Cleo’s Pumpkin Dog Biscuits

In my last post I mentioned that I made a new batch of treats for Oreo. I made one of the biscuits into a heart-shape which was his Valentine’s treat, but the others were all in bone-shape. I got this recipe from Marilyn at Simmer Till Done after spotting it on Pinterest and just had to whip up a batch for Oreo.


Cleo’s Pumpkin Dog Biscuits

Ingredients:

2 eggs
1/2 cup canned pumpkin
2 tbsp dry milk
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp dried parsley
2 1/2 cups brown rice flour

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350. In large bowl, whisk together eggs and pumpkin to smooth. Stir in dry milk, salt, and dried parsley. Add brown rice flour gradually, combining with spatula or hands to form a stiff, dry dough. Turn out onto lightly floured surface (can use the brown rice flour) and if dough is still rough, briefly knead and press to combine.

2. Roll dough between 1/4 – 1/2″ – depending on your dog’s chew preferences and use biscuit or other shape cutter to punch shapes, gathering and re-rolling scraps as you go. Place shapes on cookie sheet, no greasing or paper necessary. If desired, press fork pattern on biscuits before baking, a quick up-and-down movement with fork, lightly pressing down halfway through dough.

3. Bake 20 minutes. Remove from oven and carefully turn biscuits over, then bake additional 20 minutes. Allow to cool completely on rack before feeding to dog.

Makes approximately 30 biscuits.

* Brown rice flour gives the biscuits crunch and promotes better dog digestion. Many dogs have touchy stomachs or allergies, and do not, like many people I know, tolerate wheat.

——-

Oreo’s verdict on Cleo’s biscuits?

He loved them!

 Waiting ever so patiently for his delicious treat! 

49 responses to “Cleo’s Pumpkin Dog Biscuits

  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    These look great, and I love the addition of parsley! Gotta keep our pups healthy with herbs 😉

  2. Those are so adorable! He is one lucky pup! I need to try them out.

  3. And look at his cute bandana…such a cute pup!

  4. I’ve never made my dog homemade dog treats! I’m definitely bookmarking this recipe, because I bet she would love them! Oreo is adorable 🙂

  5. what a spoiled dog!!! i love it. i haven been planning to make some for boyd ever since i saw them on your blog!!

  6. Lucky Dog! I love these homemade treats. It’s such a good idea.

  7. Aww, that’s precious! It’s a real measure of love to share precious pumpkin with a puppy, but he’s adorable – so worth it!

  8. Oh, I was looking for a new dog cookie recipe! These sound perfect!

  9. the fact that you make your own dog biscuits officially gives you the title of coolest lady in the world! seriously – that is some puppy dog love! i love it. and Cleo looks pretty happy too!

  10. I bet my parent’s dog would love these! I can’t wait to make these once M and I get a pup!

  11. what a lucky dog!! 🙂

    p.s. you had bacon flavored popcorn?!?!? oh my, I am intrigued!!! haha

  12. Awh, he is the cutest! 🙂

  13. such a lucky puppy!!! 🙂 so cute

  14. Aww, Oreo has such a savvy mama! What a lucky dog! I wish I had a pup to make these for, but mine is all the way across the country. When I’m home next month, I think I’ll make her a batch!

  15. How nice.. I’m sure Oreo loved it! =D

  16. Those are too cute! I’m going to make some for my friend’s dog!!! 🙂

  17. Aw! Those dog treats are so cute! I like that they are so much healthier for dogs to eat too.

  18. How adorable! The biscuits too, but mainly the dog!

  19. Very cute. I’ve always wanted to make our dog, Ellie, biscuits but never bothered to find a recipe maybe we’ll try this one soon.

  20. I once made my dog pb dog treats….I’m going to give this pumpkin recipe a try… wonder if he’ll love these too!

  21. Pingback: Taco Salad |

  22. Thank you for such an easy recipe. My dog, Fred, loves them! Only problem I had was that 2-1/2 cups of the rice flour was too much. Will only be adding 2 cups next time. Could be my flour was too dry…I could not roll them out, used my hands to shape them and baked. Did not seem to matter – he even warned our kitten away before gobbling it down! Thanks again!

  23. Saw this on FB..I have been baking for my greyhounds for a few years…and am making THESE right now.Thanks for sharing:)

  24. Thanks for the recipe. My dog loves them. Any idea how many calories are in one?

  25. I love that you kept the ingredient list short and healthy!! I’m planning on making homemade treats for our family dogs for CHristmas this year…..figure if I am making them for the humans (treats, not biscuits) they should get some too!

  26. We have a Shar Pei, who is allergic to wheat. So when i found your dog cookie recipe, i went out and bought the stuff to make them, now she won’t eat anything else.. Thank you for sharing.. Joanna, Ontario Canada..

  27. I’ve been giving my cat pumpkin puree to help with his hairballs. I pureed and froze pumpkin a couple months ago. I’m going to try this as much smaller cat sized treats and see if he likes them. I’d prefer to make my own treats, and appreciate the recipe! I already grind white and brown rice into flour for baking. Thank you!

  28. I made these this morning. I used small spring cookie cutters to shape them and baked them in my convection oven for 20 min. at 325.

  29. I love these and so does my greyhound,Chinadoll. . She has chronic panctreatitis, so I just switched up the flour to white rice flour which is only 3% fat. I have given this recipe to many people

  30. My dog doesn’t tolerate dairy (or soy). What can I substitute for the dry milk?

  31. do I need to add the dry milk? It comes in such large boxes and I don’t have any other use for it

    • I’ve only tried this particular recipe with dry milk. It’s possible leaving it out or using regular milk would be just fine, but again – I haven’t tried it. Best of luck!

      • trinamhaggerty@aol.com

        Thank you for taking the time to answer. I will probably try both recipes. We RV in a summer site for the season and there are lots of dogs in the park to benefit! They, also, will thank you!

  32. I made this recipe the other day with much success! I’m wondering what would be the best way to store these? Thank you.

  33. Our dog loves the pumpkin biscuits. My question: What is the shelf life of them since they don’t contain preservatives? thanks. Bradd.
    bmansch@aol.com

    • I can’t say for sure, but I will say that I haven’t refrigerated them before. Our dog goes through them in a couple of weeks and they don’t change in smell or texture in that time. If you live in a really humid place then you might need to refrigerate them, but they have been fine for us. 🙂

  34. I did not want to buy a whole box of powdered milk, so substituted dried coffee creamer….dog did not seem to mind!!!

  35. Shana, thanks for the info. I was going to try the creamer but wasn’t sure of the results. You eased my mind. Better than a big box of powdered milk.

  36. Thanks for the recipe. I’ve been making these for Hachiko for about a year now, he is NUTS about them, and our vet loves the fact the I’m doing this for him.

  37. The dough is so crumbly. Its hard to roll out and keep together even after kneeding it.. any suggestions?? More pumpkin?? More egg?? My dog and her friend love them but dough isnt right!

Leave a Reply

