Summer Pasta Dish! {and a trip to the oral surgeon}

Went to the oral surgeon for a consultation yesterday. He was great. Super friendly and informative. I’m not exactly stoked to have my wisdom teeth ripped out of my face, but I’m also not as anxious about it as I was before. So I guess the consultation was good in that sense, haha! Funnily enough he told me that it looked like I really should’ve had the wisdom teeth out 4 or 5 years ago… at which point I flashed back to almost exactly 4 years ago when my dentist told me a week before my wedding that I needed to have my wisdom teeth out. With a panicked look I explained that my wedding was a week away and I didn’t want to have a swollen chipmunk face. It’s amazing that the oral surgeon could tell almost precisely how long I’d needed to have these teeth out! Anyway, I have successfully put it off for the past 4 years and pleasantly ignored my dentists recommendations to have them removed but, the time has come… er, well… coming. August 24th is the big day.

So to take my mind off the removal of parts of my mouth…

PASTA! Ah, I love pasta. It makes my heart smile.

I saw this recipe for Lemon Basil Shrimp and Pasta over on Pink Bites and I just had to try it. Especially since I had extra lemons on hand and tons of basil growing in my garden! 🙂

Lemon Basil Shrimp and Pasta

Ingredients:

8 oz spaghetti, cooked al dente (we made our homemade noodles!)
olive oil
zest & juice of 1 lemon
2 cloves garlic, minced
20 medium shrimp (we used frozen pre-cooked ones and simply dethawed them)
handful fresh basil, chopped
salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

1. While pasta cooks, coat the bottom of a skillet with olive oil. Add the lemon zest and let it infuse the oil over medium-low heat for about 5 minutes, being careful not to burn it.

2. Add the lemon juice, garlic, and shrimp, turn the heat to medium and cook until shrimp is pink. Season with salt pepper to taste.

3. Add the pasta along with some of the cooking liquid and stir well. Check the taste and adjust seasonings if necessary. Add the chopped basil, mix well, transfer to a plate and serve immediately.

Alrighty friends, I’m off to an (early) birthday party in my honor! Hooray!

34 responses to “Summer Pasta Dish! {and a trip to the oral surgeon}

  1. That pasta looks sooo yummy! I really want to try it. 😀

    I’m sorry to hear about your wisdom teeth…I’ll be praying for you!

    -Tia

  2. I know that getting wisdom teeth out can be scary, but once it’s over you’ll be all done! Wishing you the best with it! ❤

  3. Oh I am so sorry about your wisdom teeth! I have to have mine out soon too 😦 buuut at least your pasta recipe is amazing !!

  4. Oh, Girl, I feel your pain! I was SO scared to get my wisdom teeth out!! But I can tell you that it wasn’t hard at all!! The dentist gave me some good medicine, so I slept through the whole thing. 🙂 I don’t even remember waking up and walking to the car with my hubby! Ha, ha. And for the rest of the day, I just chillaxed at home and had a ‘sick day’. It really wasn’t that painful at all. I was a bit sore afterward, but a bit of tylenol fixed that. 🙂

  5. Ayy good luck with the wisdom teeth. You’ll be so happy when that’s over!!! Have a fun party!

  6. Pleasssee have someone record you while you are on the funny gas, you will die at how funny you look and sound. Having my wisdom teeth yanked wasn’t bad, it was tender for a few weeks after but my recovery went well! This pasta looks great.

  7. I envy the basil growing in your garden! I can’t wait to have my own garden. =D

  8. aw, good luck with the wisdom teeth! i’m sure it will go fine. as for the pasta dish – yummy!!! what is it with pasta dishes lately?? haha. 🙂

  9. Good luck with the wisdom teeth! My dentist told me I’d need mine out by age 18. I’m now 25 😛

  10. No worries, Rach…just consider it a time to really focus on perfecting the milkshake. Nothing better than ice cream in a cup when you get the wisdoms yanked!

  11. I’m sorry about your wisdom teeth! That pasta looks delicious! So fresh and light 🙂

  12. Oh no! Good luck with getting them out. I’m way long overdue to have mine removed too. Putting it off 😦

    Also, your pasta looks lovely! 🙂

  13. good luck with getting your wisdom teeth out! i’ve had mine removed but they weren’t impacted so could just be done right at the dentists office. wasn’t bad at all 🙂 also that pasta dish sounds so perfect for summer, love it!

  14. This looks SO good! such simple ingredients but it all sounds amazing. I’m totally making this tonight! thanks for sharing!!

  15. I had my wisdom teeth out and it was no big deal! 🙂 Hopefully yours goes smooth as well!

  16. Happy early birthday!!! I hope the wisdom teeth removal goes well!!

  17. I had mine out, and they were worst case scenario…Mine were impacted, and they had to break the bone. I was wide awake (numb), but felt NO pain! I just made sure to use alternating ice packs, and have lots of milkshakes and smoothies afterwards. I don’t think I was ever in real pain, but I did look like a chipmunk for a day or two!

  18. this dish looks wonderful – and will pray for speedy healing on your wisdom teeth. All four of my wisdom teeth were “impacted” and needed surgery too – right after we first got married!!!

  19. Good luck with the wisdom teeth. Definitely no fun. I am in desperate need of a dentist appointment and can’t bring myself to make it so I feel your pain. That pasta dish looks amazing!
    Creamy

  20. Pasta + seafood = my favourite meal ever! This looks delish! I hate wisdom teeth, my boyfriend just had his come through and he needed super strong painkillers every day!

  21. I just got my wisdom teeth out a few weeks ago… after my childhood dentist told me I would never need to get them removed. Hmph. If you are doing laughing gas, bring your iPod and headphones with. My oral surgeon had me go through two surgeries, one side at a time, and the second time was 100x better with my iPod. Good luck!! 🙂

  22. that will definitely be my next meal to make. looks amazing! i need to get my wisdom teeth out soon. i’ve been putting it off too. if it goes well for you (which i’m sure it definitely will) i’ll take that as a good sign!!!! 😛

  23. This sounds amazing! I love shrimp in pasta dishes!

    Good luck with your wisdom teeth…I had mine out when I was 18…my mom made me do it over winter break. Ugh! It was forever ago, but I remember needing the painkillers for a few days, and looking like a chipmunk, but it wasn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be!

  24. Good luck with the Wisdom Teeth removal… be sure to eat all the slirpy food you can now… save the ice cream and sno cones for recovery!
    xx
    Here&Now

  25. Oh no!!! Good luck with the removal! I have a MAJOR fear of anything relating to the dentist or my teeth! It’s my TRUE phobia!!

  26. Good luck having them out, not pleasant I’m sure but then you’ll have no more pain!

  27. inredningsvis.se

    GREAT POST:)

    Your blog is so wonderful and Im following you on twitter and pinterest…I hope you follow me also:)

    If you want some swedish decor inspiration…check out my blog:)

    Have a great weekend

    LOVE Maria at inredningsvis.se
    (sweden)

  28. Aw – I’m sure you’ll be fine – good luck with the removal! And that pasta looks ahhhhmazing 🙂

    Annie
    The Other Side of Gray

  29. You’ll be fine! Will you get general anaesthesia? I did when I had mine out and it was pretty sweet. I just heard about a book called The Excruciating History of Dentisty that I want to read so that I can appreciate all of the wonderful advancements in the field – maybe it will cure my phobia!

  30. I was so worried about my wisdom teeth too and it wasn’t that bad. And you have an excuse to eat lots of ice cream!

  31. Oh I still remember the days of getting my wisdom teeth out. No horror stories from me, but I did take the drugs for sure 😉 Get well soon!

  32. My dentist told me this last time that I should have my taken out too – I keep putting it off because I hate dental work! That pasta on the other hand – I’m sure I’d love!

  33. Yeah, I wouldn’t want a chipmunk face for my wedding either! I’ve been to the oral surgeon for my wisdom teeth – back in college. It wasn’t too bad.

    I actually had a trip to the oral surgeon when I was in elementary school, too,for gum replacement surgery – now that was no picnic!

    Thinking of you!

  34. Pingback: Goodbye Wisdom Teeth |

Leave a Reply

