reply

