Memorial Weekend in the Lone Star State

Last week we got home from the beach late Tuesday night. We hardly had time to unpack before we left again bright and early Friday morning. We headed to Texas to hang out with Christopher’s family for a few days! 🙂

We went to White Rock coffee – one of the top 10 coffee places in the States and number 1 in Dallas – also my husband’s favorite coffee shoppe! We also checked out the Farmer’s Market in downtown Dallas (see photo at bottom right of the brothers with their produce) and spent plenty of time goofing off (ie. picture of Christopher and his dad).

McKinney, Texas has a cute little downtown area which we had fun exploring. MOM and POPcorn Company which has an assortment of popcorn ranging from dill pickle to plain jane popcorn (yes, we sampled the dill… it wasn’t half bad). The Salsa Shop which has so many delicious salsas and peanut butters and sauces… all out to sample! They had banana peanut butter which was delightful because one of my favorite snacks is peanut butter on a banana! 🙂

The Heard Museum! This place had a fun little museum, but even better it had gorgeous walking trails! I loved seeing the natural terrain of the area that was allowed to grow with wild abandon. Makes me think of what the prairie must have looked like long ago.

Me with my mother-in-law and sister-in-law.

The familia!

Hehe… this was us trying to get family shots. My sister-in-law and I both had cameras on timers and at one point we didn’t get them set at the same time so we both ran back to fix the cameras. I realized that mine was about to go off so I hammed it up and this is the outcome. This photo absolutely cracks me up so I just had to share it with you guys! 😀

The familia again!

While in the Dallas area we also got to see my brother and his kids and my little sister on Monday morning.

My niece and nephew have gotten so big since the last time I saw them in October! Kaitlyn kept showing off her ballet moves. So precious. 🙂 She and Austin are growing up far too fast!

And one last shot of us 🙂

It was a busy weekend, but we had a wonderful time. Such a blessing to spend time with family. 🙂

 

31 responses to “Memorial Weekend in the Lone Star State

  1. You two are simply adorable. LOVE IT!

  2. Looks like a great time! As always, your pictures are fantastic and you look so happy! 🙂

  3. I’ve never been to Texas, but it looks fun! Great pictures! 😎

  4. I’ve always wanted to visit texas!

  5. p.s. Relationship Advice needed from you on my blog. I just posted about the dreaded ex. I need your advice!

  6. Also, how long did you and christopher date before getting married?

  7. Awesome! How old are you Rach? How did you met?! or can u simply do a post about all this?? 🙂

    • I’m 24. We met my freshman year of college (I graduate high school at 16 and turned 17 at the end of that summer just before college began). We met through a mutual friend. But you know, I never realized that I don’t have our whole story on the blog somewhere. I really should write it out! 🙂

  8. umm…. YES blog it, next post plllllllease!

  9. What a fun weekend, Rach!! I’m so glad you were able to spend time with Christopher’s family (that photo shoot looks like it was a blast!). And I would LOVE to try dill pickle popcorn and banana peanut butter! Any new snack is always welcomed in my book! xoxo ❤

  10. Nice post.. Btw, how tall are you??

  11. Sounds like such a fun weekend! 🙂 I love the family shots. So cute!

  12. Wow, what a whirlwind of fun travels!! How cool that you got to sample dill popcorn AND banana peanut butter–yum!

  13. Glad you had a fun weekend, sounds like you guys are stayin busy busy!!! Also, love that black/white dress outfit you have on, looks so pretty!!!

  14. You guys are the cutest couple. I LOVE that family picture of you up front. So awesome. 🙂 🙂

  15. Hi honey 🙂 Love the pictures! Especially the first timer shot, it’s lovely…
    Oh, and the bottom picture with the glass jars in the shop-collage – are those the popcorn flavors? Looks crazy, I would really like to try some of those!

  16. You are so cute! I love your braided hairstyle too! You and your man look so in love! Definitely following your blog, can’t wait to see more 🙂

  17. Aww, looks like you had a totally enjoyble weekend again! Love the butterfly pic! 😀

  18. you are a busy girl! Looks like the beach was a lot of fun too. We ware heading there in July!

  19. What a fun weekend! I’m not sure I knew you had family in Texas but now it makes me long for home. I haven’t been to McKinney in years or maybe never, I might be thinking of Marble Falls. It looks charming and dill popcorn sounds yummy. Glad you had such a fun visti!

  20. Oh my goodness, you were right where we are!

  21. Pingback: Finally in town!! |

  22. Pingback: Family Came to Visit! |

Leave a Reply

