Momma’s Minestrone

Went for my follow up visit to the oral surgeon this morning and it turns out that I have dry socket in 2 of the 4 surgery sites. Explains why I have been so miserable and recovery has been so hard this past week. They gave me miracle drugs (little medicated strips that go in the gum) so I should be set for a few days. Already I feel SO much better than I have all week. Such a blessing! And I’m so excited to finally be able to eat something besides mashed potatoes and soup, haha!

Speaking of soup, though… I made minestrone last night with my girls. I grew up eating minestrone so it has never occurred to me that it might be a “foreign” sounding soup to my teen girls. All but two of them had never even heard of it before! Thankfully most of them enjoyed it so it was a win! ๐Ÿ™‚

minestrone soup

Momma’s Minestrone

Ingredients:

ยฝ cup olive oil
1 clove garlic, minced
2 cups onions, chopped
1 small can tomato paste
8 cups beef broth
4 cups water
1 cup cabbage, shredded
2 whole carrots, sliced
1 can French style green beans
1 tsp salt
ยผ tsp black pepper
1/8 tsp ground sage
1 can red kidney beans, drained and rinsed
1 cup elbow macaroni

Directions:

1. In large soup pot, sautรฉ garlic and onion in olive oil until soft.

2. Stir in tomato paste, broth, water, cabbage, carrots, green beans, salt, pepper, sage

3. Mix well, bring to a boil.ย Lower heat, cover and simmer slowly 1 hour

4. Add beans & macaroni. Cook 15 minutes until pasta is tender

Recipe from my mom, Pam M.

Thanks for the prayers and well wishes with this whole wisdom tooth thing. I am so thankful that all four are done now so I never have to go through any of this again, haha! Happy Friday, friends!

20 responses to “Momma’s Minestrone

  1. Ouch! Nothing like soup to heal a hurt … I’ve got chicken soup simmering away on the stove right now for a friend who just had knee surgery. Hope you’re feeling MUCH better now that they’ve figured out the problem, Rach. Have a wonderful holiday weekend!
    xo

  2. Oh no!!! Teeth pain is the absolute worst. I’m so glad you’re feeling better!

  3. Hope you feel better soon ๐Ÿ™‚ Soup is the ultimate comfort food in my book

  4. UGH UGHHH I hateee that you have dry sockets!! That is rough!! I hope they heal up soon!! The soup looks delicious.

  5. Having wisdom teeth removed is NO fun! Several people told me, “no big deal, you will be back to normal in 2-3 days”. They lied. I was out of commission for more like 2 weeks! I ate a lot of Frosty’s and mashed potatoes, but mostly I just slept a lot with ice packs against my face. Ugh, I think I feel phantom pain just thinking back to that happening. Feel better soon!!

  6. Haha, same thing happened to me before. I was eating soup all day! wahh!

  7. You poor thing! Dry socket is the worst! But that soup sounds amazing! Hope it has you feeling better son!

  8. bella bella bella, thank you so much for checking in on me, I admit I have been overwhelmingly busy these past few weeks that I am still trying to catch my breath. I am leading a small group now for our city wide bible study that will begin Sept 11th and meet weekly, so I was in training classes for a few weeks with that, complete with homework assignments that I was doing in between juggling my 3 babies and the freelance articles for Calvary Albuquerque. It’s been a whirlwind, but God has made a way!!! I have been sensing a season of “stretching” coming on, and I am beginning to see that come to pass. Praying for strength and endurance to walk the path set before. What a treat it was to catch up on your posts, all that yummy food in Destin! I am so sorry the recovery has been so hard for you bella, I know exactly how you feel. I had 4 impacted wisdom teeth that each needed surgery when my husband and I first got married, and one of them got a dry socket….oh my goodness, I do remember the pain, and how tough it was when they shoved that medicated strip in the hole *ouch!!!!* but then afterwards it really did get better and so thankful you are on your way to feeling better. This soup looks so cozy, I am SO ready for Fall, my favorite time of year….I’m already longing for crock pot meals and warm soups and snuggling with good books and blankets. Praying for you sweet bells, and sending lots of love vibes your way xoxo I hope to post something again very soon!!!

  9. Dry socket…ruhroh. Feel better girl!! Try to enjoy your holiday weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. I’m glad your feeling better! That soup sounds really yummy!

  11. Oh no Rach ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I had a dry socket too when I got my wisdom teeth out ๐Ÿ˜ฆ It was SOOOO terrible! Well get better soon and it looks like this soup will help do the trick!
    xoxo Darby
    Obviously Obsessedย 

  12. Ahhhh I love minestrone … one of my favorite soups for sure! I am glad you’er feeling betterrrr ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. ouch!! glad you are starting to feel better though! that soup looks delish!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Momma recipes are always the best. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  15. Hope you feel better soon!

  16. feel better hun, glad you got some medicine to help too. minestrone is so so good, we ate it often growing up as well!

  17. Oh, my! I’m glad you got medication. I hope you start feeling better soon. That soup looks yummy ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. I was traumatized by getting my wisdom teeth out. I hope that you feel better! That soup is perfect for the fun fall weather coming!

  19. I will so have to try this! My husband loves minestrone soup!

  20. Pingback: 13 of the Best Freezer Meals |

Leave a Reply

