Let’s talk Mashed Potatoes

I have eaten a lot of mashed potatoes since last Friday. Like, a lot. In preparation of my impending wisdom teeth removal, I bought a 5lb bag of Yukon Gold potatoes, chopped them into bits, boiled ’em up and have been eating them ever since. So in honor of my potato eating ways of late I thought I’d share a great classic mashed potato recipe…


Mashed Potatoes

Ingredients:

6 medium russet potatoes, peeled and cubed
1 cup milk
1/2 cup butter
Fresh ground salt to taste
Fresh ground pepper to taste

Directions:

Place potatoes in a saucepan and cover with water. Cover and bring to a boil; cook for 20-25 minutes or until very tender. Drain well. Add milk, butter, salt and pepper; mash until light and fluffy.

This is my go-to recipe for mashed potatoes. It’s easily adaptable. Add cheese. Use a different type of milk. Use ranch mix+mayo instead of dairy. And I mean, who says you have to stick with russet potatoes? Red potatoes, Yukon Gold, New Potatoes, Fingerlings… it really doesn’t matter. If it’s a potato then it can be sliced up, boiled, and then mashed! YUM! 🙂

I’d like to say that my mouth is all healed up and I feel great, but that is not so much the truth. I am really hoping to be totally better SOON! On the bright side, the swelling is nearly gone and the bruises are healing up well. 🙂 And until then… I can just eat more mashed potatoes… 😉

19 responses to “Let’s talk Mashed Potatoes

  1. It’s the 1/2 cup of butter that makes me smile widest. Yum! I love adding sour cream to mine to complement the milk, but the older I get, my hips seem to be less forgiving of that.

  2. I love Yukon Gold potatoes!! Mashed potatoes are so yummy, I bet they’re a great wisdom-teeth-removal food. 😀 Happy recovery!

    -Tia

  3. YUM YUM! Sounds delicious! I am a horrible cook, but doesn’t seem too hard! I need to try it 🙂
    xoxo Obviously Obsessed 

  4. I love mashed potatoes. I am definitely going to try your recipe. 🙂 I hope you feel better asap!

  5. I love mashed potatoes! My favorite are sweet potatoes with some roasted garlic and pepper! Hope your mouth is feeling better! I got my wisdom teeth taken out a few months ago, so I feel your pain!

  6. I love adding half a cup of sour cream to my mashed potatoes! I’m sorry you’re having such a tough time, and I hope you feel much better soon! Remember to eat plenty of frozen yogurt as well! 😉

  7. I grew up eating a lot of mashed potato, and I always loved it when Mum snuck in horseradish, roasted garlic, or wasabi as a surprise 🙂

  8. i love yukon gold potatoes, pretty much the only potatoes i buy they make the creamiest mashed potatoes.

  9. Yum! I haven’t had good mashed potatoes in a while…makes me want some of my mom’s!

  10. Nothing beats classic mashed potatoes! 🙂

  11. I totally love mashed potatoes with any meal…or just as a meal. Haha! We had them the other night with pot roast. YUM-MY!!

  12. Awwa! I love mashed potatoes. We used to eat them SO MUCH growing up in Minnesota during the winter. In a big Irish family!!

  13. I will definitely be trying this out. I LOVE mashed potatoes!!

    creamyclothes.blogspot.com

  14. Aw mashed potatoes were always my dads FAVORITE! I’ll have to make him these next time hes visiting 🙂

  15. Awe, I am sorry that you are still feeling crappy!!! At least you have made some progress. Relax and feel better this weekend…and keep eating those yummy mashed taters!! 😉
    Xo
    Shanna

  16. I love homemade mashed potatoes!! I didn’t even know they existed growing up because we always had the boxed stuff! And then once I tried the real stuff there was no turning back! Well, unless I’m feeling lazy or don’t have enough time! But they don’t even compare! Adding sour cream makes them super tasty too!

  17. Is our the only family that never peeled our potatoes? We always keep the skin on in our mashed potatoes.

    • We had them both ways growing up so I’m not picky one way or the other. As an adult, if I’m making them just for us at home then I’ll leave the skin on, but if we are cooking for other people I usually peel them since a lot of people don’t like the skins.

  18. Pingback: Pioneer Woman’s Chicken Fried Steak |

Leave a Reply

