This week’s fun (plus Jamaican Chicken Stew!)

Thank you guys SO much for your sweet compliments about my license photo. I figured it would just make you guys laugh which it obviously did, but I didn’t expect all the sweet words. You guys are the best!

Every week on Tuesday, we get together with some of our best friends for dinner. The couple that normally hosts was out of town this week so the rest of us decided to go out and try some delicious local food!

Bruschetta and fish ‘n chips! SO delicious!

Also, since said friends are out of town, we have been keeping their pup for them. She and Oreo have had a blast together! 🙂

Also, I realized that it has been a ridiculously long time since I last shared a recipe with you guys! So how about last night’s dinner? We had Jamaican Chicken Stew and it was delicious!

Jamaican Chicken Stew

Ingredients:

1 cup uncooked brown rice
2 tsp olive oil
1 cup onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into bite sized pieces
1 tsp curry powder
1 tsp thyme
1/2 tsp ground allspice
1/2 tsp crushed red pepper
1/2 tsp cracked black pepper
1/4 cup red cooking wine
1 (15oz) can black beans, rinsed and drained
1 (14.5oz) can diced tomatoes, undrained

Directions:

1. Prepare rice according to package directions, omitting salt and fat.

2. While rice cooks, heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add onion and garlic; sauté 3 minutes or until tender.

3. Combine chicken and the next 5 ingredients (chicken through black pepper) in a bowl. Add chicken mixture to pan; sauté 4 minutes.

4. Stir in wine, beans, and tomatoes. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer 10 minutes or until tender. Serve over rice.

——

We only ate half of it last night so we are having the leftovers tonight and I am so excited! The flavors were just that great! 🙂

Have a beautiful Thursday!

26 responses to “This week’s fun (plus Jamaican Chicken Stew!)

  1. That’s so fun that you do dinners with your best friends weekly. What a great idea! Have fun pup sitting!

  2. That’s SO cute that you and other couples get together every week. I love it!

  3. I hope when I get married I have the same thing were my husband and I have weekly dinner with friends. Such a great way to stay in touch. And that chicken stew looks delicious!!

  4. Aww so great that you and your husband have such awesome friends that all get together once a week! Your jamaican stew recipe looks awesome I love all of the ingredient flavors 🙂

  5. I love the weekly dinner date idea – that’s so cute! That recipe sounds delish, and the dogs are too cute 🙂

    Annie
    The Other Side of Gray

  6. Loveee the puppy pictures! Adorable!

  7. Starving! And love that photo of the pups!

  8. Delicious looking food!! I love the license photo, you do indeed look great despite blending into the background!

  9. I am going to make this recipe soon!! I looks SO good! I love the pictures of Oreo 🙂 he always has playmates !

  10. Love Bruschetta!! Ok, it’s time for breakfast .. the pictures make me hungry!!

  11. oh your friends are lucky! what a great dish! i might not have shared. haha

  12. Love the puppies playing together!!!! The stew looks delicious!

  13. That recipe sounds AMAZING. I love “jerk” anything.we had really good Jamaican places in Florida, but notsomuch here 😦

  14. That Jamaican Chicken Stew looks and sounds great! I’m going to have to try it sometime 🙂

  15. Aw – I love doggy friends!

  16. That Jamaican Stew looks GREAT! I am definitely going to try that soon.

  17. this recipe is getting bookmarked! Yum. We just puppy-sat for a friend who went on business and it turned out to be complete craziness with two dogs! They loved eachother but it was definitely a lot for a 1 br apartment 🙂

    xx,
    Erin
    http://erinscurrentlycoveting.blogspot.com

  18. Oh my gosh I just saw the license photo and I am laughing so hard. That is absolutely fantastic! I would love having that, just for a nice chuckle every time you see it. Absolutely hilarious. My last license photo, I thought I looked so cute, but in the picture I’m looking up and to the side. It makes my husband laugh so hard every time. He says it looks like I’m startled by something.

  19. That is so neat that you have a couples group – seems like a great way to stay in touch with friends! Delicious looking chicken!

  20. What a fun week! Dinner with friends…pup sitting…and a yummy recipe. Can’t beat it 🙂 Hope you have a lovely weekend as well Rach!

  21. Dogs and dinner…where do I sign up?

  22. That is so fun y’all have a weekly dinner with friends! I need to tell my friends about this! Food looks yummy 🙂

  23. Well, my hubby and I dont have friends, so we cant do things like this, but I really think its awesome that you can 🙂
    Plus, the puppies seem to really enjoy themselves!!

  24. You have a beautiful family! And that stew is a must try! 🙂

  25. what a fun recipe, love the island inspiration!!!

Leave a Reply

