DIY: Organizing Earrings

So last week’s necklace organizer went so well that I decided to tackle my earrings next!

My earrings have been hanging out in a pretty antique dish that had belonged to Christopher’s grandmother which is lovely, but since I can’t see all my earrings at the same time I am really bad about wearing the same few pairs.

Nearly a year ago I saw this precious idea on Pinterest and loved it, but just never got around to making it happen. Well this week I was looking through my Crafty Inspiration board trying to decide what project to try next and when I saw this again I just knew I needed to try it!

{source} Look how cute!

Again, I wanted to spend minimal $ and use what I had around the house so when I realized yesterday that I had a spare giant frame sitting in my craft roomΒ andΒ a box of lace from my grandmother… well, I got all kinds of excited. With the help of scissors and a hot glue gun, this project came together in just a few minutes!

Look at all that pretty lace. πŸ™‚ And I know the frame is more straight edges than the more antique looking one above, but that goes more with our bedroom. We have lots of modern strong clean lines in there so this frame was really perfect. πŸ™‚

With my earrings! I love that I can see them all so easily now! And it’s just so cute. πŸ™‚

This is it actually in my closet where it belongs. The other shots were taken in the kitchen where the lighting is better. πŸ˜‰

I did decide to reinforce the back with duct tape (over the hot glued parts) and since I had just run out of duct tape I had to buy some which means this project cost me $2. I just love when I can make something so precious out of stuff I have already! πŸ™‚

In other news we did freezer meals again last night! I’ll update on that soon! πŸ™‚

35 responses to “DIY: Organizing Earrings

  1. That is such an adorable idea!!! I love it! — So cute and practical!

  2. You are so crafty! I want to do some of the crafty things that I see on Pinterest, but I would have to buy supplies. How do you just happen to have all of these useful things lying around your house? πŸ™‚

    • It’s a combination of things I suppose. I enjoy scrapbooking so I have been given tons of scrapbooking stuff over the years (everything from paper to stickers to decals, etc). Christopher is always building something for someone so I have an endless supply of scrap wood, glue, nails, etc. We renovated the house two years ago and we still have spray paint, regular paint, and tons of bits and pieces from that. Plus people are always getting rid of stuff they don’t need anymore (picture frames missing the glass like the one I have up there, bits of fabric, etc). Both my mom and mother-in-law had tons of crafty stuff that neither of them use anymore so they both passed it all on to me. I have a whole room in our house that is the Craft Room devoted to making crafts! πŸ™‚

  3. What a cute project! Love the different strands of lace… I probably need to do this haha!

  4. this is SUCH a cute idea! my earrings are such a mess haha, some in a jewelry box some on the dresser some lying around in random places some in boxes (you catch my drift)… think I’m going to try to make this and maybe even make one for my sister too!

  5. Love it!! Organizing makes me so happy, and I love that earrings become art πŸ™‚

  6. Oooh I love that, Rach … of course, I loved the antique bowl, too, but I get why the framed lace would work better. It’s great to actually be able to SEE what you have!

  7. Great job girl! I love that you are doing so well and able to do all your DIY stuff now that you are nannying.

  8. So cute! Another idea my mom would love! =D

  9. That’s a great idea! I’m so unorganized when it comes to jewelry!

  10. So stinkin’ cute! I love that idea for your earrings. I used to wear teeny earring so they all fit in my jewelry box. Now I like bigger ones and I don’t know how to store them. Love this idea.

  11. I LOVE this idea, Rach! Thanks so much for sharing! I have a small earing tree, but it doesn’t hold all my earings, so the overflow goes into a dish like yours. This looks like something I might be able to do, despite my lack of crafty skill. πŸ˜‰ The lace adds such a fun, whimsical touch! ❀

  12. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Oh I am SO pinning this! My earring box is a hot mess and half haha. They all get tangled together and fall apart when I try to separate them.

    Thanks Rach πŸ™‚

  13. That is AWESOME! I have hardly any jewelry but I still wanna make one. So cute.

  14. Love it πŸ™‚ Just too darling, and oh so practical! Can’t wait to hear about your freezer meals!

  15. What a terrific idea..you are so cleaver…so cute!!! I agree with Kristin, can’t wait to hear about your freezed meals!

  16. That looks so pretty – love this idea!

    Annie
    The Other Side of Gray

  17. Look at you! This is so cute and creative! I have way too many pieces that I’m sure I’d break the lace, but gotta love you using duct tape to reinforce it!! So smart. haha
    Emily at Amazing Grapes

  18. So cute — mine are always so tangled!

  19. oh i love your take on this….this is much better than my plastic lunch container that holds mine πŸ˜‰

  20. Oh my goodness… this turned out so gorgeous! Even better than the inspiration pic, I think!
    xx
    Here&Now

  21. I love reusing treasures. If only I loved organizing…

  22. OMG I LOVE this idea! Well anything that evolves lace and earrings is FABULOUS to me! πŸ™‚
    xoxo Darby

    Obviously ObsessedΒ 

  23. This is just adorable!
    I love the idea of using lace. So cute!

  24. Oh I love it!!! What a great idea. (And I’m loving those feather earrings)

  25. oh..that’s looks really lovely…not only what you did,but your collection of earrings too!! now you’ve really inspired me to turn something simple into something extremely pretty πŸ™‚
    this is the first post I’m reading off your blog and I’m excited already…Subscribed πŸ™‚

  26. Beautiful earrings, I can only imagine how lovely the rest of your accessories are! ❀

  27. Love all the different types of lace that you chose! They are gorgeous! And as for What to expect when your’e expecting, I watched it last night and cried so much! Good thing M was away for the night!

  28. that is so cute and i’m definitely going to try that one out.
    love it!

  29. Pingback: Earring Frame « PILLOWS A-LA-MODE

  30. I VERY belatedly thanked you for this amazing idea today! THANK YOU again! πŸ™‚ Hugs, Katherine http://pillowsalamode.wordpress.com/2012/12/11/earring-frame/

Leave a Reply

