White Chicken Enchiladas (and my precious pup!)

<scroll down for White Chicken Enchilada Recipe>

Last week was great, but also exhausting. Sunday afternoon I made some time for a nap! And since my husband apparently thinks I look precious when I sleep, he snapped this shot:

This is Oreo’s “Why-Are-You-Disturbing-My-Slumber” look. 😉

Speaking of Oreo… I made him a collar out of hemp! He is so hipster!

He’s my fav. 🙂

In other news, you guys have seen that pin on Pinterest for the best white chicken enchiladas, right? In case you haven’t, here’s a direct link to the recipe on Joyful Momma’s Kitchen. 🙂 We made them and you guys, they are pretty much amazing.

White Chicken Enchiladas 

1 medium onion, diced
1 tbsp olive oil
10 soft taco shells
2 lbs chicken, cooked and shredded
2 cups Monterey Jack cheese, shredded
3 tbsp butter
3 tbsp flour
2 cups chicken broth
1 cup sour cream
1 (4 oz) can diced green chilies

Directions:

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease a 9×13 pan.

2. Saute onion in olive oil until translucent then toss shredded chicken into the pan with the onion for 1-2 minutes. Add 1 cup cheese and mix together. Remove from heat.

3. In a sauce pan, melt butter, stir in flour and cook 1 minute.  Add broth and whisk until smooth.  Heat over medium heat until thick and bubbly.

4. While sauce is cooking, evenly distribute chicken mixture into tortillas, roll them up, and place in pan.

5. Stir in sour cream and chilies into soup mixture.  Do not bring to boil, you don’t want curdled sour cream. Pour over enchiladas and top with remaining cheese.

6. Bake 22 min and then under high broil for 3 min to brown the cheese.
—–
You guys, it is fabulous. Just sayin’. 🙂
39 responses to “White Chicken Enchiladas (and my precious pup!)

  1. I have been thinking about trying those, now I just have too! Your doggy is so cute, I think I’ve told you that before…but really! 🙂

  2. i love white chicken enchiladas!

  3. Um, I just got hungry reading this! For sure going to make these this week. Yum, yum, yum! Thank you for sharing 🙂

  4. Angie @ The Fitness Apple

    The collar Is so cute!!!

  5. what a cute sleeping picture!! and those look SOOO good! wish i was eating that for dinner tonight!!

  6. Aw Oreo is adorable. Love his face in that picture…you described it perfectly. Haha. And that recipe sounds/looks fantastic! I’m always a sucker for enchiladas!

  7. Oh my god I love that sleeping/spooining picture, and I love that Hemp collar, and I love those enchiladas! Love love love! 🙂

    Ps. Tutorial on the hemp collar, por favor. Want to make one for my pooch!

  8. What a great looking weekend! I love the look on Oreo’s face when his nap time was interrupted! haha
    xx
    Here&Now

  9. Your dog is so freaking cute!!! 🙂

  10. Ugh seriously..I NEED your dog. The freakin cutest!! And you look like an angelic goddess while sleeping.True story.

  11. Those enchiladas sound awesome. I can’t believe I’ve never tried a similar recipe. I LOVE DOGS! lol.

  12. That is such a cute picture! 🙂 Those enchiladas look amazing! I am definitely going to have to try them. Mexican food is my favorite.

  13. I am totally making these! I haven’t made enchiladas forever and I love them!! Thanks for the recipe.
    Creamy

  14. hahaha.. still beautiful even when asleep! yummy recipe!!

  15. Oh, girl, I just might be making these tonight! I am a sucker for any new Mexican food recipe! Thanks for sharing!
    Shanna
    Giveaway @ Because Shanna Said So

  16. Dinner looks delicious! Thanks for the recipe!

  17. I haven’t seen this pin, so I am glad I read your post.
    Those enchiladas look fabulous!! Too bad it’s not dinner time yet. 😉

  18. Oh those enchiladas look great! My husband loves stuff like this so I’ll definitely be making those 🙂

  19. Haha, aw! 🙂 I love Oreo’s hemp necklace. So fashionable! The enchiladas look delicious btw — Pinterest ftw!

  20. Yummo! FedEx me some, please!

  21. You do look precious, and so does Oreo.

    Mmmmm….enchiladas!

  22. OMG Yum! Those enchiladas look ahhhmazing! Mexican food is my absolute fav, haha.

  23. Yummm, thank you for the recipe Rach! And that first picture is rather adorable 🙂

  24. There is little better than snuggling with a pup.

  25. Aw Rach you look so cute!!

  26. Oh that’s funny I MADE those too and I actually didn’t like them AT ALL straight out of the oven but absolutely LOVED them as a leftover and if you knew me and enchiladas as leftovers, that NEVER EVER happens…

    And you do look adorable sleeping. ;p
    Emily at Amazing Grapes

  27. Those enchiladas totally look like something E would love – I’ll have to try them! Your puppy is so snuggly aww!

  28. Haha my boyfriend sometimes takes ‘funny’ snaps of me sleeping, but they are always far less flattering! And your pup is so cute!!! 🙂

    Life Etc

  29. I hope you have a great weekend!

  30. I am salivating right now! Good thing I have dinner in the oven!

  31. Such a cute picture of you napping with your pup!
    I’ve been meaning to try that recipe…thanks for the reminder. They look great!

  32. Oreo is super hipster LOL. The picture of you and Oreo is seriously so cute!

  33. Oh gosh. Between this post and another I read this morning, my mouth is WATERING for Mexican food right now. Must remedy that. Soon. Happy weekend Rach!

  34. my mouth is watering for those white chicken enchiladas (even at this hour!). I’m totally making them soon!!!

  35. Pingback: This would be a cute movie beginning… |

  36. Pingback: 13 of the Best Freezer Meals |

  37. Pingback: The Nesting… |

Leave a Reply

