Little known fact about me…

I modeled in high school and college.

I feel really weird sharing this with you guys. It’s been kind of this secret for so many years and now to share it with the entire internet is just a little odd. But well… I decided it was time. Mostly because I wanted to talk to you guys about this weekend, but having the back story makes it make more sense.

When I was in high school I lived in China. While there, both my sister (Abby) and I were in several newspapers as well as on television multiple times. I was even filmed in an episode of a game show where I was the host. So I was no stranger to the media. At 16 I had my first real modeling job for a clothing company which resulted in my face being in magazines, in malls, and on billboards across China. My sophomore year of college (at age 18) was my last official photo shoot until this past weekend.

You see, I never go looking for stuff like this. It just kind of finds me. I did briefly consider going into full time modeling when I got ready to graduate college, but decided that it really just wasn’t an industry I wanted to be in every day. However, a couple of months ago when Camp Wyldewood’s director asked if I would help him out with a project promoting camp, I just couldn’t say no.

This is where a well known fact about me comes into play… I love Camp Wyldewood. I attended there as a camper from 1998 to 2004 and then I was a counselor in 2005 and 2006. It is where I really got to know Jesus in a very personal way. Where I committed my life to God. Where I met some of my best friends. I would literally have a countdown from the last day of camp until the first day the following year (“Only 355 days left until camp next year…” haha).

Some of these photos are from when I was a camper, but most are of me as a counselor. And yes… my hair was dyed blue briefly… πŸ™‚

As you can see, I love Wyldewood. So I was all about helping them out this weekend. Turns out, not only was I needed for photographs, but also for a series of videos. And also as it turns out… I amΒ muchΒ better at being photographed than being videoed, haha! There is just something so awkward about being in a video by yourself with a giant green screen behind you. No script. Just showing different emotions on your face. Probably just because I’m not used to it. But it was still fun and I was honored to be chosen for the project! πŸ™‚

And while on this same note… I did some work for a local dentist as well (both photos and videos). The dentist is a guy I knew from camp and is now on the board of directors. He is a solid guy with a good reputation. πŸ™‚

And on top of the official modeling, there has been plenty of unofficial as well… like, how my face was plastered on banners all across my college’s campus.Β And then they used a photo from our wedding in Spring Sing last year. And of course there are several photos of both Christopher and I in both the Harding Heritage house and the grand entrance of Harding. What can I say? Harding loves us. πŸ˜€

So why has the modeling thing been a secret? Well, when I was in high school I didn’t tell anyone about the modeling other than my best friends for three reasons: (1) I didn’t want to come across as bragging about it. (2) I didn’t want anyone to seek friendship with me because of the modeling stuff. (3) There are lots of stereotypes associated with models/modeling that I didn’t want assumed about me.Β And when I came to college, I continued to keep quiet about it for the same reasons. Now, I’m so far removed from it that it seems weird to just bring it up randomly… “Oh by the way, when I was sixteen, I was a model…” haha! Anyway, so with the modeling from this past weekend I finally decided it was time to share!

41 responses to “Little known fact about me…

  1. No surprise there!! You are a babe! This is a great fun fact!

  2. I wouldn’t be surprised! I’ve always found you pretty =)

  3. Say it with pride! And I kinda love the blue hair πŸ™‚

  4. Rock on! I like the blue hair πŸ˜‰

    It was def. very cool to learn more about you and you totally didn’t come off as bragging AT ALL! I love how humble you are πŸ™‚

  5. How awesome!!! You don’t sound like you’re bragging at all…I love that about you! You are gorgeous so it doesn’t really come as a surprise πŸ™‚

  6. I love it!! And I love the blue hair too!! Woohoo!!

  7. You always look gorgeous in the pictures on here, so I’m not surprised! I love that you’re so humble about it too – I would be telling everyone!

  8. That’s what I like about you. You seem so down to earth. I don’t know many high schoolers who would keep modeling a secret, but you were wise beyond your years for your reasons… You’re right, a few would be friends just for that.

  9. I’m so glad that you shared this with all of us! I think that’s a great fun fact. My very best friend does occasional modeling too. It’s just an extra talent for you to add to your great life!

  10. That is really cool! Probably smart you kept it a secret in high school for sure. That is just such an awkward stage for people that jealously/false friends/etc probably would have ensued!

  11. This makes such sense! You’ve got such a gorgeous wonderful smile πŸ™‚

  12. I am glad you shared this with us… what a cool thing to be a part of! It makes sense too, your gorgeous m’dear πŸ™‚

  13. That is so much fun πŸ™‚ Im not surprised, you are a gorgeous girl :]
    I have a friend that’s a model and I see pictures of her all over, magazines and billboards..but she never tells us friends what she is doing…She says she doesn’t like the attention..oh well..At least it’s always a fun surprise to see her :]

  14. Well, that’s no mystery. You are gorgeous! I love when bloggers share a little piece of themselves. Really let’s us get to know you better. I’m glad you shared this and I hope you have an amazing weekend Rach!

  15. I totally get why you didnt want to share, but this is really cool!! Im glad you shared it with us now πŸ™‚ Obvoiusly you are gorgeous, so its really no big surprise! And now I can tell everyone I know a model πŸ˜‰

  16. That’s so neat! And girl, you are gorgeous!! πŸ™‚

  17. That’s very cool! I can totally see you as a model, but I never would have guessed because you’re so sweet and down to earth πŸ™‚

  18. Thank you for sharing that! You are stunning and I’m not surprised… the best part? You are lovely on the inside as well!

  19. I concur, you’re gorgeous so I’m not surprised! And knowing you through your words and photos here, I associate none of those stereotypes with you. I often don’t tell people that I used to be a cheerleader and even was a coach for a couple years because of the same assumptions people make. But it was so much fun! I guess maybe it’s ok to admit it now, over a decade later. : )

  20. i’m not surprised considering you are so tall and gorgeous!! and what an awesome opportunity! you are gonna rock it out!

  21. Girl – brag away you are gorgeous (inside and out!)!!!!

  22. I have modeled off and on for a few years and I like to keep a lid on it too! Honestly, I don’t consider myself a model- I just happen to take pictures and participate in model type activities that just happen to get published….I don’t go looking for it either, so it’s more like a hobby that I get paid for! Good luck with your upcoming stuff!

  23. That’s awesome! I had a brief stint with modeling when I was 17 too and recently did a promotional thingy, and I totally understand. Kind of strange to bring up in conversation or even blogs. Anyway, love this blog and your blue hair and that you got chosen for the project! so neat! πŸ˜€

  24. oh bella, you’re quiet call to beauty shines radiantly, I am not surprised a bit. LOVE THE BLUE HAIR haha! I did some modeling between the ages of 19 and 21, it was a fun time, I did small commercials and a few local gigs – a great season of my life…just before I met my hubs! Thank you for your comment, I whole heartedly believe that we impact our youth so very much. Of all the high schoolers we mentored, only 2 have really strayed away, the others are really on track with the Lord, and shining their lights. The other two are out there going their own way….for now….but I still shine that light hoping to be that lighthouse for them and hope they come back to the narrow path. praying always!!!! now, two youth we know, and are beginning to mentor, have struggled with cutting, suicidal thoughts, thoughts of worthlessness….I’m telling you, these girls are gorgeous inside and out, no shortage of attention from boys, yet somehow they have this convoluted perception of themselves….the enemy of our souls at work whispering lies in their ears…..since getting involved with them I am seeing a dramatic change….PRAISE GOD! such a need to stay connected with these youth, to stay relevant with all that’s going on….you and your husband are impacting youth that will stay with them forever…..keep shining that light!!!!

  25. Loved learning all these new things about you πŸ™‚ very cool!

  26. Eco Friendly Homemaking

    Wow you have had some awesome adventures!! What a blessing to have helped them out with the videos and photos.

  27. How exciting! I can understand why you’d keep it a secret though. My sister did a pagent once and doesn’t tell too many people about it.

  28. never bragging! we know your heart. it’s as beautiful as that model face.

  29. Love the picture of your baptism in the fountain!

  30. I’m not surprised at all…you are stunning!!!! Totally a model.

  31. I think its neat that you get to say that. I attempted it in my late teens/early 20’s and it just never worked out for me, but I get when you’re so far removed from doing it, that you can begin talking about it. That’s like me and my old job. I never wanted to mention it but since I left it 2 years ago, I’m able to talk about it.

    I say, more power to you! Don’t see you bragging at all. πŸ™‚
    Emily at Amazing Grapes

  32. Oh Rach, thanks so much for sharing this with us! You’re not only gorgeous on the outside, but your beautiful heart radiates through your actions and the messages you spread on this blog. All of these images capture a woman who knows and loves God, and who in turn loves the community around her. Keep spreading joy!! ❀

  33. That’s such a fun little fact about you! And makes perfect sense – you’re gorgeous πŸ™‚

    Annie
    The Other Side of Gray

  34. I think that’s awesome! The best part is the traveling!

  35. This doesn’t surprise me at all, always thought you had that look! Congrats on such a fun opportunity too! πŸ™‚

  36. You are so darn gorgeous, this doesn’t surprise me in the least. Well that you felt you had to hide it does, but not that you did it! Will you continue to model in areas that hold your heart (i.e. Church, Christian, etc) – those areas always need models too! You don’t have to be a “stereotypical” model to be a model as you clearly exhibit.

  37. Pingback: College Buddies! |

  38. Definitely no surprise! You go girlie!!

  39. Pingback: Behind the Scenes at a Commercial Shoot {Touring Tupelo #3} |

  40. Pingback: Oh, by the way, I have a blog… |

Leave a Reply

