The perils of working with teenagers…

As many of you know, Christopher and I work with teenagers. And we love it. Really and truly, love our kids. However, there can be the occasional hazard to spending so much time with teens… for example the point at which they feel comfortable visiting your house at 2am and doing this:

Oh yeah, we woke up to that on Saturday morning. But don’t worry, those responsible (well, 2 of the 5 anyway) came to clean it up. 😉 Funnily enough, though, our next door neighbor was trying to explain the “joke” to her 4-year-old daughter. To which the little girl said, “Do bad mommies and daddies drive their kids there to do it?” HA! Oh gracious… cracks me up.

Honestly, we don’t mind if our kids want to roll us or fork our yard or whatever…….. as long as they clean it up! We try to be good sports about stuff like this because well… we work with teens and things like this are pretty inevitable. Just as long as I’m not the one in the 100 degree heat cleaning it up the next day. 😉

And on that note, I need to go bake some special cookies with Ex-Lax for five special teens……. just kidding! Or am I…? 😉

25 responses to “The perils of working with teenagers…

  1. Doooo it! Doooo it! Doooo it! Just to show them that you, too, have a sense of humor. You’re a good soul, Rach. xo

  2. I think it’s really sweet that they got you and came to clean it up. Shows how much they trust and love you. I’m with mcolasante do the cookies, or maybe you don’t want to give them any new ideas.

  3. It might be annoying, but it’s probably a sign of affection! I’d bake the cookies if it was me, just to show them that you know how to trick them, too!

  4. Aw, it’s so nice that some came back to clean it up! Our teens have threatened to teepee us sometime, but haven’t tried it yet 🙂 It wouldn’t surprise me if it happened before a few of them leave for college in the fall though!

  5. Aww well at least some came back and tried to help clean it up! I would bake the cookies, for the same reason Sarah said!

  6. Its so nice to see some things don’t change. Because I fully admit that I did this as a teenager (and in college) and those memories always make me grin!

  7. haha – when I was in high school, my house would get tp’d every single weekend. The guys in the grade above me used to think it was hilarious. The first few weekends it was, then it just got annoying!

  8. Oh MAN I miss those days! The clean up wasn’t fun, but you can’t help but laugh when it happens to you!

  9. One time when I was in HS my house got egged and TP’d. I thought it was two people and they came to clean it up with some force from a guy that my best friends mom was dating. He was scary, so they listened. Turns out it wasn’t them..oops!

  10. Ha! That’s awesome!!!!!!!!

  11. haha, we had some serious TP wars in high school… and yes, we usually felt guilty and went back to clean it up too!
    xx
    Here&Now

  12. Humm I didnt know that u work with teenagers.. What kind of work it is? Anyway sounds awesome 🙂

    • I mentor a group of 15-17 year old girls and my husband mentors 17-18 year old boys. We are involved in their day-to-day lives. We love on them, pray for them, support them in academics & athletics. Give them a listening ear, a safe haven, and very frequently cook for them. 😉

  13. ittybitsofbalance

    Haha! How hilarious! You have a great mindset about the whole thing though– teens will be teens!

  14. Ha! This post is too funny Rach!

  15. That is great you you guys are good sports about it! I guess there are much worse things that a group of teens could have spent their time doing! That neighbours kid comment is so cute haha!

  16. haha definitely put the ex lax in there ! 🙂 Don’t you love working with kids!? haha its days like this when they start to pull pranks on you that means they really love you LOL 🙂

  17. This is what my house looks like every homecoming…gotta love teenagers! I’m like you…as long as it’s all in fun and not malicious, they get to have their fun! I do love it when they come and clean it up also!

  18. OH goodness. Teenagers are the best! hahaha

  19. Pingback: Finally in town!! |

  20. Oh my goodness I’d be SO upset! What sort of work do you do with teenagers?

    • I mentor a group of 15-17 year old girls and my husband mentors 17-18 year old boys. We are involved in their day-to-day lives. We love on them, pray for them, support them in academics & athletics. Give them a listening ear, a safe haven, and very frequently cook for them. 😉 We love our kiddos and really didn’t mind the prank since they came by and cleaned it up later. 🙂

  21. oho my, that is sooo funny – I am so glad to see you can take it all in fun 🙂

  22. haha – you totally crack me up. I can so totally empathize with you on this one. I always love catching up on your posts, always always always. All your trips…fantastic! Life is so wonderfully full, isn’t it?? We just booked up every weekend between now and September, very low key, but fun things and making the time to spend with people we care about. I am looking forward to it. By the way, I love yours and Christopher’s matching sunglasses!!!!! Your sister photos are awesome. The wedding you planned looks so lovely, intimate and organic…love it! And your garden…sigh…too cool for words…you are already reaping the fruits of your labor!!!! I so could use some tips with that. I’ve always wanted to garden…maybe sometime soon. Have a wonderful 4th of July celebration bella!!!!

  23. Oh no! Haha. I’m glad at least two of the five that did it came back to help.

Leave a Reply

