DIY: Organizing Necklaces

Several years ago I wanted to do something about the fact that my necklaces always got tangled together in my too-small jewelry box. So I had a brilliant idea of how to organize my necklaces with things I already had around the apartment. This is what I came up with:

Corkboard + push pins = Necklace Organizer. I felt brilliant. πŸ˜‰

Then many years past and Pinterest came along and I realized that while I had come up with a great way to keep my necklaces organized and tangle-free… I had Β missed the whole make-it-look-cute thing. Haha! I saw adorable little ideas like these:

Pin #1, Pin #2, Pin #3

Check out how precious those are. I originally wanted to do the top one, but I haven’t been able to find knobs on sale anywhere. I really didn’t want to spend a lot of money on this project since it isn’t really something IΒ needed. Then one day last week inspiration hit: we have tons of scrap wood in our workshop and leftover (tiffany blue!!!) paint from when we did the kitchen. I figured hooks couldn’t beΒ thatΒ expensive and sure enough I went to Target and found a box of hooks for a couple of bucks! I painted my wood, drilled holes in the wood, put hooks in drilled holes and then VIOLA! My masterpiece:

Isn’t it precious? I made two – one for long necklaces on one side of my closet and one for short necklaces on the other side. πŸ™‚

Such a quick and cute little project. And now my necklaces can hang in adorable style. πŸ™‚

34 responses to “DIY: Organizing Necklaces

  1. Hobby Lobby always has their drawer pulls and knobs 50% off, and they usually have some cute ones.

    • Weeeell… what I meant was that I couldn’t find any on a BIG enough sale, haha! I wanted to keep this whole project less than $5 (which I did!) and I needed 20 hooks/knobs. I was hoping to find a bag of random cute knobs at a yard sale on the cheap, but no such luck. Thanks for the heads up, though! If I need knobs in the future I will definitely have to check out Hobby Lobby. πŸ™‚

  2. My mom would love this! She’s got lots and lots of accessories! =D

  3. My mom would love this! She’s got lots and lots of accessories! =D

  4. SO cute, Rachel!! Seriously, I’ve been thinking about doing a similiar project for my infinity scarves. Well, honestly, I only own one scarf right now. LOL! But I plan on having more someday soon, and I thought it would be a cute way to organize them. Such a great idea to do this for necklaces too!!!

  5. That is VERY cute. I love the color.

  6. I have been meaning to do this too! I need something cute to organize all the big chunky ones. Love the color of yours πŸ™‚

  7. Love it!! The color is perfect!! πŸ˜‰

  8. Oh my gosh I actually DID this one!!! The one in the bottom right, with the silverware drawer rack!!! But it ended up being too small for most of my necklaces 😦

  9. I need to come up with something for mine. I have necklaces I have not worn in years because they are in a box in my closet. Out of sight out of mind… Yours looks really good and the color is great.

  10. ittybitsofbalance

    Look at you! The new Martha Stewart is obviously in town πŸ˜‰ haha

    But in all seriousness, this is such a great idea. I need to organize my jewelry!

  11. michelle @ this little light

    And you will never have to enjoy that frustrating task of untangling again … way to go!

  12. This is PERFECT timing. I am seriously low on storage space in my new apartment, and I was trying to think of a cute way to hang purses and scarves on the bedroom wall to save closet space. I thought if I could come up with something good, I could do the same thing on the opposite wall to hold my husband’s ties and hats. Awesome idea!

  13. I love it!! I need to make some kind of organizer for my bracelets!!

  14. Those are super cute! I liked the cork board idea, too — You’re right, Pinterest has a way of making us want to “cute things up.”

  15. This is awesome!! I need to do something like this for my jewelry! It is a hot mess.

  16. Looks great girl! How did we ever survive before Pinterest? πŸ˜‰

  17. Super cute! My sister did the cork board/push pin thing, and I thought she was rather brilliant too :-)! Nothing worse than tangled necklaces when you’re in a hurry, is there. Problem solved (and cute to boot). Happy weekending Rach!

  18. youre so clever! love it!! Come make me one.

  19. Oh dannnnnnng what a simple, but adorable and purty idea!!! ahhhh. When did I start loving purty things anyway? haha. Very awesome. oh! And for future reference…I don’t know if they’re on sale a lot, but i know that anthropologie has TONS OF KNOBS that are randomly displayed in a basket. They seemed to be reasonably price, but don’t quote me on that. have a blessed day!

  20. Such a cute idea! I love it πŸ™‚

  21. YES IT IS PRECIOUS! I LOVE it!!! I need to do something like this because all of my necklaces are always a tangled mess! I hope your weekend is going well darling!!
    xoxo Darby
    Obviously ObsessedΒ 

  22. Thanks for the blog comment πŸ™‚ Now that I have a little girl of my own I love finding things in the show I can relate to. P.S. – I dig your necklace organizer πŸ˜‰

  23. That’s awesome! Mine are always tangled so I never want to wear them!

  24. This is adorable!
    I had my necklaces on nails..really decorative, I know. But after all the pinspiration, I decided to also put them on cute hooks. I love it!

  25. you dont know how badly i need this in my life! every time i pull out a long necklace it’s a 10-minute untangling process!

  26. what a functional and cute idea – it is like making art out of your jewelry!
    xx
    Here&Now

  27. I love this idea – it is like turning your necklaces into functional art!
    xx
    Here&Now

  28. we are cut from the same cloth girlfriend…I currently hang my necklaces with pushpins like that, and have for years…but recently pinned one of these with the knobs…LOVE IT…going to adapt it SOON….so fun!

  29. “and then pinterest came along…” haha, too funny. I need to do something like this because my necklaces get lost…or tangled way too much

  30. so cute!! i have wanted to make a necklace holder like this for a while now!

  31. Pingback: DIY: Organizing Earrings |

  32. I need to do something like this. My jewelry box is full and overflowing now.

Leave a Reply

