Goodbye Wisdom Teeth

Remember when I said that I needed to have my wisdom teeth out? Yeaaah… that was this weekend. Here’s my weekend in Facebook statuses:


Yeah, that was my hope…


Yeaaaah… definitely was awake for the whole thing. Super painful at times (especially all the shots going into my gums!), but mostly just traumatizing/scary/confusing because I just kept thinking that I wasn’t supposed to be awake for any of it. And hearing the doctor continually telling the nurse to give me more drugs because I shouldn’t be awake wasn’t encouraging.

I’m not going to lie… I definitely look pretty rough. The swelling has gone down a ton since Friday, but as it goes down, the bruises are showing up better. And the split lip is doing better, but still definitely there.


My husband went out to buy batteries and came back with frozen yogurt for me! He is the best! I am definitely ready to eat some real food, but trying not to push myself too hard. So far no dry socket so here’s to hoping I continue healing properly! 🙂

 

33 responses to “Goodbye Wisdom Teeth

  1. I had my wisdom teeth taken out in high school. It wasn’t bad at all for me but I was totally knocked out! I can’t imagine being awake. The shots in my gums hurt a whole lot but after that I don’t remember anything. I slept for a few days… I hope your recovery keeps going well!

  2. Ohhh my gosh..I can’t believe you were awake!!! That is awful!!! AHHH

  3. Oh no!!! Poor thing!!! I really do believe that mouth/teeth pain is the worst pain ever! I hope you are recovering well and quickly!

  4. Oh girl, I am so sorry! I can’t even imagine what it was like being awake for that! Hell no!!!! Feel better soon!!
    Shanna

  5. hope you have a speedy recovery!!! thinking of you!

  6. I had a whole bunch of mashed potatoes when I had mine taken out. I had my bottom 2 removed wide awake! With only Novocaine and then the top two taken out years later, completely konked out….and now I have a 5th coming through!

    I can’t make this stuff up.

    Thank goodness your husband is there taking such great care of you. Hope you feel better each day!
    Emily at Amazing Grapes

  7. Oh, love the yogurt haha..

    Gosh, I don’t even want to experience having my wisdom tooth out (again) and you, 4? wow.. You are brave, sister!

  8. I am so sorry you had such a rough experience but I’m glad it’s all over now! Your hubby is the best too 🙂

  9. That sounds awful! Glad to hear you got through it, though! Hope your recovery continues being nice and good 😀

  10. Oh, hon, I hope you’re feeling better. Wisdom teeth removal hurts, hurts, hurts, especially if you’re not probably knocked out for the process! } Lots and lots of fluids, rest, and yes–absolutely–frozen yogurt!!!! xo

  11. You poor thing! How awful! Ben called me Quasimodo b/c my face was swelled on opposite sides– I only had one on the top right and bottom left!

  12. oh my gosh, i’m so sorry!! that’s terrible! thankfully you have a great husband to get you ice cream. i feel so bad for you though!! 😦

  13. Oh NO!!! That’s awful!! I’m SO sorry you had to go through that, but at least it’s over!!!

  14. Oh my goodness I couldn’t imagine being awake for that, Rach! That’s horrible. I’m so sorry you had to go through that! You have such a sweet husband, though, I’m sure he’ll pamper you to your heart’s content. 🙂 You’re in my prayers for a swift recovery (and not too many painful memories!).

    -Tia

  15. Oh no girl! I’m sorry!! Hopefully you have a fast recovery!
    xoxo Darby
    Obviously Obsessed 

  16. Oh no! That sounds terrible! I’m sorry that you had to go through that. I wish you a speedy recovery! 🙂

  17. Oh goodness girl, wishing you a speedy recovery for sure!!! 🙂

  18. Hope recovery is going well!!! Sorry the happy drugs weren’t too effective!

  19. oh.my.gosh. you definitely deserve a lot more frozen yogurt! i hear about stories like this and they always scare me. you poor thing!

  20. You brave chickadee! Anaesthetic doesn’t work well for me either; I once had toe surgery where not only was I awake, I felt every cut and scrape and gouge, so I feel for you!

  21. Getting the wisdom teeth out is awful enough – I can’t imagine being awake for it. Hope you feel better soon!!

  22. Hope you’re recovering well! I still remember getting my wisdom teeth out!

  23. Feel better. SO glad it’s over. I hated getting my wisdom teeth out soo much!

  24. Hope you’re feeling better!

  25. I seriously hate the dentist and anything to do with teeth! that sounds terrible! I’m glad you’re feeling better!

  26. Oh lordieee I am sorry you had to experience this! Get better soon Rach!

  27. OMG you were awake. your facebook statuses make me laugh but also make want to cry for you haha. ❤ glad you're better now!

  28. btw, that’s one of my biggest fears so i will probably never get my wisdom teeth out now 😛

  29. Oh, feel better soon! Hoping you have a wonderful long weekend!

  30. Glad you are beginning to feel better! I got mine out when I was 16, and my daddy made me lots of milkshakes!

  31. Oh, I am sooooo sorry to hear you were awake for it all!

    I had almost every baby tooth pulled when I was little, and I was awake for those, but they were not hard getting out… The wisdom teeth? Nope, I was totally out for those. Thank goodness, since they were all dug out…

    I hope you have a speedy recovery! Sounds like you have a terrific husband!

  32. I’m going to have to have my wisdom teeth removed sooner than later. do you have any tips for me to do beforehand/during/after??

  33. Pingback: Announcing the new job! :) |

Leave a Reply

