Girls’ Sleepover!

Dear wonderful and precious friends, thank you for the prayers and support after yesterday’s post. I appreciate them more than you know. You guys are so precious to me! 🙂

Like I mentioned yesterday, I had my girls over for a sleepover. I’ve been with my girls since they were in 7th-8th grades and now they have just begun their 10th-11th grade years of high school. From time to time over the years I’ve made references to something and then said “well, that’s a story for another time” which has driven some of my girls crazy, haha! So I finally just sat down and wrote it all out. And I shared it with them.

Much of my life I thought my story was one of rejection and pain, but looking back at it now I see how it is a story of God’s redemption and faithful love. And it, my friends, is a beautiful story because of that. 

We talked a lot about the lies we hear and how those affected my life as a teen. So I had them each take a dry erase marker and write down the lies they have heard and believed about themselves on the mirror.

“I’m ugly. I’m stupid. I’m not good enough. I’m alone. I’m unwanted. I’m broken. I’m unforgivable. I’m shattered. I’m inadequate. I’m inferior. I’m fat. I’m a disgrace. I’m weak. I can’t change. Yes is the only answer. Broken family = broken life. People pleasing is the only way. Incomplete. Isolated. Not accepted. Not loved. I’m worthless. I’m beyond help. Not worth anyone’s time.” Just take a moment and read that again. That is the way 15-16 year old girls feel about themselves. This is what they are hearing from the world and from those around them. Breaks my heart.

Then we read some scripture and listened to a few songs and I had them write down the TRUTH!

“I’m chosen. I’m accepted. I’m forgiven. I’m loved. I’m worthy. I’m beautiful. I’m HIS. I’m worth it. I’m strong enough. I’m redeemed. I have been made new and different. I will never be the same because I am God’s. God loves me forever and always. God’s love is sufficient in all. God gives power and strength within. I have unsurpassable worth! I’m blameless. I’m pieced together. I’m thought of. I’m engulfed by God’s abundant love. God has a plan for me. I’m precious. I was made for a reason.”  Every time I see that mirror, I tear up all over again. You better believe I’m not erasing those beautiful truths anytime soon.

After talking about what God has to say about us, we talked about being an encouragement to each other. And how important it is to BUILD each other up instead of tearing each other down with unkind words and sarcasm. So I had the girls each take a lipstick tube and literally write words of encouragement on each other. Affirming the beauty they see in their friends.

It was a great night. It made me thankful all over again that I have the opportunity to spend time with these girls. I love them each so much.

20 responses to “Girls’ Sleepover!

  1. You are such a beautiful ray of light, Rachel. God bless you for all you give to those girls. xo

  2. This is so great! I’m sure you are blessing those girls more than you know and leading them to grow in Christ in such a crucial time in their lives!

  3. This is such a beautiful post. I was inspired by it.

    creamyclothes.blogspot.com

  4. I always had those thoughts! Thank the Lord He did not allow me to sink deep and saved me from the lies of the enemy! You are such a blessing to the girls! =)

  5. That’s wonderful! I love that idea. I’m sending Donut over to your house when she’s a teenager!

  6. What your girls wrote down as TRUTHS gives me chills.. So powerful, true, and amazing.

  7. Such a fun and an idea I love Rach!

  8. What an amazing idea – I’ve done something similar on my bathroom mirror as a “frame” so that whenever I look at myself in the mirror I remember that I am love.

  9. Great idea! I that mirror activity will stick with those girls for a long time. You are changing lives! 😀

  10. Oh my gosh…this made me tear up. I hate how girl’s are made to feel so insecure, unwanted and unloved. You are a blessing to each of those girls. What a sweet activity to build up the TRUTH!

  11. I know I say this all of the time, but those girls honestly are SO lucky to have you in their lives. I definitely wish I had someone closer to my age (and not a 50 year old women) at my youth group because I feel like I would have related to them more.

  12. Wow, that sounds so powerful! I would have loved to have had that sort of support at that age. What a beautiful gift it is just to accept people as they are.

  13. Can I just say this and get it out in the open? You are going to make a fantastic mom one day, Lord willing. You’re already such an awesome role model!

  14. So glad you had such a successful and spiritual sleepover for the girls. I think that all girls could appreciate and better themselves from a night like this.

  15. Wow Rach, you are reallu the best!
    This is such an amazing thing to do with these girls!!
    You really did a powerful thing there…

  16. What a positive way to help them! Plus it just looks like a ton of fun.

  17. I love this soo much. What an amazing inspiration you must be to them!

  18. I don’t think you know how much of a difference you are making in these young girls lives. They are blessed to have you, and have the time to reflect on God’s word with you. Are you a youth leader at church or something?

    • I’m a youth volunteer! So yes I am a youth leader, but not paid to do so. My undergraduate degree was in youth and family ministry and I have always had a passion for working with teen girls. I absolutely love it! 🙂 Thanks for your sweet words! 🙂

  19. So awesome to read about your passion for young women…I especially love sharing with them about identity in Christ- such a powerful topic!! I too did my undergrad in youth ministry 😉 love your blog!

Leave a Reply

