Borscht and Painting…

Every Tuesday night since last Fall, our group of friends has dinner together which is a tradition that I really love! We often have themed nights and yesterday was proclaimed Russian night. Whitney spent her childhood in Russia so she made Borscht, potato rolls and a garlic cheese spread for us to enjoy.

Those rolls stuffed with sauteed potatoes and onions were so de-lish!

After dinner the boys headed off to play basketball (just like every Tuesday) while the ladies stayed at Whitney and Jonathan’s house to do a serious kitchen cabinet makeover!

All the cabinet doors after their first coat of paint. They have one more coat to go and then a gloss.

Even our paintbrushes are friends! πŸ˜€

Aaaand it is possible that I might be a messy painter. I am really bad about wiping things up with my fingers instead of using a rag, haha!

Speaking of painting… tonight Christopher and I plan to finish painting the outside windows at our house so it won’t be long before I’m covered in white paint too, haha!

26 responses to “Borscht and Painting…

  1. That looks SO good!

  2. The dinner looks great! I really love having friends over for dinner! I haven’t in a while. This reminds me I need to again soon!

  3. You’re so nice to help paint!

  4. I love painting Im gonna be painting all my furniture soon time to do a makeover for my room too!

  5. Yumm yum that dinner looks great! And how nice of you to help πŸ™‚

  6. Oh I love painting with friends.!

  7. That’s so great all of you get together to paint her cabinets. That’s good friends right there.

    All that food looks divine!! Makes me want some now.
    Emily at Amazing Grapes

  8. LOL. looks like you’re a natural talented painter.

  9. Oh, how I wish I had even a modicum of DIY skills!

  10. Aww I love dinner with friends! I like the theme idea too…

  11. Yum!! We had International Night one time and we had delicious Russian food too..

  12. That dinner looks and sounds like fun! My grandparents when they were still around loved borscht. I’ve never tried it.

  13. I love that you have themed dinners, that is an awesome idea and reminds me of things people do in books in movies πŸ™‚ Good for you for painting your kitchen cabinets yourself! I am sure they will look great!

  14. Rolls stuffed with onions and potatoes sound so ridiculously deelish!!

  15. 1. You made me hungry
    2. I’m a very messy painter too!
    3. Can’t wait to see the final product πŸ™‚

  16. Dinner and painting….I could go for that. LOL

  17. I love your tradition! Recently the hubs and I have been having weekly game nights where we have people over for dinner, dessert and games – this week he even cooked the meal!

  18. Get it girlie! Cheers to do-it-yourself-ing it!

  19. Yay for Russian food!! I love traditions… so special πŸ™‚

  20. I have never had Russian food before but it looks/sounds like something I would enjoy. I painted my room in the last condo I lived in and vowed to never paint again! I was a complete mess!!

  21. So nice to share good food with friends, especially when it’s cultural too!

  22. I love your themed dinner nights with friends. Russian sounds intriguing!!!
    Have a great weekend Rachel!

  23. Omgsh I always always wanted to try Borscht!!! What does it taste like? πŸ˜€ And that is cool~ I wanna do little painting projects around our house, and I’ve never done anything like that. I think I could learn lots from you guys~

  24. Love the tradition… if i will have my own living someday, i would like to have evenings like this… And I love the soup, in Estonian it’s called Borshi supp, hehehe. its one of the best!

  25. What a great tradition… Painting is always more fun with friends and food:)

Leave a Reply

