That one time we surprised my niece and nephew…

My sister, Holly, knew that Christopher and I would be in town over the weekend, but she was keeping it a secret from Wesley and Makenzie (her two kiddos) because she thought it would be fun to surprise them. So she told them that there would be a surprise for them on Sunday, but left it at that. Like all kids, they were super excited by the promise of a surprise.

Well, Sunday morning we arrived while they kids were getting ready for church. I tiptoed back to their rooms and Makenzie spotted me first. She threw herself in my arms yelling “Aunt Rae Rae!!” It was precious. She was so excited to see me… and then… with eyes full of hope she said, “Guess what! Mommy says we have a surprise today!” I laughed and told her, “I’m your surprise, Kenzie!” She froze then looked completely crestfallen for a moment while she processed the fact that nothing more exciting than a visiting aunt would happen this morning. She perked up quickly enough, though, and we had a great time together!

Anyway, this story probably isn’t near as funny as I think it is. I just thought it was cute that she was so excited for her surprise and then completely caught off guard that she’d already gotten it. 😉

Sooo… picture time!!

With my sister, Holly!

With my Kenzie girl! She is so like me and I love it! From her curls to her face to her slight clumsiness (hopefully she will grow out of it, unlike me, haha!). 🙂

Wesley and Makenzie play with Uncle Christopher

Every time I see any of my nieces and nephews, I am reminded by how quickly they are growing up as time flies by. My siblings and I all make a very real effort to see each other throughout the year, but with five of us spread across the globe, it’s not always easy. There is a part of me that wishes we were one of those families that all live within a 30 mile radius of each other. But as it is, I am so grateful for all the time I get to spend with both my siblings and nieces and nephews when I do see them!

8 responses to “That one time we surprised my niece and nephew…

  1. How adorable!! I am so glad you were able to surprise them, even if she was a little let down! And what pretty sisters you are!

  2. Adorable story!! I can just imagine your little niece’s face when she realized there would be no more surprises! lol

  3. What a lovely surprise! I believe spending time with children and showing interest in them and playing with them is more valuable than any material gift. 🙂

  4. Aww.. This is soo sweet. Makes me miss my nieces too =( We are miles and miles apart and visiting them would be VERY expensive plus there are some visa requirements. Phew..

    Anyway, you and Holly are very pretty =)

  5. Aw! That is such a cute surprise! 🙂

  6. How cute – and you and Kenzie are matching too haha!

  7. Hahahah. That would totally happen with my nephews & me. I love it!! And I love surprising the kidlets!

  8. you and your family=SO CUTE!

Leave a Reply

