Announcing the new job! :)

So I told you I had quit my job, but then completely failed to tell you what I am up to now! Mostly because the day after I posted about quitting the job, I got the family emergency call and then it was our anniversary and then I had my wisdom teeth out and then we were in Illinois… haha! And here I am, halfway through my first week of the new job and I just realized you guys don’t even know what I do!

Friends, I am back to nannying. For those of you who haven’t been long time readers, I began nannying straight out of grad school. I worked with the same little girl from the age of 3 months to 2 years. I switched jobs to the desk job because Christopher and I really wanted to pay off a huge chunk of our student debt. Well, dear friends…

We have paid off 70% of our student debt!! Yes, please, cheer all you want. We are pretty stoked! As great as my desk job was about pay and flexibility… I just really missed caring for kids. So now that we have so much debt paid off, we decided that it would be a good time for me to go back to doing something that I love and am passionate about. And of course, this job gives me the freedom to continue working with my teen girls which as you guys know is so important to me.

PLUS! Like every job I’ve ever had… this one just fell in my lap and at just the right time. I was actually hired back in January and have been anxiously awaiting my start date this week! This summer it was so hard to sit inside at that desk knowing that in just a few short months I would finally be doing something I loved again. And now the time is finally here!

So, the kiddos…

Will is 3.5 and just had his very first day of school on Tuesday. He did great! Tackled me to the floor with a hug goodbye then took off to play!

Mallory is 9 weeks old (well, she was when I started, she will be 10 weeks at the end of this week) and completely precious. Check out all that hair!

Anyway, I am beyond excited to be doing something I love again! You will definitely hear plenty about these two kiddos. 🙂

 

38 responses to “Announcing the new job! :)

  1. Wow! How wonderful!! Good for you… =D Lovely kids!!!

  2. Congrats, I think it’s great you can follow your passion again! Good luck!

  3. You look so happy, Rach (wait, you always look happy). Those kids are so blessed to have you! Congrats!

  4. This is wonderful news! What a blessing to be doing what you love again ❤

  5. AAwwww so happy for you! It’s great to be doing what you want to do and not forced to sit in a chair all day! Cheers to you!

  6. so awesome that you paid off some school debt! those kiddos are too cute, so great that you are their nanny! 🙂

  7. So excited for you to start nannying again! Working with children is so rewarding 🙂

  8. Yay!! I bet you are an amazing nanny.

    That’s awesome about almost paying off your debts. I know that’s a good feeling.

  9. How fun! I bet you are the best nanny and congrats on the student debt…we are still paying off ours. Love these cute pictures of you!

    creamyclothes.blogspot.com

  10. awww I love that you love kids! I do too, and they’re seriously so fun to be around~plus, they make us so happy and active that as a result we become healthy from the inside out! 🙂 Mallory is so adorable~teehee

  11. Congrats on the new job!! It’s so funny what different things people enjoy doing, I am definitely the corporate desk job type so I give you major props for takin’ care of kiddos like that, I think it’s amazing and also so wonderful that you are doing what you love 🙂

  12. They are too cute! Glad you are back to doing something that you love 🙂

    Annie
    The Other Side of Gray

  13. I’m so happy that you’re doing something you love again! And I’m even more excited that you have so much debt paid off. YAY!!!! Life is great for you!

  14. I’m so excited for you. Sounds fun, PLUS you’re almost finished paying of loans. Awesome! 🙂
    cute pictures!

  15. How fun! That’s so great you have two cute kids to watch over. And a big hip hip hooray on the 70% off the loans!!! That’s a major feat!
    Emily at Amazing Grapes

  16. congrats on the new job and paying off so much debt! that is awesome!!

  17. What wonderful news Rach, so glad you are back to something you love! Plus I am pretty dang jealous that you are close to paying off your loans… I just started getting them in the mail and it makes me cringe!

  18. Congratulations! That is just awesome!

  19. Good for you!! I love how God provides! 🙂

  20. That’s so amazing! Congrats!! I’m sure you will bless those kiddos lives. 🙂

  21. Congrats on your new job! I am so happy for you! 🙂

  22. Wow! Look at all of that hair! I’ve seen one-year-old kids that would be jealous of that head of hair! 😀 Congrats on the new job!

  23. Rach! So happy for you my dear! It’s always such a gift to be able to get paid for doing something you absolutely love. and WOOHOOOO for paying off so much debt. Bet that feels amazing! I’m sorry to hear about that family tragedy…I know what family lows can be like…my sister has been very close to suicide several times, my Gram passed away this year, and my MIL is a manic depressive. – If you ever need somebody to talk to about dealing with family issues – always feel free to drop me a line! Happy weekending to you friend!

  24. OMG look at those cuties!!!! ADORABLE! Congrats on your new job–which looks SO FUN BTW! Your huge smile brought one to my face! OH and also congrats on paying off 70% of your student loans! THAT IS FANTASTIC NEWS! WAHOO!!!
    xoxo Darby
    Obviously Obsessed

  25. So happy for you! That is awesome and those kiddos are PRESH!!!!

  26. Awwweee!!! I’m so glad you’ve paid off so much of your student debt and can go back to doing what you enjoy. I love watching children — they always make me so happy. I can’t wait to have my own family some day. 🙂

  27. Congrats on paying off all that student debt! What a great accomplishment.

  28. AHHHH that’s so awesome! I love nannying so much 🙂 And amazing how much student debts you’ve payed off! The kiddos are adorable as are you! 🙂

  29. You know, I always pictured you working with kids.
    I am so glad you found something that you love…So important in a job!
    And congrats on paying off so much of your loan!

  30. Pingback: Pizza Pasta and One Hour Rolls!! |

  31. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    That’s so great that you’re back at doing something that you enjoy so much! Congratulations Rach 😀 On congrats on making such a dent in your student debt! It must be such a great feeling 🙂
    Just out of curiosity, did you major in something related to being with children?

  32. Too bad you don’t live close to us. I’d love to borrow you to watch D sometimes!

  33. Ah this is so exciting!! I nannied through out high school and college, such a great job and so rewarding! I LOVE infants! Mallory is SO cute. Hope you’re having so much fun with the kiddos!

  34. YAY – so cute!! That is awesome!!

  35. That’s awesome! I nannied in college and I LOVED it. I couldn’t believe I got paid to do something so fun. Congrats girl!

  36. You look so happy and beautiful!! Such a natural job for such a sweetie!xo!

  37. This is AWESOME Rach!! So happy to hear that you are back in a job you love!! That’s soooo great!! And congrats in the paying bills thing! That’s awesome as well!!

  38. Pingback: Sister Wives [and "man pleasing chicken"] |

Leave a Reply

