Weekend Happenings :)

Friday night for date night we watched “What to Expect When You’re Expecting”. I expected it to be hilarious. Which it was. What I didn’t expect was for it to make me cry. A lot. Yeah, apparently it has a couple of really sad parts. I think I cried through a good bit of the movie, haha! Anyway, for those of you who haven’ seen it yet and cry easily – just be prepared for a tear or two.

{source} The “dudes group” was completely hilarious!

Saturday was yard saling day! Then Saturday evening we decided to light a fire and spend some time taking advantage of the cooler weather. 🙂

It was such a beautiful night for star gazing, snuggling, and cooking hot dogs over the fire pit. 🙂 Hot dogs aren’t normally one of my favorite foods, but there is something about cooking them over a fire that makes me really enjoy them. I think it’s because I actually kinda like them burned, haha!

The other thing that made the hot dogs really good was that I made homemade ketchup to go on them! I found the recipe from Mark’s Daily Apple and I am excited to try out some of his other condiment recipes. It was seriously the best ketchup either Christopher or I had ever had. He even threw away the other (nearly empty) bottle of store bought stuff (which is crazy for us because we really just don’t waste food in general – we always get every last drop, haha!).

I know it doesn’t look pretty, but keep in mind I was doing this in the dark, haha!

Homemade Ketchup

Ingredients:

6 ounces tomato paste
2/3 cup apple cider vinegar
1/3 cup water
pinch of Stevia
1 tbsp onion powder
2 tsp garlic
1 tsp salt
1/8 tsp ground allspice
1/8 tsp ground cloves
1/8 tsp pepper

Directions:

Whisk all ingredients together. Store in air tight container.

Sunday was baby shower time! Cari Beth is having her first little girl in October. I’m so excited for her!

After the shower we had small groups then headed out to dinner with the youth group.

Some of my girls waiting in line at Moe’s.

It was a great weekend!

25 responses to “Weekend Happenings :)

  1. A great weekend indeed! I love homemade condiments. I started making my own sloppy joe sauce instead of buying it and now I’ll mever go back!

  2. There is nothing about a hot dog I don’t like. My husband always says I’m a “carnival food” lover. Thanks for the homemade ketchup recipe, Rach … at least it would take some of the guilt away!

  3. Glad you had a great weekend! I would love to try that ketchup recipe!!

  4. i saw that movie too recently and there were certainly some funny parts and i am glad i saw that movie on redbox rather than in the theatre.

  5. I just saw that movie too. It was way funnier than I thought it would be!

  6. Looks like you had a great weekend, Rachel! I’m definitely wanting to see that movie, but I’m glad I’ve been forewarned about the sad parts. I’m also now craving hot dogs… lol

  7. My pregnancy is a lot like Elizabeth Bank’s character. Hopefully my labor will be better! I cried a little too. I love bonfires and am so jealous that it is cool enough where you live to have one. We had a few cool days, but they didn’t last long. I am ready for some fall weather!

  8. I am so impressed that you made your own ketchup!! I’ll have to try that recipe out.

  9. I really want to try that ketchup! I love it but the sugar kills me!

  10. ittybitsofbalance

    Gah– I LOVE Mark’s Daily Apple! And homemade ketchup (which I also have a recipe of going up a little later this week 😀 )

    If that movie is even mildly sad, I’m sure I will be a crying machine haha. Thanks for the warning

  11. I’m not gonna lie..I really didn’t laugh that much during that movie!! I liked it…but it wasn’t that funny to me ahh! It was sad at a few parts, I will give you that!!! Awesome weekend and that ketchup sounds YUM!

  12. Haven’t seen the movie, but I really want to! Thanks for sharing the homemade ketchup recipe, I’ve wanted to try making my own table sauces for a while but haven’t really known where to look for recipes. This looks great!

  13. Wow, I’ve never seen ‘What to Expect when you’re Expecting’… but I wouldn’t think that it would have sad parts either! Thank you for the heads up, so I can have a box of tissues handy! Ha, ha! 🙂 Oh, and I’m totally the same way! I’m not a huge fan of hotdogs, but they’re amazing over a campfire!! I definitely have to have a couple during the summer months! And I cannot wait to try your homemade ketchup recipe!!!

  14. haha we just saw “What to Expect…” this weekend too – we laughed, we sniffled…I with ya, not necessarily a huge hot dog fan, but definitely will do a good hot dog once in a while, especially over the fire…I do love those hebrew national ones or at least a good 100% beef with no questionable stuff in it 🙂 hugs!

  15. p.s. this recipe for homemade ketchup sounds great – must try!

  16. Mmmm! Homemade ketchup. That looks good! I like your nail polish too. 🙂

  17. I need to try this! I have to buy sugar free ketchup, so this could be a very good alternative!

  18. I saw that movie in the movie theater. I liked it too! 🙂 I’ve never made homemade ketchup before! That is such a good idea!

  19. What to expect is one of my favorite movies. I’ve seen it twice and cry so hard during it!!

  20. mmmm fire pit cooked hot dogs!! 🙂

  21. You are so precious! I’ve been wanting to see what to expect. I’m gonna have to go rent it!

  22. Homemade ketchup? HOW FUN!!

  23. It’s weird but its never dawned on me to make my own ketchup! Such a good idea girlie! Also, that movie made me bawl, and was a lot funnier than I expected. Good date night choice 🙂 congrats to Cari Beth on her baby girl due soon!

  24. I loved What to expect when you’re expecting! And I definitelyyy cried too!

    And homemade ketchup?? My goodness I bet that’s good!

  25. Oh la la, so much fun…I’m a newbie and just love your site!! You are amazing…huggles!

Leave a Reply

