I like to journal…

On January 3rd, 1998 I penned my very first journal entry. I was 10.5-years old at the time. I talked about important stuff… like how I had gone to my friend, Melinda’s house and we painted our nails and talked about this boy she liked. πŸ˜‰ Since that day, I have always kept a journal.

My very first journal from 1998. Covered in 101 Dalmatian stickers, haha! Definitely has a lock on it to protect all my important thoughts. πŸ˜‰

This is random, but it made me smile: on September 14th, 1999 when I was 12, I wrote about my very first babysitting job. I cared for an 18 month old for 3 1/2 hours and was paid $6 which I wasΒ veryΒ excited about. πŸ˜‰

All my journals from 1998 to present day. I’m currently on my 30th one. πŸ™‚

For me, journaling was a great outlet for figuring out my thoughts and feelings on life in general, but especially while balancing two cultures as a young teen. I never had trouble adapting to life in China, but every time we would come back to the States to visit, I struggled with reverse culture shock. Journaling gave me a private place to work through my feelings and understand why I felt the way I did.

March 7th, 2001 at age 13 I began a separate journal… one for prayers. It is a small little thing that really only lasted until that May. I might have had other ones, but if so I’ve lost them. It wasn’t until August 27th, 2002 at age 15 that there is a sudden shift in my journal. One page I’m writing to the journal itself and on the next I am talking to God. Since that day, nearly 10 years ago, I have used my journal as a place to write down my prayers. Just talking with God. Telling Him about my day, asking Him for wisdom, praising the beauty around me, and especially thanking Him for the blessings in my life. πŸ™‚

My current journal. Isn’t it happy-looking? πŸ™‚

I love keeping a journal. I love being able to look back and see how far I’ve come. I love laughing at “little me” as I read through the pages talking about some of the silliest things.Β I love being able to flip through the pages and see how frequently God has answered the cries of my heart. Reading through my journals gives me perspective on life and reminds me of just how amazingly blessed I have been. πŸ™‚

Anyone else keep a journal?

30 responses to “I like to journal…

  1. love this! i inconsistently keep a journal. I notice when times are challenging, i tend to give up on journaling because it’s hard to right down the pain of events. i think blogging has become my new journaling, great post! from reading along your blog, i can picture little Rach scribbling away about the first time of watching a baby and getting paid! πŸ™‚

  2. I looooove journaling! ALthough back in the day they were my diaries πŸ˜‰ They used to contain all the kid stuff. You know, why are my parents divorced, why doesnt that boy like me, blah blah. But once I became a Christian in highschool they turned more into prayers. Some of them are crying out to God, and others are praising Him. I love looking back and seeing what He has done for me πŸ™‚

  3. I kept a diary when I was younger for a bit, but have not kept a journal since. I don’t know if it was really my thing. I think it’s awesome that you love it so much and have so many!!

  4. Wow. How awesome. What a great collection!!! And how amazing to look back on them!

  5. I have also kept a journal since childhood and lol, its really so funny to read for example the diaries which u wrote when u were a teenager. How silly! Hehee.
    I just bought a new diary today:) I hope in future i will have also so many diaries like u. My old diaries are all lost in somewhere Estonia 😦 I hope my sister didnt read them lol.

  6. I journaled on and off through childhood… I always imagined my future children reading them! Then I reread them when I was older (probably 17-ish) and thought they were stupid. 17 is a cruel age! As an adult I haven’t done any.

  7. I have tons of journals too! Although since blogging, I usually just keep a prayer journal, instead of also having a regular journal!

  8. I have kept journals all of my life as well… I love being able to look back πŸ™‚

  9. Wow what a wonderful collection Rach! That is a great idea and now you have the ability to look back at your thoughts and progress πŸ™‚

  10. That’s is awesome! πŸ™‚ Looks like you were destined to be a blogger from a young age!!

  11. I kept journals all throughout my childhood and high school….I stopped about a year after. I would love to start up again, and buy journals often attempting to, but never actually do. I’m pretty sure a counselor would say this has something to do with bottling up feelings or something πŸ˜› anyway, this was really inspiring and a lovely blog πŸ˜€

  12. I remember I had a journal when I was around 11 or 12 years old. I wrote a few entries about my friends, school and just general stuff of interest. However, I did not keep it up for long. I started writing poetry at 13 and still write some poems now. It’s my outlet.

  13. I love that you have all these! I am horrible about keeping things, but sometimes its fun to look back. Even though I haven’t a clue where my Hello Kitty! journals are.

  14. Oh my gosh, I absolutely ADORE journaling! There is something about writing down what went on that day and my thoughts and my dreams and those moments that I never want to forget that is so therapeutic! It calms me down and reminds me to look for the beauty in life — to count my blessing — to rely on the Lord. πŸ™‚

  15. I’m impressed =) My friends and I used to journal but I haven’t done so in years. May need to get back to that as it’s always nice to get my thoughts down on paper.

  16. I love your collection of journals, Rach! What you say is so true–journaling really does provide valuable prospective in our lives! I started keeping journals when I was really young (first or second grade), and was pretty consistent all the way through high school. However, once I reached college I abruptly stopped. 😦 I SO wish I’d kept it up, because like you said, it’s fun to go back and read about the silly thoughts that were running through my head! :-p But journals also serve as a wonderful memory box…If I hadn’t written all of those years, so many memories would have been completely forgotten!

    Hope you had a beautiful weekend! ❀

  17. I’ve never kept a journal. Started an attempt once or twice but didn’t manage to write regularly. Sad, probably, because now I don’t have such a lovely arrangement of memories on my bookshelf. πŸ™‚

  18. How wonderful to have all of your hopes and dreams written down, those will be treasures for a lifetime! I used to keep a journal, but haven’t for years. You’ve inspired me to start journaling again! πŸ™‚

  19. Wow you have so many, mut be lovely to look back! I’ve never kept one but I guess blogging is online journaling so maybe I’ve joined the club πŸ™‚

  20. I think that is amazing that you have kept a journal for so long! It must be such a great feeling to go back and read about your life! πŸ™‚ I tried to keep a journal but I never kept up with it.

  21. Rachel, I have that exact same journal! I’ve been journaling on and off for years as well. I did it a bit as a kid, but really started doing it regularly once I had children. It’s so fun to go back and read about my kids and remember things I may never have thought twice about again if I hadn’t written it down. πŸ™‚

  22. That first journal is just priceless! I have my first journal, too, which I would go back and update every couple of years just so someone who might pick it up in 20 or 50 years would know how that litlte kid turned out. These days I have my blog of course, and then my one-sentence journal I write in each night. Anything from a milestone my boys hit to something fun we did to some worry I have. It’s amazing how much even that one sentence conveys when I look back on it months or years later!

  23. Aww, you still have your 1st journal! That is so great you have kept up with and can read back through your memories, adventures, thoughts, feelings, etc! I had one when I was younger and I have one that I sometimes but quotes in to now, but I don’t keep up with it like I should!

  24. this post made me so happy! i journaled since i was 10 too! i stopped a little after college due to time but i so love having those thoughts in writing! this is too cute! love the stickers!

  25. I’m the same way! I’ve journaled for years and love to look back on what God has brought me through. Sadly, I kind of stopped journaling when I got married. I think you’ve inspired me to begin again, because I miss it!! πŸ™‚

  26. WOW that’s a lot of journals. I love how dedicated you are to it!

  27. What a fun collection! I’ve had seasons of journaling but never seem to keep it up. My two favorite seasons are: one from my 2 month trip to India which ended by me meeting my husband (then boyfriend) in Greece for two weeks where he proposed. and one from when I was pregnant with Archer. Wish I had one for this pregnancy but it just hasn’t happened.

  28. I still keep my first journal too, and it also have lock on it πŸ˜€

  29. You sound exactly like me! I started journaling in first grade and as i grew older My journals turned into prayers to God. The thing I treasure the most is to see how God worked in my life during those times and that encourages me knowing that he is faithful to do the same in the present and future!

  30. Pingback: I’m baaaaaack!! :) |

Leave a Reply

