Momma’s Poppy Seed Chicken

My parents will be in town tonight so I was thinking about my mom and some of the recipes I grew up on. One of my younger sister’s favorites was always Poppy Seed Chicken. I made it recently for my girls’ so today I thought I would share the recipe with you guys! 🙂

Poppy Seed Chicken

Ingredients:

3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cooked and finely chopped
2 cans cream of chicken soup
1 tsp poppy seed
1 small carton sour cream
1 stick butter
1 package Club crackers, crushed

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375. In a small microwave-safe bowl, melt one stick of butter and mix in crushed crackers until crumbly.

2. Combine chicken, cream of chicken soup, poppy seed and sour cream. Place mixture in greased 9″ x 13″ pan. Top with crumb mixture. Bake uncovered for 20 minutes.

Last night we celebrated a friend’s golden birthday. In case you don’t know about golden birthdays (I only learned last year), allow me to enlighten you – it’s the year that you turn the age of your birthdate. So mine will be when I’m 30 because I was born on July 30th. There was even face cake because the birthday boy loves that AT&T commercial. It was a great night! 🙂

21 responses to “Momma’s Poppy Seed Chicken

  1. My golden birthday was when I turned 15, and I didn’t even realize it. Booo. Owell, face cake makes up for it.

  2. My golden birthday already passed 4 years ago, I guess I missed it :p

  3. Darn! Mine passed when I was 7! haha how did I not know this?!

  4. This chicken recipe looks delicious!!

  5. Yum! This is the same as my Mama makes except without the poppy seeds and we call it chicken casserole. We always served it over rice too:)

  6. I’ve never herad of poppy seed chicken!! Sounds great. I always love cracker-y chicken recipes!

  7. This poppy seed chicken looks and sounds delicious! I’ve never heard of it before.

    My golden birthday passed 3 years ago! Boo!

  8. Sounds great! Are you back to being a nanny?

  9. Your recipes always look SO delicious! YUM!

  10. The chicken looks yummy! You always have such comforting recipes!

  11. Mmm, mommy recipes are ALWAYS the best! This sounds great 🙂

  12. sounds simple….and i need simple in my life right now 🙂

  13. my golden bday was at 26… seems like forever ago! (gosh when did i get so old haha). that chicken dish sounds like total comfort food, i’ve never had anything like it, yum!

  14. Mine was when I was 17 – I thought I was sooo cool when it happened haha. I hadn’t seen that commercial but just watched it, face cake is hilarious!

  15. I LOVE poppyseed chicken. It’s my all time favorite.

    Hey, your birthday is my anniversary! And my golden birthday was when I turned 25 – also, the day I found out we were pregnant with our first. It was a good day. 🙂

  16. Oh this chicken not only sounds delicious but looks awesome as well! I think it is going to be one of those “keeper” recipes!!

  17. This looks like a real “keeper” of a recipe!! Looks so delicious!

  18. YUM! This poppyseed chicken looks fabulous!

  19. So, I can’t believe you never heard of a golden birthday!!! Mine was four years ago, at 22.

  20. Looks absolutely delicious! =D I LOVE chicken!

Leave a Reply

