The Curio Cabinet

This was my grandmother:

Stunning, wasn’t she?

If you look closely, you can see her china on the table in that photo. Before she passed away she made certain that my grandfather know that she wanted me to have her china collection when I got married. She knew it was only a matter of time since Christopher and I had been dating a couple of years already at the time. It makes me sad that she wasn’t able to be at the wedding, but I feel confident that she had a good idea I was going to marry that boy. πŸ™‚

Anyway, after we married, my grandfather passed her china on to us, but since we were in a 400 square foot apartment, well… we didn’t have much space, haha! When we bought the house, we intended to buy a curio cabinet to display the china in, but we just never got around to it. So for far too long my china has been displayed like this:

Sad, I know. Sitting neglected in the corner of my craft room where no one ever sees it.

Well, this week Christopher found me a beautiful curio cabinet on Craigslist and on Wednesday evening we came home with this:

So pretty! πŸ™‚

And now, I have a beautiful place to display all my gorgeous china from my grandmother. πŸ™‚

I absolutely love it. πŸ™‚ Along with my grandmother’s china, this cabinet holds her silver, crystal and her mother’s depression glasses from the 1920’s along with Christopher’s family’s heirloom silver. I really do love walking by and seeing it all displayed so prettily. πŸ™‚

28 responses to “The Curio Cabinet

  1. Wow… Your grandma loves you so much! That’s great to hear that the china now has a good home. =)

  2. Wow there is just so much history and family ties going on here… I love hearing about vintage and more antique stuff like this… your gramma was indeed stunning πŸ™‚

  3. Awww how cute!! That’s really sweet!

  4. This looks beautiful! πŸ˜€

  5. love the curio. love the china. LOVE the story most of all. πŸ™‚

  6. This is beautiful!! I love the cabinet, the china just sparkles in there!

  7. Wow it looks so beautiful… I would love to have such one in future, with all the special things inside to hold…

  8. btw ur grandmother is really stunning!

  9. mrswindypoplars

    Beautiful! What a great find! It’s such a gift to have family heirlooms passed down, isn’t it? Helps keep the memory of our loved ones near… Hope you have a great weekend!

  10. That is a beautiful cabinet, perfect for displaying the china πŸ™‚

  11. i’m so glad that you were able to get a storage for that beautiful china!!

  12. That’s such a beautiful place to store such a beautiful collection from a beautiful lady πŸ™‚ Your grandmother would be proud, I’m sure πŸ™‚

  13. Rach DonutsMama

    What great heirlooms to have within the family. It’s nice to have that connection with your grandmother.

  14. Rach DonutsMama

    What a great heirloom to have within the family. It’s nice to have that connection to your grandmother.

  15. That is history right there…I wish that we had all the stuff that was given to us, but with us moving so much I’d rather it be safe until we get to settle! I absolutely adore depression glass!

  16. That is so beautiful! I love that. I need to get a china cabinet too because I have china passed down to me from my aunt.

  17. Beautiful grandma =) The china looks great in your stunning cabinet.

  18. beautiful china and grandma! love this post πŸ™‚

  19. That cabinet looks like it fits perfectly. I love random craigslist finds!

  20. beckyspringer

    GORGEOUS! Both your grandmother and the cabinet πŸ™‚

  21. Aw. I love it! What a great Craigslist find! And what beautiful china!

  22. That is awesome! I am sure your grandma loves it πŸ™‚

  23. Ben’s grandfather left us a curio cabinet….they’re such treasures!

  24. your grandma is gorgeous!!!!!!!!!!!! hooray. i have my grandma’s china too… but i’m still in the tiny apt situation. someday!

  25. I love this! My grandmom wants to give me her blue onion dishes when she passes away. Love those family traditions.

  26. I love it! I collect old furniture and odd items and I love that you have displayed your grandmothers china for everyone to see. Enjoy!

  27. Pingback: My Grandmother’s Rolls |

Leave a Reply

