Celebrating Independence!

We celebrated the 4th of July with friends!

I made red velvet cake with cream cheese frosting! I put blueberries in the center for that classic red, white and blue coloring! 🙂 My secret recipe?? 1 box red velvet cake mix, 1 pint red velvet ice cream, and 3 eggs blended together then baked 45 minutes at 350. 🙂

In case you can’t tell, there are lots of kids in our friend group! 😉 But then I guess we are just at that stage in life where everyone is havin’ babies which is definitely okay by me. 🙂

Bean bag toss! Aaaand Jonathan wishing you a happy Independence Day in his very attractive outfit. 😉

And of course it isn’t a proper summer celebration without popsicles! Ps. the little boy in the blue is Nolan and he has the biggest crush on me. It’s pretty much adorable. He even called me “babe” last night. 😉

Playin’ with some fireworks… 😉

Fun with sparklers!! They wrote so much random stuff and drew some pretty ridiculous stuff too. Ah, good times. 🙂

And you know, I can’t talk about Independence Day without actually talking about Independence. The whole patriotism thing is always a bit confusing for me since I have always felt very split in my loyalties between my most formative years spent in China and being a US citizen (not to mention living here now). However, regardless of where I may feel my loyalty does or doesn’t lie, I am thankful to live in a country that promotes equality, freedom of religion, and freedom of speech. Not that the USA is perfect by any means, but I am grateful to be able to vote, speak my mind, and love my Jesus openly with no fear.

23 responses to “Celebrating Independence!

  1. Oh my gosh I LOVE that idea for a cake!! I’ll be doing that next year! And I think that it’s great to show a little American pride, but still be able to admit that the US isn’t perfect 🙂 Very well put!

  2. Your cake looks so yummy! I love cream cheese frosting!

  3. I think BOB is my favorite sparkler word. haha random! Unless of course there was a bob in the group. 😉

    Your cake looks delicious and there are a ton of kids there! But how fun!!
    Emily at Amazing Grapes

  4. ittybitsofbalance

    Amen, Rachel! I was actually thinking about that the other day– how lucky we are to even be able to meet in actual Bible studies and churches without being harassed or bombed! Just another one of those blessings that are worth recognizing!

  5. Ohhh man, cake with ice cream in it?! GENIUS! It looks like you had a great 4th of July – the pictures with the sparklers are amazing! I’ve been dying to do that!
    PS – I loved what you said in the last paragraph, sometimes it is easy to take all of that for granted.

  6. Looks like a blast! Sparklers scar me–i’m such a wuss!

  7. Happy 4th of July! =) Lots of good times with friends! Love the cake by the way!!

  8. That cake looks great! 🙂 I love the sparklers. So fun!

  9. lately i’ve been on a red velvet cake kick, so that looks delish!

  10. LOVE the sparkler pics – so cool. And your swimsuit is so adorable. aaaand red velvet cake happens to be my fav – that looks so yummy! looks like you had a great day friend! 🙂

  11. Um can I buy Jonathan’s shirt?

  12. What an absolutely beautiful post. 🙂 I agree with you — I am so grateful to live in a free country and for those that gave their lives so I could live without fear. I know if I trust in the Lord I can do anything. 🙂

    I love how you used red velvet ice cream IN your cake. I never would have thought to have your cake AND ice cream together like that — it’s genius! 😀 I bet that tasted AMAZING! ❤

  13. Beautifully said…and I LOVE your bathingsuit!

  14. What a great cake idea! It looks like you guys had a wonderful 4th!

  15. Need that cake in my life asap!! Looks like you had a great holiday 🙂

  16. Those pictures are AWESOME! And that cake looks too good! 🙂 Looks like an awesome day!

  17. You are SO adorable! you look amazing in blue! Love that swimsuit 🙂 I hope you and your family enjoyed the holiday!

  18. How fun! Your patriotic cake looks delicious and writing words with sparklers is always entertaining! I was in the office quite a bit on the 4th and then went over to a friend’s for a BBQ and to watch the fireworks. Very low key.

  19. That cake looks to die for! I love that you incorporated the blueberries…Definitely looks like a fabulous 4th of July to me!

  20. Ahhh that cake! THAT cake! I adore red velvet and seriously cream cheese frosting is my favorite thing ever. Looks so yummy! Glad you had a great holiday girl 🙂

  21. i LOVE the cake, looks like y’all had a blast!!! i have always wanted to take sparkler pics like that, I just don’t know how to adjust the setting on my camera to achieve those results, unless I need a manual operations old school camera?

  22. How fun! I love sparklers! we did fireworks at my aunts then I headed out with my high school friends who i have known for 9 years now ahhh time has flown!

Leave a Reply

