Cajun Pasta Salad

A couple of weeks ago my mom suggested that I check out a website called Budget Bytes. She knows that I am always looking for new meal ideas and that Christopher and I are all about eating healthily on the cheap. πŸ™‚ So today I share with you, my slightly adapted version of Budget Bytes’ Cajun Pasta Salad! πŸ™‚


Cajun Pasta Salad

Ingredients:

12 oz rigatoni
1lb smoked turkey sausage
1 medium green bell pepper
1 medium red bell pepper
1/2 medium red onion
1/3 cup canola oil
1/2 cup Β red wine vinegar
1 tbsp dijon mustard
1 tbsp minced garlic
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
1/2 tsp paprika
freshly cracked pepper to taste
1/4 cup fresh parsley, roughly chopped

Directions:

1. Cook pasta according to package directions, drain.

2. Slice sausage into 1/2″ circles then slice in half again. Cook in large skillet over medium heat until well browned.

3. Thinly slice bell peppers and onion then saute in pan with olive oil over medium high heat.

4. Whisk together oil, vinegar, mustard, garlic, salt, cayenne, paprika, black pepper, and parsley. Combine pasta, vegetables, sausage and sauce together. Mix thoroughly and serve.

We had this for dinner tonight and both Christopher and I loved it. It was simple, but flavorful. πŸ™‚

Speaking of Christopher… he got stung by a wasp yesterday… while on a ladder… at the top of our house! Yikes! Yeah, I am just really grateful that he was able to get to the ground safely. We got ice on it pretty quickly so it didn’t swell too much. The wasps have been awful already this year – they are so vicious! They really do come after you just because they are hateful little creatures. Not that I’m bitter toward them or anything, haha! Anyone know a good way to get rid of them? I tried a DIY wasp trap that I found on Pinterest, but all I got were a few ants, haha! Hope you guys stay sting-free!

16 responses to “Cajun Pasta Salad

  1. Aw, poor christopher! That’s awful!

    But your pasta salad looks tasty!

  2. Sounds like an easy and yummy recipe!

    Stay safe =s

  3. that looks amazing! oh,and your poor dude!

  4. Yum! I can’t wait to check out the website πŸ™‚

    You and Christopher are such a great example for me and my boy. I always think of you two when I think about getting married to Jimmy one day. I’m like how will we figure out to budget groceries and meals and figure out house repairs and I see that you guys not only do all of that, but enjoy it and have fun with your lives. Reading your blog is such a blessing ❀

  5. Love Budget Bytes! Have made a few of her recipes and enjoyed them all so much. My mom makes her pickled carrots regularly too – we just can’t seem to get enough!

  6. Awww sorry to hear about christophers sting! I miss ya Rach, looks like your still cooking up healthy meals… ❀ it! I can't wait for Thursday! it's my last day of classes which means more time to read awesome blogs like yours! πŸ™‚

  7. I hope my last comment came out not sure if it went through!

  8. awwwww sorry to hear about christopher’s wasp sting… Thats gotta hurt. How is everything with you Rach!? I miss ya… I’m so pumped for my last day of classes which means much more blogging and much more time to read awesome blog posts by you! πŸ™‚ hope all is well!

  9. Mmm, looks like a great pasta recipe! I have wasp stings too, hope he feels better soon!

  10. I can’t wait to check this website out!

  11. Ahh! That’s so scary about the wasps, but I’m glad he was okay! & I LOVE that website you posted, I can’t believe that the girl who made the site actually went through the work to crank the numbers down for everyone, that’s so awesome and helpful! Makes me want to share it with my family, who seem to think that wholesome foods at home cost too much (especially with all the fresh produce). her recipes look delicious, too!

    God bless you girl!

  12. This pasta salad looks great! I’m definitely going to have to check out site! πŸ™‚

    Yikes! I hate bees!

  13. It looks soooo yummy!

  14. UGH! I got stung once by a wasp, OUCH!

    But the recipe looks great! I love cajun food! Especially andouille sausage πŸ™‚

  15. that looks delicious! and OUCH ! wasp stings are SO painful!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

