Destin Eats!

So Christopher and I both have this notion that going to the beach means you eat seafood while you are there. I think because we normally are in the Gulf Shores area and there is LOTS of inexpensive and delicious seafood there! When we went to Destin in May with our friends, we found that the seafood places were more about atmosphere than great affordable food. So this time around we decided to check out some other options. And oh my gracious, am I ever glad that we did!

We did hit up Fisherman’s Wharf as our only seafood place. Their mahi mahi is amazing plus they are really reasonably priced. Christopher remembers eating here every time his family came to visit when he was growing up. Also, I know this is strange since it’s a seafood place, but Christopher actually was craving a burger so he ordered their avocado bacon burger and I gotta tell you… it was completely amazing! Just as good as my mahi mahi! ๐Ÿ™‚
Fisherman's Wharf on Urbanspoon

Fat Clemenza’s is definitely our favorite Italian place in Destin! We ate here with Tony and Abigail when we came down in the Spring and it was definitely our favorite place then. Everything is SO good and the service is great! Love this place! I actually thought this was going to be our overall favorite place, but well… I’ll get to that. ๐Ÿ™‚
Fat Clemenza's on Urbanspoon

We hit up Guglielmo’s because they had good reviews and while it was really good… it was hard to beat Fat Clemenza’s. The service was definitely great, though! ๐Ÿ™‚

We heard really great things about Pepito’s so we were really excited to try it out. The atmosphere was fun and the service was great, but the food was just okay. I mean, not bad by any means, but it really wasn’t as good as many of the Tex-Mex places we have back home.
Pepitos Mexican Restaurant on Urbanspoon

By far our favorite breakfast place! I am a huge Panera fan because I love their bagels and cream cheese, but this wonderful place Not Just Bagels totally blows Panera out of the water! It’s amazing! The bagels are massive and delicious and the staff (and owner) were super friendly and helpful. Loved this place!
Not Just Bagels on Urbanspoon

Frozen yogurt is always a favorite so we had to hit up Twirl while we were there! It didn’t hurt that we had a 10% off coupon from one of the free See Destin travel books! ๐Ÿ™‚

Twirl Frozen Yogurt on Urbanspoon

Hands down, the best place we ate was McGuire’s Irish Pub. We nearly didn’t go because we thought it would be all about the atmosphere and not about good food, but oh my gracious am I happy we went! Best steak I have ever eaten EVER! Christopher raved about it too. And their bread was amazing. And their Senate Bean Soup (which is only 18 cents!) is amazing too. And the atmosphere is SO much fun! There is over 1 million dollars attached to the walls and ceilings of this place all signed and left by patrons over the years. You better believe we will be back here again. SO much fun, such great service and so delicious!
McGuire's Irish Pub of Destin on Urbanspoon

And this officially concludes the Destin updates. We had a wonderful anniversary and I am excited to go back to Destin again soon! Crystal blue water, white sand beaches, and delicious food! ๐Ÿ™‚

24 responses to “Destin Eats!

  1. Sounds like the perfect way to celebrate an anniversary ๐Ÿ™‚ All that food looks amazing!

  2. everything looks sooo yummy!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Yes, fro yo is a MUST! I am in love with all of the add your own toppings places. There are 2 different fro yo companies like this in my (small) town alone.

  4. I love that you guys are wearing matching shirts haha. I had to click over to that pubs website after seeing your photos. The dollar bills everywhere is quite a site!

  5. Oh my! All of this food is making me hungry! Everything looks amazing!

  6. looks yum! we have never eaten at any of those places in destin!

  7. I agree that beach=seafood. Looks so yummy!
    Creamy

  8. Umm wow, that food looks pretty amazing! What a wonderful way to celebrate your anniversary Rach ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. You are definitely making me need a Destin trip after baby! And you aren’t helping with the prego cravings either! Hahaha

  10. I love the tie dye matchies!! Super cute!

  11. Love Destin! I remember going to McGuires, it was fun!

  12. the irish pub eats look pretty darn fantastic.

  13. DESTIN! Yay. Love that we both went there this summer. And yes. Beach=Seafood. Fo sho.

  14. Yum, that looks amazing!

  15. is fudpuckers still there? I think that was the name of it. Love that place!

  16. yum!!!! I love seafood! and frozen yogurt is my favorite!

  17. Glad you had a great vacation! I wish we had gotten to explore Destin more when we were down there!

  18. Uhmm have I mentioned how adorable you two are..maybe once?? Well I must say it again. This looks like a blast, and DELICIOUS looking food!

  19. Irish pub sounds fun! I hope you tried out your Irish accents while you were there ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. Yum! I’m so glad that dinner is in the oven right now! All of this food sounds amazing and so glad you were adventurous about where you went to eat!

  21. Looks like a GREAT time. I love frozen yogurts!!!

  22. I am so happy you mentioned Maguire’s!! My family works at the one in Pensacola!! My big brother is a “celebrity bartender” there when he’s not doing his accountant thing, my SIL serves there while she finishes her degree, and now my lil bro is a busboy. It is my FAVE!

  23. I love Maguire’s! My family went to the one in Pensacola and you better believe I stapled a dollar to the wall!

  24. Pingback: So. Much. Good. Food. |

Leave a Reply

