The Day We Met…

Last week, Angie asked how Christopher and I met. I intended to point her to the blog post I had written about it until I started searching and realized I haven’t written one! Haha!

So, let’s rewind time and go back to September of 2004…

I had been 17 for just over a month and a college freshman for two weeks. He was 18 and just beginning his sophomore year. I was still adjusting to life in the States which came hand-in-hand with a hefty dose of reverse culture shock. He was sweet and a great listener. Eager to know me.

But I’m getting ahead of myself…

On September 4th, 2004 I ran into my fellow freshman buddy, Trevor, just after an on campus movie ended.

Me with Trevor! The guy who introduced Christopher and I!

Trevor introduced me to the group of people he was with. That was how I met Christopher. I vividly remember my first impression of him. “Wow, what a gorgeous bronzed guy.” I soon discovered his bronzed self was a combination of the fact that he was Italian as well as the fact that he still had his summer tan from life guarding.

Look at those curls! And that tan! And how he still looks adorable while wearing Care Bear birthday party hats! ๐Ÿ˜€

ย The group of us went to Thanks A ย Latte for coffee and to chat then on to… *drumroll please*… Walmart. I kid you not. The first day Christopher and I met, we hung out at Walmart. We areย thatย cool. ๐Ÿ˜› We hit it off instantly and talked about the basic three (name, where you’re from, and major) for a long time. A city girl from China and a country boy from Illinois might seem like two cultures clashing, but we wereย rivetedย by each other’s backgrounds and stories.

He was (and still is) fearless, overflowing with life and laughter, and my most favorite person ever.

That night I gave Christopher my I-Don’t-Date-Speech that I gave every boy that walked within 10 feet of me (okay, not literally, but I did say it a lot). When I was 15 I had decided that I didn’t want to date until I was ready to get married. At 17 I still didn’t feel anywhere near ready to marry so I continued giving the same speech. Just friends. Not interested in anything else. I will admit, I was really attracted to Christopher, but I just didn’t feel like I was ready for marriage therefore not ready to date. Christopher was the first guy who I had given that speech to that really seemed to understand. He said that he had chosen not to date either because he hated seeing all his friends dating and breaking up all the time without any real commitments. I loved that he understood where I was coming from so I felt super at ease around him…

Us during the short 25 days we were “just friends” before we started dating. ๐Ÿ™‚

From Christopher’s point of view, the first night we met was amazing… until I told him that I wasn’t interested in dating. His first impression of me was (and I quote), “I thought you were hottttt! And after hanging out that first night and getting to know you I thought ‘wow, this girl is interesting. I want to get to know her more’.” He was disappointed by my “I don’t date” speech, but he did understand where I was coming from. It actually relieved a lot of pressure from our relationship because we knew that we were just going to be friends. Well, that’s what I thought anyway, haha! He knew he liked me and that he would give up his no-dating stance to date me, but he respected my decision not to date. Until we kept hanging out. All the time. Reallyย all the time. And we shared so much. We literally talked for hours and hours about everything. Christopher knew long before I did that we were right for each other. So he pursued me.ย Our friendship quickly morphed into a best friends relationship within a few weeks and before I knew it, I was questioning my decision not to date.

I prayed about it… a lot. I felt sure that I hadn’t made a poor choice in deciding not to date in high school, but I also felt something for this gorgeous, bronzed, curly-headed, boy that I hadn’t felt before. Have I mentioned that I had never had a boyfriend before Christopher? Have I mentioned that he never had a girlfriend before me? We were each other’s firsts. I love that part of our story. Not just firsts, but also onlys. My first andย onlyย boyfriend. His first andย onlyย girlfriend. I love it. We waited and prayed. Back then I wasn’t a big believer in soul mates, but looking back on it now, I wonder. The way that Christopher is so right for me in every way makes me wonder if maybe just maybe God really did create the two of us just for each other. Two pieces that fit together so perfectly.


I have to tell you, though, prayer didn’t begin suddenly just when I first met him. I actually started praying for my future husband when I was 13. He started praying for his future wife when he was 17. Both of us wanted to wait until we found someone who was “marriage material” (as he would say) before investing our hearts and time into a relationship. God brought us together at just the right time. And I am so grateful for it.

On September 29th, after much prayer and discussion, we decided that maybe just maybe… perhaps we were more ready for marriage than we originally thought. Not ready immediately, but ready to begin looking at options. I’m so glad I opened my heart to him.

And that my friends, is the story of how we met. How he pursued me without fail. How he swept me off my feet and how I fell head over heels for him.ย It has been 2,832 days since that first day we met and they have truly been the best 2,832 days of my life. I am one very blessed lady. ๐Ÿ™‚

34 responses to “The Day We Met…

  1. Y’all are so cute. So ok I dont know if I’ve missed it, but have you ever explained the whys and hows of you moving to and living China?

  2. I LOVE this story!! I see a lot of similarities to our story, although we started dating when I was 15 and Terry was 16. I actually hesitated to begin dating him because even at that age I absolutely knew that I would marry him and I wasn’t sure that I was ready to be with that person already at such a young age. Needless to say, that resolve didn’t last long. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Also hopefully needless to say, we were each other’s firsts, and basically only (a story for another day!!). I also prayed for my husband long before even we started dating, although I’ve never asked him about that… I’ll have to! I’ve also been praying for years and years already for the children that we don’t have yet.

    And on a totally different note, how did it come about that you grew up in China? Was that for your entire growing up life? Is your family still there?

    • I love that you guys have such a similar story! How precious. ๐Ÿ™‚ Like you guys, we knew really early that we wanted to marry each other, but we did decide to wait until we graduated college first, haha! I am curious about your story for another day, though! Sounds like a blog post you might need to write. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      You can read all about the China living here: Have I mentioned I grew up in China? My family moved back to the States while I was in college. My parents wanted to be closer to their grandchildren (who were in the States). ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Very sweet! Makes me want to blog about how I met my husband ๐Ÿ˜€ For a person who claims to not be very mushy (or you used to not be mushy?) you write a lot of mushy posts! ๐Ÿ˜‰ But I love it!

    • Oh girl, I am a huge mushy gushy kinda girl! I used to not be into all that girly overly emotional stuff, but I definitely am now, haha! My husband has brought it all out in me! ๐Ÿ˜‰ You should definitely write about how you met your husband! I’d love to read it! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. This is SUCH a sweet post. I love it so much. You both seem like such wonderful people and I’m very happy you found each other! ๐Ÿ™‚ I wish I could meet you both. Cheers to many more happy years :)!!!

  5. I just love it! I can tell that you guys are meant for each other by what you said, because it sounds a LOT like how my hubby and I feel about each other and how we met! I KNOW that my hubby and I have a “once in a lifetime” love, and I think y’all do too!!!!!

  6. I love this story! I think it’s so sweet that you both waited for someone special!

  7. This is such a sweet and beautiful story. ๐Ÿ™‚ You and Chris do seem wonderful together!

  8. And that my dear lady, is one of the best stories I have heard.. it’s actually funny how men are usually sure from beginning about their choice, and then they try to persuade us, haha. With my husband it was the same. But truly, you guys are Beautiful. I respect the kind of relationship you have and feel so happy for you!

  9. This is the cutest thing in the world. Like it legitimately brought tears to my eyes! Soul mates is for sure! I love it!

  10. Absolutely made-for-each-other! Isn’t it wonderful to finally meet the one you just know God intended for you all along? Thank you for sharing that, Rach!

  11. Okay, I might cry. This is the sweetest story. You should probably send your blog to a Hollywood movie producer since this is the stuff romantic movies are made from! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  12. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Aw, Rach! What a beautiful retelling of you & Christopher’s relationship! It’s really funny how God seems to bring certain people into our lives at the perfect times– and I have no doubt that He did that with you & Christopher that fine day in September ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. This is so sweet!
    Sometimes you can’t help at what time the person comes into your life. It is such a great love story.

  14. LOVEEE THIS!! I am so glad you wrote this. You two are seriously the epitome of ADORABLE!

  15. Aw, I love this story! You guys really are a cute couple!

  16. what a great story! love it!! yall are so cute.

  17. Pingback: The Day We Met {part 2} |

  18. How we met stories are always so sweet. But I have to say yours is awesome! I love that you both were praying to find that special one — It sounds like you were truly meant for each other!

  19. Rachel! That is a beautiful story and couldn’t have happened to a more beautiful soul! You guys seem so happy and so in love. Cheers to waiting, it’s so very refreshing!

  20. I love this story! It encourages me so much that you both prayed about your relationship. I don’t want to get into another relationship until I have found the right person down the line who will have a Christ centered relationship with me. But, in all honesty, sometimes I scared that that will never happen. Stories like your’s are so encouraging ๐Ÿ™‚ So happy to hear how perfect this all worked out!

  21. this is honestly the cutest, most beautiful, love story I have ever heard. Each other’s first and only, wow – not many people could say that. How special for you both!

  22. awww.. so sweet. What a wonderful story! =D

  23. That is so stinking cute!! I love it!!!

  24. This is so sweet. Ben and I met as college freshman and I gave him my own speech…but we were each others first loves and first…everything but kissing. ๐Ÿ™‚

  25. I absolutely loved reading this, Rachel! What a sweet story. How amazing it must be to have your husband be your first boyfriend. That is something most girls can only dream about. Sounds like a real life fairy tale! The idea of Soulmates seems possible through stories like yours ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thank you for sharing!

  26. This is gorgeous beyond words. xo

  27. Rach DonutsMama

    I really respect this attitude toward dating and treating each men/women in a manner that is respectful b/c let’s face it–most of the people we date we don’t end up marrying. I wish more people had this attitude. But granted, it’s harder the older you get.

  28. anshulrautela

    lovely… God bless you both! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  29. I love it!!! Y’all are so beautiful together!! I started praying for my future husband when I was really young too and God honored that prayer! I believe you two are soul mates!

Leave a Reply

