Roll Tide Roll & Chicken Spaghetti

{scroll down for recipe}

I’ll be honest, I’m not the biggest football fan. Christopher and I are more basketball fans (yay March Madness!!), but if I had to pick a college team that I support… it would definitely be Alabama’s Crimson Tide. We went to A Day in Tuscaloosa last year and ever since, we have officially been Bama fans. So in honor of football season beginning, I made a cute little hangy-thing (yes, that is the technical term, haha) for our front door!

It’s amazing what you can do with some burlap and paint. 🙂

In other news, one of my girls requested “Rotel Chicken” for dinner this week. Growing up we called this “chicken spaghetti” and it usually had olives, mushrooms, and water chestnuts in it that I would inevitably pick out. 😉 So this week, I made straight “Rotel Chicken” just like Kelsi requested without all the extra “grown up” additions.

Ps. Kelsi is adorable. Wanna see?

By the way, Kelsi reads this blog. Hi Kelsi! 😉

Anyway, on to the recipe!

Chicken Spaghetti

Ingredients:

12 oz spaghetti noodles
3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cooked and chopped
1 lb Velveeta
1 can Rotel
2 cups cheddar cheese, shredded

Directions:

1. Boil pasta in water, drain and set aside.

2. Dice Velveta and melt in a saucepan over medium heat. Add rotel and mix. Mix in cooked chicken. Combine with pasta.

3. Pour into 9×13″ greased pan and top with shredded cheese. Bake covered for 20 minutes at 375.

Optional Ingredients: mushrooms, olives, and water chestnuts

Happy almost weekend, friends! 🙂

33 responses to “Roll Tide Roll & Chicken Spaghetti

  1. The ingredients look foreign to me! We do not have Velveeta or Rotel in here.. mmm.. What are they?

    Hi Kelsi! Haha.. =p

    • Velveta is a fake “cheese” like product that is really unhealthy and makes a delicious cheese dip, haha! Rotel is diced tomatoes with diced green chiles. Definitely not a healthy meal by any stretch of the imagination, but I gotta tell you, the girls loved it! 🙂

  2. you’re an inspiration, Rachel. 🙂

  3. Easy for YOU! You’ve got talent, girl.

    I think Kelsi looks like a younger Taylor Swift, don’t you? Hi Kelsi!

  4. I’ve never actually heard of chicken spaghetti before but this looks and sounds delicious! I love anything with melted cheddar cheese!

  5. Mmm..this pasta dish looks yummy! I love Rotel 🙂

  6. Oh wow, Chicken Spaghetti sounds delicious! I secretly love Velveeta and American cheese. Nothing melts better!

    Hope you have a wonderful weekend, Rach! ❤

  7. I have to make this – it looks so good!

  8. i was just talking to callie of the good life the other day about chicken spaghetti and she informed me that i NEED to try it and here you are with the recipe so thank you!

  9. The door thingy is precious! LOL. I don’t know what to call it either!!! It turned out precious! Wanna make me one?? 🙂 And this dish is one of my all time faves too! happy weekend!

  10. I love that door decoration!! If you painted that A I am super impressed with your steady hand and shape of the A! That chicken spag sounds awesome.

  11. Even though we live in NC, Noel is a HUGE Alabama fan and has already taught Charlie how to say “Rolll Tide!!”

  12. love the door hanging!! sounds like a delicious chicken recipe!!

  13. I have no idea what Rotel is and have only heard people talk of Velveeta in a negative way, but I must say this doesn’t look terrible! 😛

  14. I love love love Rotel. I hadn’t heard of this dish before today, but I am definitely intrigued. Velvetta, although unhealthy, is DEEELICIOUS!

  15. we called it chicken spaghetti too! oh and the football. we’re not that into but i went to UT so i have to say GO LONGHORNS!

  16. I loooove chicken spaghetti! One of my faves! 🙂

  17. This will probably be the only time I comment on your blog, but I am pretty adorable! I just kidding I am so not that cocky. And thanks for all the nice comments. Hi to everyone!

  18. I had never heard of chicken spaghetti with velveeta in it until my boss’s wife told me that’s how she made it. What I call chicken spaghetti doesn’t have velveeta but I will have to give your version a try! It looks good!

    Roll Tide! Love the door hang!

  19. love your hanging thing. 🙂 and YUM!!!

  20. My momma is a huge Bama fan! Oh and I totally plan on making spaghetti casserole soon!

  21. mmm not going to lie – that chicken spaghetti looks amazing 😀

  22. mmmmm love me some velveta!
    Oh and love the sign!! I think I may have to make one of those, but not for Bama lol

  23. I’ve never heard of chicken spaghetti before, but it sure look delicious! 🙂

  24. I’m obsessed with college basketball too! Love the Bama sign you made though…so cute 🙂

    Annie
    The Other Side of Gray

  25. Chicken, cheese, and pasta?! I think that’s all I need in life! YUM!

  26. Love the burlap A! It turned out so great. M is a Bama fan, and I’m not since I’m a ‘cuse fan, but he would definitely ask me to create that for our door if I showed him lol

  27. Your door hanger is really cute! I’m an ASU alum but I have family from Alabama so I’ve always had a soft spot for them. 🙂

  28. Rach you ALWAYS have the BEST recipes!! Plus your door hanger is BEYOND adorable!
    xoxo Darby
    Obviously Obsessed 

  29. That sounds delicious, Rachel!!!

  30. Pingback: Decorating for Fall |

  31. looks delicious and its pretty easy, going cook it tonight hope it taste good as it looks. Feedback soon

Leave a Reply

