Baking cookies in the car!

That’s right, I did it! And you can too. It is unbelievably simple! I used our favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe (see below) to make the dough. Then just pop ’em on a foil covered cookie sheet and put them in your car for a minimum of 3 hours in direct sunlight when the temps outside are at least 95+ the entire time. They were PERFECT!

Cookie Dough!

Nearly baked!

All done!!

Our Favorite Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe

1/2 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup sugar in the raw
2 tbsp water
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 egg, beaten
1 1/8 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup chocolate chips

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (or “preheat your car” by putting outside in direct sunlight)

2. In a medium bowl, cream together the butter and sugar. Mix in water, vanilla, and egg. Sift together the flour, baking soda, and salt; stir into the creamed mixture. Mix in the chocolate chips. Drop cookies by heaping teaspoonfuls onto a cookie sheet.

3. Bake in the preheated oven for 10 to 12 minutes (or bake in car for 3 hours). Remove from cookie sheets to cool on wire racks.

Absolutely delicious. And without heating up your kitchen! 🙂

31 responses to “Baking cookies in the car!

  1. Bahaha I LOVE THIS. I have to try this..maybe when I go visit AZ again. Washington is too cold for this..booo.

  2. Rach DonutsMama

    That’s crazy! And awesome that you actually tried it. I’m sure in the TX heat I could bake cookies all summer long!

  3. That is CRAZY! We’re in a hot spell for a few days, I think it’s supposed to be in the 90’s, maybe it’ll hit 95. Haha, this just cracks me up though!

  4. Oh my!! I showed this to my mom and we are amazed! You always do the coolest stuff!

  5. No way!?! Thanks for the smile, my friend. I so needed to read something like this. 🙂

  6. hahaha, this is awesome!

  7. Brilliant! I’ve got to try this when/if I visit Texas this summer.

  8. This is so clever! They cook before the dough goes bad?

  9. wow, that’s such a great idea!!!

    xo,
    Angela
    headtotoechic.blogspot.com

  10. OH MY GOSH. You are a genius, Rach. 🙂 With all of the heat here in Texas, I’m sure we could bake cookies in our cars for the whole country to share. It gets pretty hot down here during the summer. But I love this! It is such a great way to cut back on electricity usage (and the electric bill) and still have a yummy batch of cookies. 🙂

  11. That is so funny! I should try that! The temperature where I live has not been out of the high 90’s for days.

  12. No way!!! Bahahahaha!! This is awesome!

  13. Oh my god… your a genius! 😀 Btw, I wanted to ask what is your FB user and how are u putting your signature on the end of every post?

  14. Oh my gosh! How cool is that????

  15. Ummm this is AWESOME… best idea I have heard of recently, thanks Rach!

  16. What? I’m so impressed. This is awesome Rach! I’d do anything not to heat up my kitchen in this heat!!! Thanks for the tip. Can’t wait to try it!!!

  17. This is the weirdest thing I’ve ever seen! But I want to try it now! It’s unbelievable how hot the car can get during the summertime!

  18. what?! seriously!! how good did they turn out? how long did it take?

  19. OMG – I totally could have done this yesterday – this rocks!! It has been 100 degrees the past few days in Chicago it is insane!

  20. That’s HILARIOUS!!!!!!!!! I thought you meant while driving. Could I do this on a road trip?? Lol.

  21. Hahaha I totally thought you were joking!! Love this! I bet they were delicious 🙂

  22. Rach, this is one of the coolest things I have seen yet in the blog world. I love this idea!

    I nominated you for an award. Check it out! 🙂
    http://sugarlyeverafter.blogspot.com/2012/07/awards.html

  23. I totally had one thought only – good Lord your car would smell SOOOO good after this.

  24. Pingback: The Skinniest Pasta | Corrie Anne

  25. How clever!! Of course, if you’re me, you just eat the dough with a spoon and call it a day 🙂

  26. Ahahah oh my goodness this cracked me up! Fantastic. Absolutely fantastic. Plus! Your house doesnt get hot because of the oven!

  27. Haha that is awesome! Especially since using the oven makes the house extra hot. I also heard that you can use pizza boxes and foil to make a solar oven…I need to try both of these!

Leave a Reply

